We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bet if visiting Bermuda - beautiful location and wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best bet if visiting Bermuda - beautiful location and wonderful staff!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can't even begin to describe how amazing our experience was at this resort. We traveled with another couple and actually surprised my friend for her 30th birthday. I have traveled to Bermuda in the past with my family and we always stayed at the Hamilton Princess - a beautiful spot, but a bit expensive for what we were seeking. From the second I saw the Grotto Bay offered an all inclusive option I was sold.

The staff went above and beyond the entire time we were there - from helping us surprise my girlfriend, to ensuring we had all of the food and drinks we could ever want. The all inclusive package is the way to go. You pay $99 a person for unlimited food and alcohol. I've stayed at all inclusive resorts in the past and the food is usually mediocre at best. However, this was the outlier. I assure you the food was top notch - from the burgers from the grill at lunch, to the beautiful fish dishes at night. And there were so many options that we weren't sick after eating in the same restaurants for five days and nights. You have unlimited wine, beer and mixed drinks so you definitely get your money's worth quickly.

The location is close to the airport, but flights are not frequent and do not go late into the night. The view is still spectacular and the package also includes free water sports.

We also were there when Hurricane Sandy hit our hometown in New Jersey and we were watching the devastation on the news in real time wondering and worrying about our friends and family at home. We were stuck for another two days and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. They moved people around so we would be able to stay in our original rooms and continued to honor the price of the deal we booked online through a third vendor site.

Hands down the best place to stay if you want a convenient, clean, friendly and affordable atmosphere. Also be sure to check out the caves - absolutely spectacular!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the balcony views facing the water - specifically overlooking the pool. They are large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCF83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    970
    278
    111
    74
See reviews for
652
1,203
93
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Grotto Bay from April 10-15th 2013. Upon arrival staff was SUPER nice and friendly! Hotel was perfectly situated for my girlfriend and I. Richard the bartender, Eugene at front bell stand and other staff went above and beyond for us. We read reviews before we came which weren't so nice and couldn't understand why. This place is VERY VERY nice and VERY VERY well kept! We are returning in September and can't wait!! Grotto Bay is a EXTREMELY nice, clean and fun place to stay!! Very close to airport, which we loved. Don't listen to negative reviews, this place is FANTASTIC!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigdog2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We volunteered to offload an overbooked BA flight back to UK and were offered a free overnight stay at Grotto - No Brainer! One more day in paradise.
We originally had been staying in Coco Reef for a week. Coco Reef is on the south shore right on beach - best hotel setting on the island and we had a nice week.
But arriving at Grotto (rather late 9pm) dumped our stuff in room and then rushed down to the restaurant for dinner. Well the staff soo welcoming, the room buzzing with atmosphere and the waiters so cheerful, talkative and were happy at their jobs. Food al a carte was very good (steak medium rare cooked just right).
Room overlooking bay - obviously not as picturesque view as Coco's at south shore but good size good bathroom AND a nice big fridge :)) (not a mini one).
Beach small but plenty of loungers BUT you do have to dig in your umbrella (same as coco). Calm seas - good for youngsters.
We decided for abit of fun to have a go on the ' aquaslide' but we were 'told off' haha and that we had to pay for that privalige :((
We also snorkeled the wreck (nothing much out there) and snorkeled and fed the abundance of fish just outside the cave, but the water b****y cold just there not the main beach sea - good experience.
Breakfast was brilliant - so much better than coco, vast buffet options (incl smoked salmon) and omelete and waffle cooking stations. Servers bright, happy and talkative
Lunch we had pulled pork sandwich and burger at the pool bar - good.
Jacuzzi well Hot man.
Overall although Coco Reef is set on a most excellent picturesque beach i would choose Grotto for their excellent customer service which creates for a more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOBSON09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a girls weekend. Found the rooms to be dated and musty. The pool area was small.

Not suitable for anyone with a disability as the property is very steep with lots of stairs.

Bermuda is a very beautiful island but would choose to stay elsewhere the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BluewaterToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP M, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Valued guest,

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Wish you had expressed your concern with us during your stay since we are completing refurbishment/installation of new furnishings and would have been more than happy to move you to a "new" room. Hope you will give us another chance and allow us to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Received a nice card and goodies to welcome us as returning guests. This place has a great private beach, located minutes from the airport and has nice clean rooms and fantastic grounds. Located on major bus routes so expolring east and west is easy. Nice muffin/toast/coffee/tea/juice bar in the mornings to get a qucik bite before heading out.

Room Tip: If you are in good shape or want to be near the pool/beach, get oceanfront or ocean view. Get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came here for Sunday brunch with family to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely location and nice view from table. Service was very good. Good selection of food for brunch and left feeling very full and happy! Nice bottle of wine too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, MI
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent 9 nights. Beautiful & quiet location in Bermuda. The grounds are well maintained. Rooms were comfortable & clean. Staff was very friendly & the on-site restaurants were good. It was our son's 18th birthday & we ordered a birthday surprise. The staff came out with a piece of cake & a candle on a beautiful platter with Happy Birthday written in chocolate & they all sang to him - needless to say he way embarrassed, but he'll never forget his 18th birthday! :) Great staff!Bus leaves from right outside hotel to see the rest of the island. You will need to take a bus or taxi to get to the "pink" beaches on the south side of island and to get to Hamilton & the Dockyard. The bus is easy & the least expensive option. Swizzle Inn which is a quick walk down the road has great food & service. You can swim at the resort inside the caves, which is a unique experience. We also did a couples massage in the cave, which is amazing - what a location for a spa! You can walk to see Crystal Caves. Only negative is you have to pay for WiFi & our son needed internet for doing homework over spring break, but we knew that when we booked. We didn't have problems with noise, but the hotel was only at about 50% occupancy. If you do have mobility issues this probably isn't the resort or the island for you as it didn't seem very handicap accessable. If you called the resort ahead of time, I'm sure they'd help you with golf cart transportation around resort grounds. Bermuda as a whole didn't seem real handicap accessable - we only saw 1 bus out of 9 days that had wheel chair capabilities. For us - this was a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean front superior & had a nice view of water. We were in Room 464 which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LouiseT906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
818 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
664 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,888 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,099 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing