We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet location in Bermuda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent 9 nights. Beautiful & quiet location in Bermuda. The grounds are well maintained. Rooms were comfortable & clean. Staff was very friendly & the on-site restaurants were good. It was our son's 18th birthday & we ordered a birthday surprise. The staff came out with a piece of cake & a candle on a beautiful platter with Happy Birthday written in chocolate & they all sang to him - needless to say he way embarrassed, but he'll never forget his 18th birthday! :) Great staff!Bus leaves from right outside hotel to see the rest of the island. You will need to take a bus or taxi to get to the "pink" beaches on the south side of island and to get to Hamilton & the Dockyard. The bus is easy & the least expensive option. Swizzle Inn which is a quick walk down the road has great food & service. You can swim at the resort inside the caves, which is a unique experience. We also did a couples massage in the cave, which is amazing - what a location for a spa! You can walk to see Crystal Caves. Only negative is you have to pay for WiFi & our son needed internet for doing homework over spring break, but we knew that when we booked. We didn't have problems with noise, but the hotel was only at about 50% occupancy. If you do have mobility issues this probably isn't the resort or the island for you as it didn't seem very handicap accessable. If you called the resort ahead of time, I'm sure they'd help you with golf cart transportation around resort grounds. Bermuda as a whole didn't seem real handicap accessable - we only saw 1 bus out of 9 days that had wheel chair capabilities. For us - this was a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean front superior & had a nice view of water. We were in Room 464 which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouiseT906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,763 - 1,769 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent 4 nights at grotto bay resort in March 2013. The staff was extremely helpful during our stay. They provided us with tips and tricks, made dinner reservations for us, allowed a late check-out. Our room had a great view and was very clean. One complaint is that wifi was not free. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and you can purchase a bus and ferry pass from the front desk.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank njweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I traveled with a friend to Bermuda from March 14th thru the 18th and stayed at the Grotto Bay Resort, room 432, ocean facing room. Check in was quick and easy, our room was ready for us (arrived around 2:30pm, before posted check-in time) and the friendly bell man took our bags to our room while we got a quick lunch at the on-site restaurant.

The lobby is charming, there are several seating areas, which are often in use since this is the only place you can use WiFi. There isn't WiFi in the rooms and the hotel charges per device to use it, which seems antiquated in a time where you can get free WiFi at any coffee shop or fast food restaurant.

There are two restaurants, adjacent to each other, one often houses the buffet option, the other strictly menu items. Mostly people wore smart island casual for all meals. We did not purchase the inclusive meal plan, and based on what we spent, we are not sure how anyone would be able to eat enough to justify the daily price difference. Prices for the buffets are reasonable (I think it was $24 breakfast, $15 lunch, not sure about dinner), and the menu items were on par with what you would expect dining out. We were happy when the quality of the meals matched the price paid. We never tried the dinner buffet.

For all meals, this restaurant excelled at providing gluten-free options for my friend. The wait staff seemed knowledgeable about what was safe for her to have, or were happy to check with the chef to see if the dish could be made gluten-free.

All of the buildings are two stories tall, and our room was on the second floor of building 4. We had a mostly nice view, although where our building was located facing the ocean meant we were also facing the airport and bridge. With the balcony doors closed, we were not bothered by any road noise. Unfortunately, we can't say the same thing about the walls, since they seem to be paper thin! We could easily hear the person next door coughing, sneezing and snoring!

The room we stayed in was a standard double, and roomy enough for our needs. The decor is worn and outdated, but the room was fairly clean. Both dressers had mostly broken drawers so we didn't bother unpacking our bags but left them on top of the dressers. The bathroom did have nice floor to ceiling tile, but was on the small side. The shower features a half glass enclosure and half open, with poor water pressure. There is a mini fridge in the room that regularly cycles on and off, which adds to the overall noisiness of the room. Thankfully I packed ear plugs and used them after the first night.

The grounds are beautiful and seem well maintained. We were only able to enter one of the caves and did swim in the icy cold water (off season temperatures) which was a thrilling experience. We did not try the spa facilities, nor swim in either the pool or the hot tub. We did visit the beach a few times, which was clean with plenty of chairs to use. There is a dive shop adjacent to the hotel beach, but we didn't use any of their services or equipment so we can't offer opinions on those.

There is a bus stop at the front gates of the resort. We purchased a 3 day pass, for about $7/day. We think purchasing a book of tickets would have been cheaper (since we really only rode the bus 2x a day), or you could go with exact change if you can figure out how much you need. We found the bus schedules a bit confusing, but often times people waiting for the bus were very friendly and helpful in getting us where we wanted to go.

One of my greatest objections about our visit was the poor flow of information. We knew we were visiting in the "off-season" but when we asked for directions to see Fort St. Catherine, no one mentioned that it was closed that day. Over half the shops in St. George were closed when we went to see the scheduled mayor speak/reenactment on Saturday. Hopefully our experience was the exception, not the rule, but there seems to be some disparity among the islanders about whether to embrace tourists or not. We had two bus drivers who were borderline rude when we asked about whether we could reach our destination using their bus line. Strange attitude when tourism is their number 1 source of income.

All in all, a very relaxing stay, we would recommend to those who are satisfied with basic hotel amenities, a mostly friendly staff and standard room accommodations. Kudos to the restaurant staff for all the gluten-free TLC.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rrepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just came home from 5 days at Grotto Bay. First time in Bermuda. Loved it. The hotel was perfect for us. Was there with teens.
Perks:
Caves on site which you can walk through and swim in. My teens loved this.
Away from any city, and expansive grounds so felt safe to let kids wander.
Pool, hot tub, caves, dive shop, boat rental all right there on site.
Spa treatment in the cave - unforgettable experience.
I like that this is not a multi-story fancy hotel on the beach. It is several 2 story buildings. Feels homey.
$15 all you can eat lunch buffet is a deal, given the high price of food everywhere.
Bus stop right in front of hotel, can get anywhere.
Close to airport and St. Georges, where we spent some time.
Away from the heavy activity of a bigger town/city. It was RESTFUL.
Ice cream stand and Swizzle Inn right down the road.
Very friendly staff. Gorgeous scenery.

Quirks
Shampoo and soap in rooms. No conditioner. If you need it, bring it.
No hooks to hang up wet towels.
Internet was sketchy everywhere but the lobby. (and you have to pay for it.) (but Free at the Swizzle Inn down the road.)

All in all, loved it.

Room Tip: Ground floor lets you walk right out onto lawns. Recommend rooms by the pool/caves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank jeaninlunenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

When we were back at the resort we always ate there, food especially the buffet was exceptional!!! We never had anything we could nto eat or did not like, it is always refreshed and replenished...a bit pricey but again worth it while on vacation

Thank Willimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just returned from 5 days at Grotto Bay all inclusive package. The staff was lovely and very genuine but the facility is worn around the edges. The clientele is largely groups from Saga the over 50 travel group from Great Britton. Spa services are very sub par with treatments given in an unused hotel room... No robes, or usual accoutrements one would expect for the high end price. Room TV is circa 1980's. No wifi provided. (Actually great for talking with your adolescent children who have no alternative.) Clocks still not adjusted for daylight savings time which happened several weeks ago. Low end toiletries and no glasses in the bathroom.


The tourism industry has fallen onto hard times as a result of the many "private clubs" that have sprouted up as a function of the insurance and financial industries that have flourishes as a function of favorable tax incentives. This has resulted I the closure of many resorts and the bare-bones nature of the "survivors"

The beaches in Bermuda are 2nd to none but the location of The Grotto Bay is suboptimal. Unable to go anywhere unless by taxi or bus.

Room Tip: Walls paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tulip55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Wish to thank you for your comments and at the same time advise you that our Designer and installation team are here this week to install new furnishings, accessories, curtains, rugs and plants. In addition, all of our TV's are currently being replaced, sorry the TV in your room had not been replaced yet. Sorry you did not opt for the spa treatment in our Proserous Cave. This is a very unique setting for spa treatments, your spa treatment would have taken place in a Million year old Grotto with underground crystal clear lake as well as throusands of Stalagmites and Stalactites. Although slightly more expensive, it is definitely worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Mr Martens
We recently vacationed at your Resort , March 11 to March 17 , I thought your staff was really excellent , caring and helpful . I wish to specifically mention Eugene (Bell Desk) , Victoria (Dining Area) and Michael-StJohn (sp?)(night shift Supv) . Due to my wife's lack of mobility we needed to change rooms on the first night , the night shift front desk smoothly arranged a transfer and Michael-StJohn showed me the room to make sure we would be happy .
Thank you
Sue and George Waugh

Room Tip: We liked the ocean view rooms , at the top of the property . Really good food ! Convenient to taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 86GeorgeW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
841 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
872 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,072 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,135 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 5 in Paget Parish
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range: $269 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing