We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

While the property itself is nice (i.e. grounds, main building, etc.), the hotel is on the far end of the island, right next to the airport, which is about 20-25 minutes from downtown Hamilton. My room was in a separate building down the hill from the main check in area. Though everything in the room was functional and clean, the decor was dated and uninviting. In addition, the doors were flimsy and the locks didn't inspire a lot of confidence. Overall the entire hotel seemed a bit run down. Because I was on a business trip, I stayed only two nights and didn't spend a lot of time in my room, which was a plus... definitely would not want to spend a vacaction there.

  • Liked — The Bay View
  • Disliked — Rundown feel of the property
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MLD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    912
    261
    108
    68
See reviews for
583
1,112
88
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

Nice hotel- some of the rooms are not quite as good as expected, some have been refurbished and others not. Ours was fine. Great ocean views. nice pool and private bay. Caves are interesting too. We only had breakfast which was good quality and plentiful. Staff are very very friendly and helpful, but this is Bermuda. Close to the airport, and has its own bus stop on the Hamilton- St Georges route at the end of the drive- you can't hire cars. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — pool and own beach
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jager66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

Review title says Lovely!! But the score is only 3/5 confused, well the Grotto Bay is like that.
Bits of it are perfect and other bits very poor. Let me explain, good bits first.
The Food in all the restaurants we tried, 2 adults 3 children 12 10 and 5 years was brilliant tasty well presented and vast in portions.
The resort is clean and well presented.
Most of the staff are helpful.
The beach is great swimming, snorkelling was just as it should be, but watch the rocks/coral they can leave you with nasty cuts especially if you're 10 years old and a bit silly.
The weather (if you like it hot) and views are fanatastic.

Now the BUT you've been waiting for the rooms are ok yes only ok, I know it depends on your expectations but they are ok and only just.
We had a problem when we arrived with our first two rooms, they were meant to be interconnecting but were not, we were moved to new rooms the next day but that left us without rooms for the best part of one day, luckily the rooms we then had were interconnecting and quieter (the tree frogs weren't so close), but they were a bit damp.
Trying to write a conclusion, on the whole I have great memories of the resort, its location, food and facilities make up for the poor rooms but it is a close run thing. Go enjoy the resort but don't have to high expectations on the quality of your accomodation, also i recommend you go all inclusive as we did, other wise you might find it gets expensive. Enjoy the Dark and Stormys they are great!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank caroline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

We went to Grotto Bay because I won the trip with Heart radio back in June. We had never been to Bermuda before and did not know what to expect. We got to the hotel in the afternoon,after we had checked in and had unpacked we went to the managers Swizzler welcome party, this was where we first tasted bermudas national drink and it was gorgeous (put it this way I was known as the Swizzle Queen as I tasted them where ever we went to eat on the Island to see how they varied. The hotel was clean and very welcoming everyone who worked there was really helpful especially Patricia and Jodie on front desk. Also June who told us about all the activities that was on at various places, she also recommended the best place that I had ever eaten which was Tom Moore's.The hotel is looking tired in some places but while we were there they were renovating it. We did eat at the hotel a couple of times which was very pleasant.
The beach is quite small and I would imagine it gets packed in the high season. Around the pool area was nice and the jacuzzi was wonderful. Overall I would come back and stay here if I ever got the chance. Bermuda is a very special place and so are the people who live there. The weather was still warm even though it was the beginning of November when we visited and if you like to play golf it is a great time to go as it is'nt as busy as in the summer.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank shelldebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day stay at Grotto Bay, and we loved it!!

Prior to booking our reservation, we read all of the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we did see all of the concerns that were listed in the reviews. The majority of the reviews were positive, however there were some negative, and we are so happy that we did not let those negative reviews change our decision to stay at Grotto Bay! Some of the concerns listed were: 1) A lot of stairs and hills on the property, 2) Food was ok, 3) Rooms were ok, and 4) staff was ok. As I said, I am so happy we didn't let these negative and/or neutral reviews change our decision. Here is what we thought about Grotto Bay:

1) Yes, there are a lot of stairs and walking up and down hills to get from the main lobby to the guest rooms, pool, caves, beach, etc., but what the reviews fail to mention is the beautiful landscaping that the walk ways go through. The property is on the side of a hill, and because of that, the views are amazing! No matter where you walk, you can see the beautiful water and the boats out in the bay. The hills and the stairs did not bother us at all, in fact it added to the overall beauty because the buildings are not right on top of each other, and the grounds were meticulous!! Definitely a little piece of paradise!

2) We found the food to be very very good! Both my wife and I like to dine out frequently, and we also enjoy cooking, so I like to think we know some things about good food, and the food at Grotto Bay was very good as I mentioned. We did the all inclusive and the lunch and dinner were excellent! The breakfast was good as well, especially the omlets, but the overall breakfast buffet was similar to other breakfast buffets we've had. Nothing bad at all about it, just didn't rank as high as the lunch and dinners did for us. We were never disappointed at all with any meal.

3) We stayed in a newly rennovated room and it was beautiful! Everything was modern and decorated very nicely and had a great tropical Bermuda feel to it. The view of the water and property from our Balcony was fantastic! Yes, the walls are a tad bit thin, so we did hear the folks next to us a few times, but what hotel walls are not thin? This is nothing new. If someone knows of a resort out there where the walls are thick and you don't hear other people, please let me know.

4) The staff at Grotto Bay were all very friendly and very helpful! June from guest services couldn't do enough for us!! She organized golf for us, made recommendations on itineraries and gave us specific directions for our sight seeing travels. Whenever I left a message for her with another staff member, she always left a prompt message in our room. She genuinely wanted to ensure that we were having a great time, which we did! We found the same with the wait staff, and other staff members as well. You are always greeted with a sincere hello, good morning, good afternoon, etc.

Although Grotto Bay is much closer to St. Georges than it is to Hamilton or the other beaches, it is very convenient to get around. We found the bus transportation to be excellent, as the drivers were very helpful and always ensured we got off at the right spot. If traveling to Hamilton or the beaches, I would highly recommend the bus. Cabs are a bit expensive, so take advantage of the bus.

All pevious reviews mention the Swizzle Inn, and we did go there and had a great time! The food is great and the rum swizzles are excellent! It's a short walk from the resort and well worth a visit!

We had a great time in Bermuda and our stay at Grotto Bay was excellent! I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank estrnmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

Nice reception desk, nice restaurant rooms, nice garden with two caves.
Efficient employees, meals are correct.

Buses right outside of the hotel. ATM cash distributor and gasoline station as well.

Weak points :
1/ confort of rooms is quite basic. They are clean but a bit humid and cold.

2/ the beach is very very small and not south oriented.

3/ there is no internet connection in the rooms : you have to go to the reception in order to use a wireless connection. Bad point for business travellers !

Conclusion : correct, but too expensive regarding the fact that the rooms are not so confortable and that there is no room service (for breakfast or dinner for instance).

  • Liked — reception
  • Disliked — room and internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

After leaving -20 F weather in Maine, the 70's in Bermuda were a welcome relief. This was the first visit to Grotto Bay but it will not be the last. The staff was top notch. From the doormen to the wait staff, nothing was overlooked. Always a pleasant greeting. The facility, including the grottos, was well maintained and Bermuda perfect. I only wish that the room was not next to the noisiest ice machine on the island.

  • Liked — The grottos
  • Disliked — Noisy ice machine
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank db0T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,643 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
6.5 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing