We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for explorers OR All-inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ideal for explorers OR All-inclusive”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent a week here in early April '13. Located about 4 minutes from the Airport, Grotto Bay is situated on the hillside of Bailey's Bay in Hamilton Parish. This is not a "centrally" located hotel, but that was fine with us! The bus has pickup at the end of the driveway, Scooters are located nearby and Taxi's were plentiful. Scooters, by the way, are really only recommended for those who are used to that type of ride and are ok with driving on the left.
The rooms were neat and clean. I was even surpised they did NOT have that humid, island musty smell! Each has a slider to an outdoor seating area. First floor rooms are at ground level so you can walk out from the porch. The beds are super comfy, there's a fridge, board/iron and safe in the room. There is also a 4 cup coffee pot in the room. We brought our own coffee and filters since the coffee provided is typically lacking in flavor.
As reported in previous reviews, this is not the place for people who have trouble navigating steps. LOTS of steps. There are rooms that are closer to check-in and the restaurants/bar. And there are rooms closer to the pool and beach. Either room requires going over steps to get to the other stuff. We considered it good exercise to work off the vacation beverages!
The pool area has beach towels for guest use. There is a bar and restaurant by the pool. And the beach has two levels of seating, very calm waters and a sunken barge to snorkel over.
The food was on par with price and local options. The fish and chips were excellent! This location offers an all inclusive package, if you'd like. We did not take it as we were more interested in experiencing lots of local options. The Swizzle Inn and Bailey's Ice Cream are both in walking distance and are well worth the trip. (Rum Swizzles & the best burger in Bermuda at the Swizz, PInk Champagne Sorbet at Bailey's!) Check out Jamaica Grill if you are so inclined.
We found the location to be excellent for some excursions we could walk to: Crystal/Fantasy Caves, Blue Hole Park, Coney Island section of the rail-trail and above mentioned food/drink. It is about a $15 taxi ride to St. George and not much more to get to Hamilton. Ifyou are looking for a special dinner out, Tom Moore's Tavern is also quite close. You could walk, if it weren't for the shoes the ladies may be wearing!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are ground level, so others may walk by your slider. 2nd floor rooms may be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    970
    278
    111
    74
See reviews for
652
1,203
93
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornish, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing place! Ben, Lencia, Duane, Victor, Veronica and the rest of the staff were incredible. The people were so friendly everywhere on this island--would advise against scooters as driving is terrifying the food at Grotto Bay was excellent-would definitely recommend the "all inclusive" although they may not have it after we left as we ate and drank so much. We snorkeled off the beach, kayaked around Coney Island, and tried our hand at windsurfing (all part of the package). We used our "Pink bus" passes to travel to Hamilton, George's Bay as well as the Dockyard by ferry. It was very easy and we saw a lot of the island and met so many nice people. We were a family of 12 (my parents, my family, and my sisters ) ranging in age from 5-18 (kids). We will definitely come back-they couldn't have done it better if they tried!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just made it back from Bermuda being pretty happy with our vacation. I had high expectations based on Tripadvisor reviews and posted pictures. My expectations were absolutely exceeded and I was very positively surprised by this awesome place. The resort is actually much nicer than it looks on the website or other pictures. I stayed in an ocean front deluxe room which was freshly renovated, modern and provided a nice balcony with a stunning view.

The entire resort was very quiet and peaceful in general. The pool was big enough, heated and surrounded by nice landscaping. The shallow sandy beach was beautiful and full very nice natural highlights. I liked the little fitness center and the Jacuzzi which proved to be perfect for a good morning workout. The caves are quite interesting and swimming in it was a new experience for me. My favorite activity was taking an ocean kayak several times to explore the bay.

I enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the main house as well as lunch at the pool-bar. Good value for fresh, tasty food served with a smile. The personnel seems to be the real asset of this place being extremely, genuinely friendly. I could not find anything negative to say about my stay besides the lack of internet connection and would have liked to spend significantly more time. The hotel's location is pretty good since it is close to St George, the airport (no noise or other disturbance) and offers a good starting point for some nice walks. The Swizzle Inn down the street serves incredibly good (addictive) food and drinks combined with great service. There is a bus stop is right at the front gate and buses are arriving very frequently every ten minutes. I am looking forward to come back sometimes soon and great memories remain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great time spent both in the hotel and at the spa, also they have one of it's kind underground cave, open to the hotel guests to swim. The manager was very welcoming and a friendly person ( later we came to know that he was a former mayor of the island.) Staff was polite and helpful all the way.
Great outdoors, well maintained lawn with a wide spread veiw of the bay- took lots of pictures.

Room Tip: It is a very well organised place- They can help you plan your day trip and make your dinner reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

4th time in Bermuda and 3rd time at Grotto. It is the most wonderful place on the planet (except for summer pricing). The staff are fantastic, the food is great and the location is close to the airport, swizzle inn (another great place and you do swizzle in and swagger out) and Crystal Cave. The staff are first class all the way, the bar is cool and the hot tub is great. If I won the lotto, I would move to Grotto Bay.

Room Tip: Seems all the rooms are great, I never had an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can't even begin to describe how amazing our experience was at this resort. We traveled with another couple and actually surprised my friend for her 30th birthday. I have traveled to Bermuda in the past with my family and we always stayed at the Hamilton Princess - a beautiful spot, but a bit expensive for what we were seeking. From the second I saw the Grotto Bay offered an all inclusive option I was sold.

The staff went above and beyond the entire time we were there - from helping us surprise my girlfriend, to ensuring we had all of the food and drinks we could ever want. The all inclusive package is the way to go. You pay $99 a person for unlimited food and alcohol. I've stayed at all inclusive resorts in the past and the food is usually mediocre at best. However, this was the outlier. I assure you the food was top notch - from the burgers from the grill at lunch, to the beautiful fish dishes at night. And there were so many options that we weren't sick after eating in the same restaurants for five days and nights. You have unlimited wine, beer and mixed drinks so you definitely get your money's worth quickly.

The location is close to the airport, but flights are not frequent and do not go late into the night. The view is still spectacular and the package also includes free water sports.

We also were there when Hurricane Sandy hit our hometown in New Jersey and we were watching the devastation on the news in real time wondering and worrying about our friends and family at home. We were stuck for another two days and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. They moved people around so we would be able to stay in our original rooms and continued to honor the price of the deal we booked online through a third vendor site.

Hands down the best place to stay if you want a convenient, clean, friendly and affordable atmosphere. Also be sure to check out the caves - absolutely spectacular!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the balcony views facing the water - specifically overlooking the pool. They are large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCF83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Grotto Bay from April 10-15th 2013. Upon arrival staff was SUPER nice and friendly! Hotel was perfectly situated for my girlfriend and I. Richard the bartender, Eugene at front bell stand and other staff went above and beyond for us. We read reviews before we came which weren't so nice and couldn't understand why. This place is VERY VERY nice and VERY VERY well kept! We are returning in September and can't wait!! Grotto Bay is a EXTREMELY nice, clean and fun place to stay!! Very close to airport, which we loved. Don't listen to negative reviews, this place is FANTASTIC!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigdog2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
818 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
664 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,891 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,099 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing