We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Escondida Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
128
18
17
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
18
17
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnerspa treatmentsget awayhot tubno cell phone servicehill countryother guestsentire weekendcomfortable roomspork tenderloinland linepeaceful experienceabsolutely love this placeeveryday lifebehind the scenesprior to our arrivalwonderful weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 191 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had LONG & eagerly awaited a chance to visit this property which is made to look so lush on TCR. Shame on you, Bob Phillips! This place needs a LOT of improvement. We treated my parents to the weekend stay as well. To begin with, the clerk Colleen totally disregarded our very specific conversation that my parents needed a downstairs room due to mobility issues. The attitude of both Colleen & the GM Dawn upon check-in & having only upstairs rooms was basically take-it-or-leave-it. The physical property itself is in need of repairs, upkeep & a good cleaning of the property in general & in the rooms. The "chef-prepared" (by Dawn) meals are also lacking, with no protein at breakfast either day. The evening meal was edible, but certainly nothing special. The complimentary wine is CHEAP boxed wine. The pool was littered with leaves, & there is no longer the advertised hot tub. The bright spot of our stay was an impromptu visit to the Spa & receiving 2 excellent massages from Vicky, who is very friendly & professional - the only staffer we dealt with who deserved such a description. If you absolutely must go here, try to get room #8 which has the best view on the property & a small (although dirty) balcony. Also, check your credit card charges very carefully because my parents were charged despite having a gift certificate & being assured by Colleen at reservation that she only needed the number to hold it, nothing would be charged. We had all eagerly awaited this as the first trip of many to come - but after a 2-night stay, it will most assuredly be the one & only time we stay at this overpriced, overadvertised, run of the mill motel.

Room Tip: Room #8 or nothing!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank hunnypapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a wonderful anniversary getaway at the Escondida Hacienda this weekend. Both Dawn and Pam made us feel very welcomed and provided everything needed. The rooms were large and very comfortable with a great view. Once you drive in the gates, leave the cell phones and computers behind and treat yourself to a spa service, relax by the pool, or enjoy a glass of wine by the creek while watching the hummingbirds. It was such a treat to enter the dining room with appetizers and wine waiting and then a great meal to follow, and amazing desserts! This will be the 1st of many visits to come!

Room Tip: Room 9 was great, but will look forward to staying in Room 8 with the balcony.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Shawna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the long await Escondida Resort as seen on Texas Country Reporter show. While Escondida did not live up to the luxury we expected from the show, it did have beautiful water flowing thru the property. The place is not half as big as expected from the show, plus the rooms are a litte run down compared to the pictures. The bed had feathers poking out of the mattresses. Ask for room 8 as it has a balcony. Our room was dark as it did not have windows. Would also suggest getting gate code before arrival as we were not able to enter resort and cellphone reception is not available there!!

The food at breakfast and dinner was terrific. The "GM" was kind of rough around the edges, but she tried. Spa treatments were good...Not the trip we expected, but the peace and quite make up for other issues. We also walked up to the cabin on top of the "mountain" behind the resort. It took an 20 min up and 20 min back, but we ran most of the way! View was fab!! Worth the extra workout. NO KIDS ALLOWED HERE

Room Tip: Ask for room 8 as it has a balcony! Get gate code before you go! Sit by the pool at night and ask to start a fire in pit!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasChic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were pampered from check-in to check-out. The rooms were roomy and comfortable, the spa treatments were luxurious and relaxing and the setting is Hill Country beautiful. The food was delicious...several of us said, "I'm not usually a dessert person, but...wow!" It has to be said, however, that what really made this an extraordinary experience was the warmth and friendliness of Dawn and Pam. Talk about above and beyond! We felt we made new friends and all of us want to come back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: You can ask for a fireplace, a view, a patio, etc. Every room is unique.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MamaFitz920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend birthday/valentine 4 day stay at Escondida Resort in Medina, Texas. We had heard about it because we watch Bob Phillips Texas Country Reporter TV show. We arrived on my birthday, February 14th. There were roses, candy, and champagne chilling in our room. The stay exceeded our expectations. The decor is Southwestern Fabulous. Our room was wonderful, comfortable, and with a fireplace. The food was excellent - each meal prepared with freshness and flair. Dawn and Pam are excellent hosts and the staff was very friendly. We were given information about the resort and area attractions. The grounds are so nice for relaxing or walking. Those who visited the Spa raved about it. I now know "The Sound of Silence." We give this resort top rating in all areas. Greta Rees

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews