We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted”
Review of The Colonsay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colonsay
Certificate of Excellence
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enchanted”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited 24 to 27 April, traveled by train and ferry from Oban. Got about Colonsay on my Mountain bike. Hotel is in a lovely location and staff are welcoming and helpful. The magic atmosphere got all guests together round the wood stove and convivial evenings were had. Food plentiful and satisfying. despite cycling hours and hours , managed to gain 4 lbs.

The weather was kind and colourful showing off the beaches at their best. Almost needed to put on sun protection. I would love to return.

Room Tip: Askernish is spacious with a super on suite and TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    58
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
34
91
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Colonsay Hotel this weekend and enjoyed every minute , Live music in the bar on friday , met up with various guests over for a wedding and got invited to the wedding ceilidh in the local hall after we'd heard a talk from a BBC scotland radio presenter.
Great food both nights at the hotel and attentive staff. Bedroom was cosy but with a lovely view down to the sea and the ferry.
The weather wasn't great while we were there though we went out cycling both days. Finished off the weekend with a lovely art exhibition before getting on the Cal Mac ferry.
Irina at the hotel is lovely

Room Tip: Get one you can see the sea from!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finbar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from a short break from The Colonsay which was very relaxing and friendly. We found the staff very helpfull and willing to do anything we required the room we stayed in (Cable Bay) was very comfortable and clean with good facilities. The log fires to sit beside very welcoming and lovely to sit beside and read. Dinning room had lovely view over the sea to Jura. The food was very tasty homemade and excellantand they tried to use local produce as far as possible.

The sandy beaches and walks around theisland are interesting we saw Golden Eagle, Heron, Oyster Catchers and plenty of other birds also the seals the only thing we coudnt do this time was go to Oronsay the tides were not right. There is still lenty to see and walks still to do for another time. We alos got to see the gardens at Colonsay House which due to the late spring the flowers were just starting to bloom and lookin very colourful.

During our stay the Hotel had a wedding in which all the hotel guests were invited to the caelidh in the evening.

We will go back to this lovely island and hotel
t is wise to have travel insurance as the weather is not always the best and as the sea can be rough the feriires cannot always operate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18susan_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Colonsay is a small gem of an island some 2 hours 20 mins by ferry from Oban but the journey is worth it. The hotel is small but with friendly staff managed by Ivan and Irini. Rooms comfortable and food excellent. If you want to just chill out for a few days this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you want relaxed country house style and friendly service from people who cannot do enough for you then this is for you. If you want smart, then this isn't the place to come. I loved our 4 nights here. Colonsay is a lovely island and everyone is so friendly - for example I was given a lift back to the hotel when a huge rainstorm suddenly appeared. We also gave feedback about the food and feel there is a really good potential for it to improve. We stayed in Ardskenish - a large room with views over the bay - the photos on the website don't do it justice. One word of warning - make sure you have holiday insurance. If the ferries are disrupted you can end up having paid for a room you can't use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAH2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel in two years. The staff had changed and thankfully not much about the hotel had. It retains its boutique hotel feel but could do with minor redecoration. The food is good but not as good as last time. The breakfasts had diminished in size and choice which was very disappointing and there wasn't such an array of fresh fish on the menu as before but on the whole an enjoyable three days. The staff are very helpful and there is plenty to do on the island along with visiting the stunning Kiloran beach.

Room Tip: Also has rooms that accommodate dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Colonsay hotel earlier this month; the weather was surprisingly very good as was the welcome at this Hotel.
We think the Hotel had just opened after the winter, it was welcoming and friendly and the food was very good, the Oysters were picked from the bay that morning and were very good as was the rest of the food. There seems to be a very good chef who makes the most of the local ingredients.
We hope to stay longer next time and look forward to seeing Ivan and Irena again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the ferry terminal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Colonsay
19.7 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
123 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
86 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
312 reviews
22.5 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonsay

Property: The Colonsay
Address: Scalasaig, PA61 7YP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Colonsay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Colonsay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonsay 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful small hotel on idyllic island with deep sofas, log fires, lively bar with Colonsay brewed ales and relaxed restaurant using locally sourced produce with emphasis on seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Colonsay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonsay Hotel Isle Of Colonsay
Colonsay Isle Of
Colonsay Hotel Isle Of
The Colonsay Isle Of Colonsay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing