We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
51
29
12
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
29
12
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish civil war simple food meditation history valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 100 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

We loved this Monastery, the nature and the staff. A group of teachers from Iceland had a wonderful week full of relaxation and meditation. The staff was the best, Pablo speaks english and was very helpful with everything we needed and Aní and the staff in the kitchen were amazing. The energy in this place isn't like anything else, with breathtaking surroundings.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aðalheiður J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Mr/s,
Thank you to recommend our building; we have an exclusive location with spectacular views. It is fantastic hear your comments, be sure we will communicate to our team. We work every day to improve the quality service offered.
Kind regards,
Hospedería Santa Cruz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Great place to go, impressive surroundings at the hospitality is great. Highly recommended if you go by your own or with friends and family. The food is really good and the service very gentle.

Fabuloso lugar para pasar un día en familia visitar la basílica, dar un paseo por el monte Abantos y comer en la hospedería un menú casero barato y adaptado a todas las edades. Un servicio genial.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank tg1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018
Google Translation

Apreciado/a,
Muchas gracias por compartir una valoración tan positiva sobre su estancia en nuestras instalaciones. Es un motivo de satisfacción para nosotros saber que disfruta de su visita a la Basílica y el menú casero de nuestro restaurante fuera de su total agrado.
Estaremos encantados de volver a acogerles en una próxima visita a nuestras instalaciones.

Atentamente,
Hospedería de Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

Very reasonable accommodation in a tranquil and gorgeous setting. Decent-sized rooms, most with great views. Friendly and helpful staff. Note that your booking at the Hospederia saves you the 9 Euro entrance to the Valle de los Caidos park. The Hospederia has free Wifi in the reception area, along with several large comfortable sofas. Breakfast is basic, although the coffee is decent. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2017
1  Thank Nordick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Gerente at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Nordick12,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your stay.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our peaceful setting and that you don’t have any negative comments of your stay in our establishment.
Many thanks and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Hospedería Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

This is a Benedictine monastery which runs an accommodation business! It is in the Spanish Civil War memorial complex of Valle de los Caidos (Valley of the Fallen). So calm, and set in stunning countryside and right by the basilica and the giant stone cross. It is an enormous symmetrical building built in traditional style. Rooms are of monastic simplicity but comfortable enough. Meals are served in a monastic refectory, with long tables or for individuals in delightful alcoves. Food.. well, simple home cooking with no menu choice (on my evening it was courgette soup, roast chicken and baked apple -- delicious) with wine aplenty. Set me back Euros 10!! An experience in terms of the particular history of the monument, the style of the establishment. and the stunning location. Worth reading a bit about the Spanish Civil War before you go -- in the basilica you will see the simple tomb of General Franco.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guide810656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Gerente at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear CMO'H,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your stay.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location. We stay in a historical building surrounded by a wonderful landscape that makes our establishment ideal for people who want to spend a day in peace and relax or enjoy the nature.
Many thanks and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards.
Hospedería de Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Wonderful and tasty meal .l highly recommend the hospederia restaurant and their professional and good service thanks a lot. I'll certainly come back with family and friends to enjoy this unique setting

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mariajosejosa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Gerente at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Dear Maria Jose,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your stay.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant. We stay in a historical building surrounded by a wonderful landscape that makes our establishment ideal for people who want to spend a day in peace and relax or enjoy the nature.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon with family and friends.

Kind regards.
La Hospedería de Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews