We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot”
Review of The Colonsay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colonsay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent and enjoyable couple of days here last fall - the food was good and the public rooms and mine had great views. Irina and Ivan were good hosts, and mingling with the locals in the bar, warmed by the fire, was a great way to end the day. Public rooms with wifi were a bonus - and a good spot to lounge when the rain was driving sideways. In the sunshine the spot is a little oasis - but with sheep!

Room Tip: I was on the second floor - small window, but framed the church beautifully
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I last visited the Island of Colonsay as a child with my parents about 50 years ago. What I remembered most were the beautiful beaches and wonderful weather. Some places don’t change much. Only the weather. But the unspoilt natural beauty which the island has to offer remains hard to beat. A walker’s paradise.

The hotel has gone upmarket since my last visit and the food is excellent – all reasonably priced. Irina (the general manager) and her husband (Ivan) made us really welcome. Lovely cosy lounge with log fires.

The local community could not have been friendlier or more helpful too. My only complaint – the high bar prices for beer and wine by the glass.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a double room. Also, not all the rooms have a TV so, if this is something you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stopped of here one afternoon while waiting for the ferry and decided to have a bar meal for lunch. The menu was varied. I had the soup of the day with some rolls and it was excellent. Good friendly service too. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wooger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was a long time coming, we were finally at Colonsay, having heard about it for years from our parents, who hold the island dearly in their hearts.

The rain had just stopped as the ferry arrived at Colonsay, the hotel a mere 400 meters away from the ferry dock was a welcoming sight. Lush green, layers of flowering shrubs (Fuchsia!) hanging over stoned fences, the air was crisp, the white building soaked in freshness with the garden at the front, green hills at its back

We booked two rooms, Dun Eibhinn (a double room) and Port Lobh (a single). My first impression was these are the smallest rooms I have ever been in - the bath room in Dun Eibhinn has barely space to place the hand towels properly and the Port Lobh does not have a bath room connected to the bed room, rather a separate one down the hall way although it was exclusive for the guest of Port Lobh. The rooms were spotlessly clean otherwise, the beds were very comfortable.

There was no internet connection in the guest rooms.

Had we spent all our time in our rooms, there would be nothing particular to write about. The uniqueness of the place is that we quickly realized that we don’t actually want to be in our rooms at all when not sleeping. Down stairs or the public areas of the hotel is like a club house. There are guests and locals alike at the bar chatting each other up; there are sitting rooms with fire place or reading room with bookshelves full of books, and of course there is dining room, open for breakfast and for dinner. The food served was quite good.

We only spent two nights (not enough) at the hotel and on the island, the only full day we had there rained most of the day. For a few hours we were sitting by the fire chatting, looking up stuff on the web (yes, there is Wi-Fi in all public areas) and watching the rain through windows, it actually felt quite homey and cozy.

We did brave the rain and go hiking in the afternoon, and wished we had more time. The island is beautiful, blissfully green, fresh and peaceful. It is actually much bigger than I had imagined. I would give myself at least 2-3 full days of time had I got to go again. We left our car behind at Oban. If you don’t mind driving one-track roads and want to see more of the island in a short period of time, you may consider bringing the car over. Biking would be a great alternative, but if you’ve got time, hiking it is the best.

Waking up in the morning, you see the sheep in the front lawn of the hotel. A few meters down the road, horses are quietly feeding in the green between trees – everywhere you turn it is worth a picture, we really wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Aaah...the Colonsay Hotel...previous time I was here was after a hideous day sampling aquatic plants in Loch Fada, back in 1999, during which we gradually sank into the marsh in a howling gale and horizontal rain ( feeding each other wine gums to keep our spirits up). The hotel and its blazing fire (and whisky) got us back to the land of the living just in time to get on the ferry back to Oban. This time...well, wow! The hotel is totally changed since 1999, it's gorgeous. My wife and I stayed in Pig's Paradise (you'll have to find out why it's called that for yourselves...), a delightful wee suite. The bar was great (especially with the riveting Olympics on the telly non-stop), with beer from the Colonsay Brewery on hand pump (good stuff!). The restaurant food was excellent, and if you can't enjoy yourself on Colonsay, well you must be a pretty sad individual. All told a cracking couple of days in our Scottish island-hopping holiday. Go there, you'll love it!

Room Tip: Go for Pigs Paradise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Don't be deterred by the title. This is a fully capable hotel with excellent restaurant and cuisine and surprisingly (I shouldn't say this) well priced and comprehensive wine list. Remember where you are. The scenery was immense from the hotel. Walking just about the only thing to do (unless you're sad enough to go there to play golf), but this is not a small island; you could cycle all over easily. The locally brewed beer was very good.

Room Tip: Research rooms on hotel site. All different. Ferry view superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were not staying in the hotel but spent plenty of time in the bar, gardens and the restaurant and we all enjoyed every moment enormously. Sure, not all things were available at all times, we're on Colonsay and yes, things may not move at the pace one might be used to in other places but that's just part of the entire experience and ultimately, there aren't exactly a lot of other alternatives on the island if you are looking to retreat to a welcoming bar, a place to offload the children (Wednesday evening movie night!) or a venue for a great meal away from home.

Colonsay brewery beers on tap, award winning oysters, delicious scallops and a friendly team....can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herriotcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Colonsay
19.7 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
48 reviews
23.8 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
277 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
21.9 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
89 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonsay

Address: Scalasaig, PA61 7YP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Colonsay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Colonsay
Price Range: $116 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonsay 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful small hotel on idyllic island with deep sofas, log fires, lively bar with Colonsay brewed ales and relaxed restaurant using locally sourced produce with emphasis on seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Colonsay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonsay Hotel Isle Of Colonsay
Colonsay Isle Of
Colonsay Hotel Isle Of
The Colonsay Isle Of Colonsay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing