We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional and couldn't care less”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Medina Highpoint Resort
Reviewed June 3, 2012

By family booked a cabin that needed to sleep 5 people for a big event weekend. When we got there there was an issue and they gave us a small cabin with one bed in it that you had to walk against the wall in to move around. They knew they messed up and said there was nothing they could do and that they were fully booked. We were one of the first to check in! When we were trying to understand what had exactly happened the lady at the window through up her hands and said to the person also in the office "you deal with this" and walked away. They were very unprofessional, rude and their final word on it was "we can give you back your deposit and you can leave." That was not exactly has there was an event happening there that one of us had to attend. In the end, two of us had to return home because there was no where to stay and miss the whole weekend. I guess that is what you get for making your reservation 3 months in advance. Please stay elsewhere, all these people care about is money.

Room Tip: Call several times to make sure you get the right cabin because they won't make sure for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank liquidskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
797YaleS, Owner at Medina Highpoint Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Liquidskiy,
I have been looking at some of the older postings such as yours and wanted to let you know that we have since purchased the property and installed a new manager. Additionally, we have made many improvements such as a new Wifi system, 11 new "View" Cabins and a bed overhaul including better mattresses and reconfiguring the bed layout. We hope we will get another opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Regards,
Yale Spina
COO, RVC Outdoor Destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 89 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

The price of $125 per night for the Bunk House was outrageous. There was no maid service, no amenities like soap, or shampoo. The sheet on my bed were these black satin things that looked like they had not been washed. The AC would barely keep the room cool.

There was no ice machine and they charged $3.00 for a 10lbs bag. Normally at the grocery store it is $1.50.

All in all I will not stay here ever again. Stay in Kerrville it is cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doughartydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
797YaleS, Owner at Medina Highpoint Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Doug,
I have been reviewing some of the older postings such as yours to let you know that we have since purchased the property and installed a new manager. Additionally, we have been making improvements including a new Wifi system, the new "View" cabins and a general overhaul of our bed product. I hope we will get another opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Regards,
Yale Spina
COO, RVC Outdoor Destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We are not bikers, and I am reviewing on my experience as a non-biker. So, it is LOUD. The bikes rumble on past 10 pm ( maybe just coming in from a long days drive) and rumble on in the morning (getting ready to leave) before 9 am. It really shatters the calm quiet sanctity of peace if you are not used to a roaring, grumbling engine.

Minus the noise it was a nice little cabin, but I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: All cabins are CLOSE together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esstrojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
797YaleS, Owner at Medina Highpoint Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Jenny,
Thanks for providing feedback. I have been reviewing some of the older postings such as yours to let you know that we have since purchased the property and installed a new manager. I want to also thank-you for being fair, as this is America, we can not discriminate against any mode of travel when booking our resort. Since our purchase, we have been making improvements including a new Wifi system, 11 new "View" cabins and a general overhaul of our beds and layout. I hope you might consider stopping by when you are in the area to see what we have done with the place, as we are an outdoor destination company and would like to see what you think upon your next visit to the area.
Regards,
Yale Spina
COO, RVC Outdoor Destinations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is an awesome place to stay if you are visiting this beautiful area. All the cabins have absolutely amazing views of the hills. The cabins were very clean and just adorable. They have their own kitchenette and great patios. Every staff person we came in contact with was SO nice and went out of their way to be helpful from the owner himself to even the cook. The mercantile store that is there on site (where the office is). Had an all you can eat Fish fry when we got there on Friday evening and a great patio area that over looks the views for having dinner or enjoying beverages. Both Saturday and Sunday mornings they had an all you can eat breakfast bufet for $8 and that includes your drink. And the food was GREAT! This place is very biker friendly. Very close the the famous Three Sisters ride. We LOVED every minute of our stay and the ride. They even had little towels in the cabins to wipe off your bikes. We are going back soon and taking our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilesalot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Buddies and I headed to 3 sisters for a ride. Found this place to stay. Clean, good cabins, general store, not far from bandera for food. Couldnt ask for more.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hohutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My wife & I arrived @ the ranch May 1 & left May 7. Although we got there late, all our paperwork & cabin key were in the after-hours box. We rented a Kamp Kabin with a queen bed, a very comfortable bed I might add. The staff was wonderful & service great. We never had to ask for anything that we needed. The room was very clean and comfortable. The view from our Kabin was great, especially @ sunrise & sunset. The food was top-notch @ the grill. This was my wife's first trip on the bike to this part of Texas. The ranch location is right in the middle of some of the best motorcycle roads in the state. The only drawback was that the grill is closed the first part of the week. Thanks to all the staff, especially Kelly & "Pete". Scott & Thresa Smith - Lufkin, Texas

Room Tip: Great view @ the Kabins across from store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t_top_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have wanted to stay here for quite some time and finally got the chance. It was absolutely perfect for what we needed. Riding motorcycles from Houston to Medina is a bit of a trip, but ending at Koyote Ranch was well worth the ride. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the cabin we stayed in was clean beyond all expectations, and so cute. We were on the bottom side of the resort area, with a lake right outside our cabin. With deer feeders located throughout the propery, we saw about 3 dozen deer while sitting on our front porch. The fish fry on Friday night was very good, and the other meals we had there were equally as good. The band on Saturday night was great. They are priced well for the area and have everything you need on location, even gas. The only thing they were very high on was ice. The cabin had a small refrigerator but no ice. A bag of ice will cost you $10.00, but there is nowhere to put it. We filled up a styrofoam cup and called it a day. We went there to ride the Three Twisted Sisters, or the 100 mile loop. Great location to start and finish the ride, which my the way is like a 100 mile amusement ride! The fun just never stopped. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devilduckdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Medina Highpoint Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Highpoint Resort

Address: 23233 State Highway 16 N, Medina, TX 78055-3813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Medina
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Medina
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Koyote Ranch Hotel Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing