We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time at Grotto Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day stay at Grotto Bay, and we loved it!!

Prior to booking our reservation, we read all of the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we did see all of the concerns that were listed in the reviews. The majority of the reviews were positive, however there were some negative, and we are so happy that we did not let those negative reviews change our decision to stay at Grotto Bay! Some of the concerns listed were: 1) A lot of stairs and hills on the property, 2) Food was ok, 3) Rooms were ok, and 4) staff was ok. As I said, I am so happy we didn't let these negative and/or neutral reviews change our decision. Here is what we thought about Grotto Bay:

1) Yes, there are a lot of stairs and walking up and down hills to get from the main lobby to the guest rooms, pool, caves, beach, etc., but what the reviews fail to mention is the beautiful landscaping that the walk ways go through. The property is on the side of a hill, and because of that, the views are amazing! No matter where you walk, you can see the beautiful water and the boats out in the bay. The hills and the stairs did not bother us at all, in fact it added to the overall beauty because the buildings are not right on top of each other, and the grounds were meticulous!! Definitely a little piece of paradise!

2) We found the food to be very very good! Both my wife and I like to dine out frequently, and we also enjoy cooking, so I like to think we know some things about good food, and the food at Grotto Bay was very good as I mentioned. We did the all inclusive and the lunch and dinner were excellent! The breakfast was good as well, especially the omlets, but the overall breakfast buffet was similar to other breakfast buffets we've had. Nothing bad at all about it, just didn't rank as high as the lunch and dinners did for us. We were never disappointed at all with any meal.

3) We stayed in a newly rennovated room and it was beautiful! Everything was modern and decorated very nicely and had a great tropical Bermuda feel to it. The view of the water and property from our Balcony was fantastic! Yes, the walls are a tad bit thin, so we did hear the folks next to us a few times, but what hotel walls are not thin? This is nothing new. If someone knows of a resort out there where the walls are thick and you don't hear other people, please let me know.

4) The staff at Grotto Bay were all very friendly and very helpful! June from guest services couldn't do enough for us!! She organized golf for us, made recommendations on itineraries and gave us specific directions for our sight seeing travels. Whenever I left a message for her with another staff member, she always left a prompt message in our room. She genuinely wanted to ensure that we were having a great time, which we did! We found the same with the wait staff, and other staff members as well. You are always greeted with a sincere hello, good morning, good afternoon, etc.

Although Grotto Bay is much closer to St. Georges than it is to Hamilton or the other beaches, it is very convenient to get around. We found the bus transportation to be excellent, as the drivers were very helpful and always ensured we got off at the right spot. If traveling to Hamilton or the beaches, I would highly recommend the bus. Cabs are a bit expensive, so take advantage of the bus.

All pevious reviews mention the Swizzle Inn, and we did go there and had a great time! The food is great and the rum swizzles are excellent! It's a short walk from the resort and well worth a visit!

We had a great time in Bermuda and our stay at Grotto Bay was excellent! I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank estrnmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,635)
There are newer reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,388 - 2,394 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2007

Nice reception desk, nice restaurant rooms, nice garden with two caves.
Efficient employees, meals are correct.

Buses right outside of the hotel. ATM cash distributor and gasoline station as well.

Weak points :
1/ confort of rooms is quite basic. They are clean but a bit humid and cold.

2/ the beach is very very small and not south oriented.

3/ there is no internet connection in the rooms : you have to go to the reception in order to use a wireless connection. Bad point for business travellers !

Conclusion : correct, but too expensive regarding the fact that the rooms are not so confortable and that there is no room service (for breakfast or dinner for instance).

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jean-Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

After leaving -20 F weather in Maine, the 70's in Bermuda were a welcome relief. This was the first visit to Grotto Bay but it will not be the last. The staff was top notch. From the doormen to the wait staff, nothing was overlooked. Always a pleasant greeting. The facility, including the grottos, was well maintained and Bermuda perfect. I only wish that the room was not next to the noisiest ice machine on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank db0T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from 10 days here. First, the good stuff. There are lovely views from practically every room. It looks onto a large enclosed sea lagoon and so is protected from heavy seas...ideal for novice sailors, wind-surfers and water skiers.

There's a small, private beach - c 200m - very safe for toddlers and a few rock pools to explore and fish that swim around your feet, with a wreck for snorkelling swimmable from the beach. The on-site caves are fascinating and the wandering chickens are delightful. So, very pleasant grounds and a nice foyer and restaurants. And the majority of staff are friendly and welcoming.

What lets this place down are the rooms themselves - and we payed extra for a deluxe room! We were allocated room 469 (block 2, St Davids Lodge), which had damp on the walls - with fungus, so the damp was not new (we have photos/videos) - and consequently rather clammy bedding. When we complained the next day the front desk staff said 'Oh that's the Bemudian weather...not a lot we can do about that', which was an affront to our intelligence. We've stayed in all sorts of tropical locations and have never experienced similar problems. ( They subsequently destroyed their own argument by moving us to a room that had no issues with clammy bedding at all.)

The wall a/c (in room 469) was noisy and ineffective but worst of all was the noise from the generator about 50 feet from our room - which serves the whole complex - that kept us awake all night.

Given all these issues they agreed to move us but we were unable to occupy our new room until 3pm, which effectively cost us a full day of R&R (try enjoying yourselves with your bags still packed!).

The new room was much better, with proper a/c, but even then the walls let so much noise through - from each side, above and below - we had a further couple of disturbed nights.

The final insult was what they call 'room service' in their room guide. This involves going to the bar, waiting for your food to be prepared, bringing it back to your room yourself and eating it out of polestyrene boxes with plastic knives and forks. Very romantic!

We're sorry to have to highlight the negatives because we enjoyed many aspects of the place but people need to be aware of the potential pitfalls as this is not a cheap hotel by any means.

Ok, they're going through refurbishment, but our second room was one of the new ones, and even when all are done there'll still be that generator affecting most rooms near 469.

p.s. the home-made cookies each day at tea are scrumptious.

p.p.s. If you haven't yet been, Bermuda itself is fabulous.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank seaofgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

We just got back from Grotto Bay. I can understand the mixed reviews here on Trip Advisor because we kind of had mixed reviews as well.

Staff: Excellent. Everyone said "hello" when they came in contact with you, smiled and seemed happy, never seemed put out by anything (although we weren't really making special requests or anything). No complaints her, whether it was front desk staff, concierge, bar staff, even the gift shop staff was out-of-their-way friendly.

Main Hotel: Beautiful. Not in a luxury way, but very clean and every room/area seemed to have it's own character.

Grounds: Immaculate. There are so many nooks and crannies at this hotel, and the grounds are perfectly kept. Every little part of the outside of the hotel seems intentionally made the way it is. From the handrails on the stairs to the chairs on the lawn, you can tell that (whether it was done a long time ago and has just been kept up or done recently) every bit of this property gets attention.

Rooms: This is one of the less than perfect aspects. The rooms are very basic, which is not a drawback to me because IT'S BERMUDA! Who spends time in their room except to sleep when you're someplace as beautiful as Bermuda? Anyway, it's not the fact that the rooms are basic, because they were very clean, no bugs (we were on the first floor closest to the beach which is where I read there can be ant problems-NONE!), but the walls must be as thin as I read in previous posts. I don't think that we had anyone next to us, but there were definitely people above us, and it sounded like they were rehearsing for the Riverdance every a.m. and p.m.. It never lasted long though because it seemed that like us, they were only in the room to sleep at night. The hotel didn't seem to be full though, so it would have been nice if they would have staggered the guests if they had the room to do so, so that people would not be right next to/on top of each other.

Beach: Nice. Small. Will do if you're not 100% in Bermuda for the beach. Pool area was nice and clean also.

Tips: If you are a big beach person and this is your fist trip to Bermuda, no offense to Grotto Bay, but please don't judge Bermuda by the beach @ Grotto Bay. You absolutely MUST go to the South Shore Beaches. Do not miss out on this, Elbow Beach especially. The first time we went to Bermuda we were at the Fairmont SouthHampton, which had a beautiful, perfect beach, but you really can see pink sand at Elbow Beach! It's not nearly as windy on the South Shore either; it almost felt like we were on a different island!

All in all, Grotto Bay was a great place for people who want to relax but don't want to be cooped up in a hotel room their entire stay, and who are willing to explore other beaches if the beach is the highlight of their trip.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelnewbietba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Just got back from 5 nights at Grotto Bay. Overall a nice 3 star hotel
with a few flaws. Location was good, only 5 mins drive from airport (aircraft noise was NOT a problem at all eventhough you could see the airport from the beach), few mins walk from Swizzle Inn and bus stop over the road. Only 25 mins into Hamilton by bus and 10 mins into St Georges. Beach was lovely although small, water was very calm and clear. Pool was lovely though it was supposed to be heated (it was quite chilly!). Don't think I'd go in high season as it would be too crowded round the pool and on the beach.

Rooms were fairly basic and could do with a freshen up/refurbishment -need more shelves in the room and bathroom. Plenty of coat hangers, and iron/ironing board provided in wardrobe. However, there was a metal door stop next to the wardrobe which we had to cover with our ice bucket in case we stubbed our toes on it. There was a coffee maker
in the room but no tea, so if you managed to get hold of a teabag you filtered the water through the coffee maker so the tea had "hint of coffee" taste. No fresh milk, only sachets of creamer which mostly had solidified - NOT very nice. Fridge in room was empty - would have been nice to have stocked minibar, but there was a vending machine very close by.

We had a room in the Hamilton block (oceanfront) which was a bit of a trek uphill to the main building, but as per a previous comment it was
good to have the excercise, and we were right by the pool and beach which was excellent.

Chickens and roosters roaming about not a problem to us - it was quite
novel seeing them roaming the beach and the grounds (and you didn't need an alarm clock!). Also a few lovely cats around - not the scraggy
type, they are obviously well fed and were very friendly. At the side of the beach there is an area next to one of the caves which is full of colourful fish you can feed - great fun. Just ask the kitchen for a bag of stale bread.

Breakfast was superb, but lunch and dinner were mediocre (mainly because of bad service - one night I went down to join my friends for dinner late as I had overslept my afternoon snooze! and I was completely ignored. Eventually I managed to get hold of a menu but no-one came to offer me a drink or take my order. Because the meals were large I shared my friend's chicken meal in the end, but though it very
rude that I had been ignored and had not been able to catch a waiter's
attention). If you like sandwiches and fries for lunch you're fine but
we found the menu a bit uninspiring. Also they often ran out of items and did not tell us until we had chosen those items. The inside bar could be bigger, but had a nice atmosphere.

Some of the staff could do with some training - very offhand and bordering on rude in some cases and we felt sometimes that they'd rather be talking on the phone than serving us. Our first couple of days were spoiled by experiencing the outskirts of Hurricane Noel, but
the last 3 days were lovely and warm, much better than we expected for
November.

The information leaflet in the room on the hotel could be better -very
little information about eg times for breakfast, the caves, where to find ice and vending machine, internet stations etc etc, but overall, the hotel and location served our purposes for a long weekend on the beach. I wouldn't want to stay there for longer than 5 days, but I would definitely go back for another long weekend out of main season. The hotel was only about 40% full so it didn't feel crowded, but if the hotel was full it could be a problem getting a sunbed by the pool or a private area on the beach.

Stayed: November 2007
8  Thank Bluewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Paid about $150 a night (roughly based on my all inclusive package) and it was not worth it at all. Bermuda is my third favorite island (after St Lucia and Aruba) but this hotel is not a good choice. It looks like a cheap motel, and the food and services are sub-par. I would avoid.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank CharlesLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
824 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,953 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,109 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range: $201 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing