We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Yes, weather was not that great, but I had a fabulous time. This resort is comfortable, staff is relaxed, wonderful, and goes out of their way to help you without being overly 'in your face'. The cave on-site is amazing (and free access - swimming and all!), lots of cool things in the area (Crystal Caves, Swizzle Pub, Ice cream parlour (although closed in March). Taxis and buses very easy to catch, beautiful ocean views, and lovely little beach.

Room Tip: Very quiet and comfortable rooms, but everything is very pricey. Also be prepared to walk up and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    958
    274
    111
    71
See reviews for
631
1,188
92
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

March is the off season yet we had a great time. Best place for a family vacation especially as a single parent. Very nice resort. We noticed first how nice everyone is there! Helpful too. Rooms were great, clean, gorgeous view and beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaLovelylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for the first week in Mar 13. Despite being disappointed by the weather we were very impressed by the hotel and the Island in general. We opted for an Ocean view Deluxe room with sea view (room 131). The views were fantastic over the bay and with a side view of the pool. This location is handy for the beach and pool but is a little way from the main building. There are approx 50 steps up to the Main Building and hotel reception, however if you are moderately mobile it is not a hard climb. We decided on the All Inclusive package which we considered to be extremely good value. This includes all meals, drinks and free unlimited transport around the Island. The food was great and the waiting staff extremely friendly. The only small downside for me is the WiFi service. It is only available in the main building and at a cost of $15 per day a little expensive. Given the amount we had spent on All Inclusive I would have expected this to be free of charge and extended to allow availability in the rooms.
We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallie-Leitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived to grotto bay on march 7 and stayed for 5 days, people @ grotto bay were very friendly and helpful.
They have 2 restaurants the palm more casual food was ok ,and another one more pricey the food was better there, we had the prime rib and was good.
Breakfast was ok no much selection ,it was 22 pp so we just had bagels ad muffins a la carte.
Overall food was ok but overpriced.,we did not do all inclusive ,i think is good if u stay all day in the hotel and take advantage of it.
Our room was clean but very outdated, the bed was confortable but linens and conforter were so old !! .Bathroom was clean but also really outdated , the sink and shower had rust on it and The fridge made a weird noise all night.
The hotel has a good location the bus stop is in front of the hotel , we did not rent a sccoter , the roads are not safe , there is a lot off traffic and roads are really narrow,so we followed the locals advise and we bought a bus pass.

Conclusion:
We will go back to Bermuda another time when weather is better ,but we definitely are going to pick a different hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room on top level ,and with balcony . Avoid rooms on the first floor I heard people complai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moni23newjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP M, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Wish to inform you that we are currently in the process of updating/upgrading rooms including installation of new linens, new flat screen TV's and comments from guests who have stayed in "new" rooms have been extremely positive. Hope you will give us another chance since I am convinced that you will be very pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel was very clean, family friendly and the grounds were well kept. The beach was great as it is in a bay which made for calm clear waters. Especially for my 2.5 year old to wade into and who also got to do some kayaking. The bus system is so good and easy to access. Purchasing a family day pass also allowed access to the ferries. My only issue was that there was no free WiFi. You had to pay for it and so many other hotels have free WiFi at least in their lobby or on their computers. I guess It made the trip a true getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frotripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Bermuda is a refined destination and this hotel is one of the hidden treasures. I have visited 4 times and each time I stay at this hotel. As the hotel is not too large it feels like a wonderful hideaway, located halfway between the historic, pocket-size town of St. George and Bermuda's capital Hamilton. The buildings & grounds are laid out with a relaxed spaciousness. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The food is excellent. The beauty and cleanliness of Bermuda makes it a destination for the most discriminating traveller, while providing a historic and interesting island.
I have been there both on my own and with friends and with family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheCanadianLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent a long weekend this February at this gem of a resort. The staff is very welcoming and easy going, yet professional and very knowledgeable and helpful. The grounds are very well kept and interesting - love the colors of the different buildings. The location is great too. Buses stop right at the entrance! The airport is minutes away. Hamilton is not too far. You can walk to the famous Swizzle Inn. Our room was very clean and well maintained - we had a great view of the bay. Buffet breakfast with lots of options. We skipped lunch - too pricey at $44 per person. Internet service a bit spotty, due to weather, I was told. they only guarantee coverage if you stay in the main building. This was our first trip to wonderful Bermuda, and surely won't be our last. Bermuda and the Grotto Bay Beach Resort will woo us back for years to come.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
649 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
811 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,813 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,079 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing