We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live up to 5 star expectations because of too many little things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Doesn't live up to 5 star expectations because of too many little things”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We spent three nights at Tucker's Point with our two adult children over the July 4th holiday weekend. We stayed in a luxurious 2 bedroom villa with marvelous water views. Tucker's Point Resort is by far the best resort in Bermuda, as to location, architecture, furnishings, beach, golf and pool facilities. (We did not try the spa.) We dined at the Pointe upscale/formal restaurant and loved our meal. It was delicious! The outdoor cafe food was tasty too. Most staff were friendly and helpful, there just weren't enough of them! We had a fabulous time overall and would recommend the resort but with the caveat that all is not perfect yet.

We were too often frustrated by little things that mounted up over the stay into a less than five star stay. Let's hope management fixes the problems we had which are identical to the ones cited in previous reviews by other Trip Advisor guests. A year has passed since the resort opened and by now the problems attributed to "new resort working out the kinks" have not been resolved.
This is most disappointing and makes one wonder what plans the hotel has to address them. We hope so as we'd like to return next year for the 5 star perfect stay!

Throughout our 4 day stay we made repeated phone calls to guest services and management reporting one deficiency after another--none of which were terribly critical but when added up were frustrating and put a negative cast to an otherwise perfect holiday weekend. Each issue we raised was dealt with---but guest services always acted "surprised" the issue was present giving us the sense we were the first and only complainers. When staff were sent out to correct the situations, they re-assured us we were not the first/only and encouraged us to keep reporting the problems because "management doesn't listen to them." We heard repeatedly, and concur, that the hotel is understaffed and internal hotel communications need improvement. Also, we feel guest communications as to daily activities and resort opportunities could be improved so guests aren't disappointed that activities space is fully booked before they even knew they were being offered..

Here are the things we think need addressing:
1. better website with more hotel information and 800 telephone concierge services. Advance contact from the hotel to guests informing them of special events during their upcoming stay, need to book appointments, make reservations ahead of time, etc.

2. better check-in process, ability to assist early arrivals better if rooms aren't ready, and a detailed hotel property tour, review of upcoming special activities

3. standard room amenities should include room safes, stocked mini-bars, DVD players and music systems, filled ice buckets. Chocolates at turn-down would be a nice touch too.

4. bathrooms should be outfitted with counter/table space for toilet bags, hot curlers, etc, Magnifying make-up mirrors, more towel bars & rings and robe hooks, plastic bags for wet/dirty clothes should be provided.

We would recommend Tuckers Point for vacationers wanting a luxury stay with top golf, beach and pool amenities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Rosewood Tucker's Point, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Dear Charlie54171,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay at Tucker’s Point Hotel & Spa. Your insights are helpful to me and I would welcome a personal conversation with you. Please call the hotel and ask for me. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Brian Young

General Manager, Tucker’s Point Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    116
    43
    20
    10
See reviews for
128
368
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The new Tuckers Point Spa and Resort Bermuda is built on the site of the old Castle Harbor Hotel. It has received lots of positive publicity, but the first few hours were not fun. After three days of negotiating things improved but first let me tell the initial story.

We had a Manor House Deluxe pool room …$850.00 per night on the web site for a six night conference. Deluxe Pool is listed as the third level category, just below a one-bedroom suite. The web site states all Deluxe rooms are 600 square feet. All superior rooms are 500 square feet. It does not mention that there are rooms under 500 square feet. Expectations are for a spacious room. Instead it was cramped. So I measured the entire area including the bathroom and large hallway. It is 472 square feet, less if you subtract the wall of built -ins. The bathroom is unusually large (though has no shelving on which to put toiletries) and so the living area space is very cramped. The bed area is 12+ feet wide. There is not even a full sized desk for those who are here for meetings. In fact that is part of the problem! Is this a resort or a meeting place? Or neither? There is free wireless.

I was still completely confused about the room size. I have since learned the there are several rooms that are quite small and just put in a category for reasons other than size. Warwick 8-11 are very small as are the ones above it. They were put in the large room category because it was poolside. If you don’t like small rooms be sure not to get these. The General Manager has assured me that the misleading web site will be reviewed and changed.


When we arrived in the room we requested another chair and ottoman as there was only one and nowhere to sit down for the second person. Guest services was extremely hesitant ( quite ungracious) to grant the request but after a bit called back and said an extra chair would be delivered. The room was still very uncomfortable for two people and did not have a real desk. It had a a small built in dressing table. There was nowhere to put toliet articles in the large bathroom.


By the fourth day I was in a different spacious Manor House Deluxe room ., same price category, but not by the pool. A two tier table had been placed in the bathroom; there was a desk and two chairs. All in all it they were responsive, but took three days!


Guest services was also requested to arrange for a tennis lesson anytime Sunday afternoon. They called back to say they could not reach anyone at the tennis center, but would keep trying. When I called on Monday to find out why no one called back on Sunday I was told the pro had been busy with lessons. Since we had gone to the tennis pavilion and no one had been playing I questioned the answer. I then received a phone call to say the tennis courts closed at 1 pm on Sundays. They need to have a pro there all day Sunday .


The refrigerator in the room has complimentary water and ginger beer, but nothing else. At the pool several guests complained about the inconvenience of that and said folks who had been there before stopped on the way from the airport to stock up. When I asked a Manager about the problem he said there was an order form in the room on top of the fridge and you could fill it out to fill the fridge. There was none in mine or in at least two other guest rooms that I know of. When I received the form you could order 4 cokes for $8.00 plus delivery which came to just under $14.00. You need to order a minimum of 4 drinks and then you owned them! The price is not so bad, but the system is problematic especially if the order sheet is not in the room. Snacks were also available, but it would be nice to be able to have a bag of chips without going through room service. How about a couple of machines somewhere?


Speaking of price. The Swedish massage of 50 minutes is $165.00, about 50% more than most spas I frequent. . They did not look busy. All the spa prices seemed inflated by about 50%.


The room décor is very pretty in contrast to the hallways, which have very drab carpeting and no character. The dining room, however, at Tuckers Point is decorated with wonderful painted murals from the former Pan Am Club in New York. The food and service was excellent and the prices reasonable for the quality. I also ate at Front Harbor just outside of Hamilton and it too was excellent.


The location is convenient to the airport, but poor for visiting the island or eating at the better restaurants near Hamilton. It is a $25.00 cab fare each way to Hamilton. You can purchase a coin for $4.00 for the bus, which runs every half hour to Hamilton, but the bus stop is a 15-minute hike up hill on the return. There should be a phone so you can call for the tram when you get off the bus at the Hotel entrance. The Hotel beach is about 15 minutes away on the Hotel provided tram. The restaurant décor at the beach club is non-existent, but the view is excellent and a lunch of fresh swordfish on a bed of greens delicious. ($28.00).

The health club is resonably outfitted , but the entrance to it is opposite a service entrance to the kitchen and the floor was filthy. Quality control ,in general, is lacking.

The best surprise was the lovely little boats made in Poland, after a Boston whaler design, you could take out for $70.00 per hour and see the lovely shore line.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Rosewood Tucker's Point, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Dear celebrationtiger,

I appreciate your feedback on Tucker’s Point Hotel & Spa and would like to speak with you further about your stay. Please call the hotel and ask for me. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Brian Young

General Manager, Tucker’s Point Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

As a family we have visited Bermuda many times over the years. It had been 14 years since our last stay and our first time to stay at Tucker's Point. The facility is fabulous, the staff delightful, the Island and the people wonderful. Needless to say we already have plans to return next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here June 12-20, 2010 in the main hotel. Our whole experience was fantastic.

We booked this trip on Sky Auction and had no trouble at all. Our check in was fast and easy and our room was ready upon arrival, which was about 2:30 p.m. We stayed on the 5th floor and it had a great view of the bay and the Atlantic. The grounds look exactly like they appear on the web site since it's only a year old. The golf course was not as lush as it looks online, but we'd heard they were 10 inches short of typical rainfall so far this year, so that could be why.

The room was beautiful and spaceous with a huge bathroom that opens up on one side so you can look out into the room and even the balcony while getting ready. There's a separate shower and clawfoot tub. I was surprised that the room was carpeted since it's on an island, but the room wasn't damp at all. There's a flat screen TV that has numerous American cable channels (including ESPN and CNN). It also has a small fridge that keeps things very cold, and a safe. They provide a few bottled waters and their signature Ginger Beer (which tastes like a ginger snap and 7-UP) that you don't have to pay for, but anything after that initial stuff is charged to you. We just refilled our initial bottles with tap water all week and were fine. The room opens up onto a small balcony that has a table and 2 chairs. It overlooks a small pool and the bay. The bedding is extremely comfortable. It was a pillow top but my husband, who loves a hard bed, even slept well. There are 2 robes and an iron and ironing board in the room, but no hair dryer. There are no ice machines on the hotel floors. You have to call room service for that. They don't charge for it and it came within 20 mins., but it would be nice to get it myself.

Beach: The beach club and the resort's private beach are 1.3 miles away from the main hotel but a shuttle runs about every 15-20 minutes back and forth. It wasn't a big deal at all. The beach is supposedly the largest on the island and that could be true. We saw a lot of public beaches scattered around the island and this was the biggest we saw. It's powdery white sand with that hint of pink coral. Very beautiful! You sign in to the beach club and they set you up with chairs and an umbrella either at the beach of at the pool. There are 2 pools over looking the beach: one is for 13 years and up, the other is a children's pool. There's also a restaurant that serves lunch and dinner. We had lunch here nearly every day and had dinner here once. The food was great but they like for you to make a reservation for dinner, which the concierge didn't tell us we had to do. We had to wait for an hour at the bar but they eventually accommodated us. There's a bar here with a few flat screens if you're interested in sports. We went during the World Cup, so plenty of people were checking on the games. They have a waiter who brings drinks by the adult pool, but not by the beach. One employee told us he was lobbying for that and I fully agree.

The Palm Court Pool: we came here in the afternoons that we were at the hotel. It's a very nice, big pool that somewhat overlooks the bay, but mostly is surrounded by landscaping. You can get food and drinks here until about 5:30 or 6. A nice touch here is that they keep a jug of water with lemons and limes at the desk and offer sunscreen for people to use for free. You can rent cabanas for the day at either of the hotel pools but we didn't look into it. I only saw one rented a few times. There is plenty of shade from umbrellas.

Staff: All were very nice and glad to answer any questions, make dinner reservations, book excursions, etc. Housekeeping comes once in the afternoon and once in the evening for turndown service. They provided plenty of towels, which you don't have to take to the pool or beach. They provide them at all locations. Raymond, the head bellman, seems to know a lot about getting around the island. One mistake we made was taking a bus from the Flatts area to Dockyard. It took about 90 mins. Our advice for going to Dockyard is to rent a scooter at the hotel and drive yourself, or take a taxi to Hamilton and take the ferry from there. We took the ferry back to Hamilton from Dockyard and it was $4 per person. Weekdays (and maybe Saturdays), the ferry runs from Dockyard all the way to St. George's, which is only about 10 minutes from Tucker's Point. It's also $4 per person. The ferry does not run on Sundays and liquor is not sold on Sundays in stores.

Restaurants: We went off the resort for dinner all but one night. The Swizzle Inn is nearby and is decent bar food. It's very American but serves great Rum Swizzles - the island's signature drink. The hotel manager recommended Rustico in Flatts Village for dinner and we liked it so much that we went back a second time. It's a small restaurant by the road that has indoor, patio and garden seating. We also liked the Pickled Onion on Front Street in Hamilton. the food there was excellent and they have a balcony overlooking Front Street. The Tavern by the Sea was a wonderful place in St. Georges. It's also by the water and has excellent food. We highly recommend those restaurants. One restaurant to avoid is Harley's at the Fairmont Princess Hotel in Hamilton. The food and service were great but the hotel is older and was a bit cheesy. Everything was pink and outdated. It seemed like a hotel ballroom. I kept waiting for the Rat Pack to appear.

There are plenty of excursions to do but the concierce will not tell you about them up front. I would say that was the only let down of the hotel: that they didn't give you enough information or details when you arrived. They are very friendly when you ask though. There is an activities center at the hotel but, if they don't have what you're looking for, there are others who offer excursions on the island. We took a snorkeling/wave runner tour from KC Watersports in St. George's. We had a blast but the snorkeling isnt' that great in Bermuda. We also saw a sign for Ana Luna Excursions, but didn't use them.

This island is highly expensive. They charge a lot for everything. A glass of wine cost $12-13 and a pint of beer (Stella Artois or Carlsberg) cost $7-9. We went to a market one day near St. George's when we rented a scooter and got some pastries to tie us over for breakfast, which saved a lot of money. We also brought a couple bottles of wine from home.

Make sure you go to Crystal Cave. It's very cool and worth the price. It's also just down the road from Tucker's Point. Dockyard is very touristy but it has a cool fort and museum that tells you about the history of the island.

Also, make sure you bring some sort of cover up to wear over your bathing suit if you plan to eat at the beach club. It's a bit more conservative than some other places. That being said, Bermuda wasn't as conservative as the travel books will have you believe. Restaurants outside the hotel don't typically require anymore than shorts or capris. However, if you want to wear a sundress or slacks, you won't be out of place.

In all, you can't go wrong with Tucker's Point. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach bum in ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct. usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed at Tucker's Point on a quick long week-end getaway- easy for us to get to as we use NYC airports. It is so new but everything maintains that "Bermudian" flavor --without the musty old ambiance that so many resorts there have. The staff was attentive and the restaurant food great. No kids around when we were there. Our room was large- had great sheets, towels and toiletries. We have stayed at many other older "cottage colony" resorts in Bermuda and like Tucker's better - the pool is not to be believed- private, restful serene. The beach is a jitney ride away but they are constantly taking guests over there- a few minutes wait. 'Just noticed Luxury Link has started to offer auction for this property and may visit again in Fall- 'Bout time Bermuda had a new resort-

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Point restaurant:

To pull off such a stuffy and pretentious restaurant the food needs to be faultless – unfortunately it is mediocre at best. After service the chef comes around the tables fishing for compliments which are very hard to find, it doesn’t even have a good view. They have a rule where jackets must be worn at all times, which is fine, except it means the men are always incredibly hot and the women freezing as the A/C needs to be down so low.

There are so many better restaurants in Bermuda just don’t bother with The Point (probably why it is generally pretty empty). A bad experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mattyjcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Maitland_Young, General Manager at Rosewood Tucker's Point, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear mattyjcarter,

I am sorry to hear about your less than stellar experience at The Point and want to extend my personal apologies. Please call the hotel directly and ask for me, as I’d like to speak with you personally and work to remedy the situation. I look forward to hearing from you.

My sincerest regards,
Brian Young

General Manager, Tucker’s Point Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

My husband and I returned to Bermuda for our sixth visit to clebrate our anniversary. We love Bermuda and have stayed at several other hotels in the past. This was our first visit to Tuckers Point as it has been opened for only a year. We stayed in a Deluxe Manor room and had a fnatastic view of the hotel, one of the pools and the ocean. The room was clean and a good size as was the bathroom. Everything is new and the bed was very comfy. We had internet access in our room and cable TV. Mostly we spent time outside though as the grounds of this hotel are amazing. They have a beautiful golf course which we misssed plyaing but will do so in the future. The beach is about a mile away but hey have a shuttle every 10 minutes, we walked one day, it was a nice walk as it was not too hot. Most places in Bermuda have no place to walk or even a decent size beach which Tuckers Point has over most other places. The hotel is closer to Hamilton as well than the other hotels we stayed at so it did not cost too much to cab it into town. We ate at the Hotel and were very pleased with the service , the ambience and the food. The staff was so pleasant and everything seemed to run as smooth as anything. I have to say this was one of the best trips we have had and value for $$ was one of the best stays as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandybeachsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
6.3 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Tucker's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Tucker's Point

Property: Rosewood Tucker's Point
Address: 60 Tucker's Point Drive, HS 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Tucker's Point 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Rosewood Tucker's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Tucker`s Point Hotel Hamilton Parish
Tuckers Point Hotel
Hotel Tuckers Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing