We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Colonsay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creag nan Ubhal B&B
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Creag nan Ubhal is up at the top of the hill, with a lovely sea view -- perfect for watching the sun set in the evening! As others have mentioned, the fact that it was 4 miles from the ferry terminal is something to be aware of, but for us that wasn't a problem at all, and we enjoyed the scenery along the way.
Our room was clean and comfortable, with a fabulously huge en-suite bathroom. The wi fi worked perfectly, even in the room, which is important to us even when we are on holiday. We enjoyed chatting with Roger and the other guests at breakfast each morning, and I appreciated that he had managed to source some gluten-free bread for me.
We will definitely stay here if and when we return to Colonsay -- and we hope to do so soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klsaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

What struck me most about Creag nan Ubhal is how professionally it's run. Roger is a very efficient yet friendly and humorous host (we cracked up laughing at dinner time when he appeared from the kitchen wearing a chef's uniform) . I can't think of one thing that could have been improved. The food was excellent (including the evening meal). The room had everything we needed, including a very useful information sheet about the house and the island. The sitting room had more, carefully selected local info.
The other guests were obviously carefully selected too as we really liked them all.
And the icing on the cake was the view. It's not often you get to watch the sun setting over the Atlantic from your bedroom.
The spot is isolated, but to me that was a bonus.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kormachameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Rodger Meiklejohn's B&B is situated 4 miles from the ferry terminal at Scalasaig but it is certainly worth the trip. The scenery near this B&B is spectacular and on a clear day, the views across to Mull and Tiree are magnificent. But that's on the outside. Inside, you'll find a warm and cozy house with comfortable rooms and great food. Rodger prepares a delicious dinner so you don't have to worry about getting into town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

At the end of a narrow track, this small B&B gives you personalized service! We spent a good amount of time chatting with the other guests, and really got to know them, sharing travel tips and personal stories. Roger offers an evening meal, which is well worth staying "home" for. I have a lot of special food needs which he worked around beautifully for both breakfast and dinner. We even joined the hosts and fellow guests for "Quiz Night" (trivia night) at the local pub.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house have an ocean view! Stunning....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHNan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed two nights with Rodger and found the experience very enjoyable. The cottage is very near the end of the road and our room had good views from both the bedroom and the bathroom. As one would expect it was very quiet.
The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom roomy with a good shower.

The breakfast was all one could wish for, a menu to choose from for those who wanted cooked items and a very good selection of fruit, fruit juices, cereals and yoghurts as well.

Rodger offered to cook us an evening meal which we took advantage of. At breakfast the offered us a choice of starter and main course for the evening (understandably we both had to select the same pairing). The food was again of a very high standard. We took our own wine which made the evening all the more enjoyable.

We sat down with Rodger in his lounge both evenings and enjoyed his company.

Room Tip: A great place to stay. The twin ensuite room was the one we stayed in and the views were very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fisbis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

An absolutely fantastic find! What an incredible place to stay, not only in terms of the actual location but also in terms of the service you receive.

The views are utterly stunning and change from minute to minute. The room I stayed in was fantastic and the facilities are excellent and immaculate.

The meals, breakfast and dinner were excellent.

Rodger and Kathryn are extremely welcoming and work tirelessly to make your stay perfect.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie50302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything we could have wanted. Beautiful, remote, friendly, French toast for breakfast. The accommodation was clean and comfortable . There were interesting books to read. Finding it was challenging but the instructions worked no problem. We couldn't recommend it more highly

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Creag nan Ubhal B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creag nan Ubhal B&B

Property: Creag nan Ubhal B&B
Address: Uragaig, PA61 7YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Colonsay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Colonsay
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Creag Nan Ubhal B&B Isle Of Colonsay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing