We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
51
29
12
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
29
12
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish civil war simple food meditation history valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 100 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2017

This is a Benedictine monastery which runs an accommodation business! It is in the Spanish Civil War memorial complex of Valle de los Caidos (Valley of the Fallen). So calm, and set in stunning countryside and right by the basilica and the giant stone cross. It is an enormous symmetrical building built in traditional style. Rooms are of monastic simplicity but comfortable enough. Meals are served in a monastic refectory, with long tables or for individuals in delightful alcoves. Food.. well, simple home cooking with no menu choice (on my evening it was courgette soup, roast chicken and baked apple -- delicious) with wine aplenty. Set me back Euros 10!! An experience in terms of the particular history of the monument, the style of the establishment. and the stunning location. Worth reading a bit about the Spanish Civil War before you go -- in the basilica you will see the simple tomb of General Franco.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guide810656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Gerente at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear CMO'H,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your stay.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location. We stay in a historical building surrounded by a wonderful landscape that makes our establishment ideal for people who want to spend a day in peace and relax or enjoy the nature.
Many thanks and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards.
Hospedería de Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Wonderful and tasty meal .l highly recommend the hospederia restaurant and their professional and good service thanks a lot. I'll certainly come back with family and friends to enjoy this unique setting

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mariajosejosa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Gerente at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Dear Maria Jose,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your stay.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant. We stay in a historical building surrounded by a wonderful landscape that makes our establishment ideal for people who want to spend a day in peace and relax or enjoy the nature.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon with family and friends.

Kind regards.
La Hospedería de Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Having recently read about the history of the Valle de los Caidos (make sure you do this before your visit), I wanted to come here. We were driving down from Bilbao to Alicante so decided to spend a night here. If you are looking for a standard hotel in a location with many facilities, you should probably go elsewhere. This is a much more simple place, which feels a little like a religious retreat. It is sparsely furnished but the location is spectacular. By day, you drive through a wonderful wooded area as far as the eye can see. There is an admission charge to the Valle de los Caidos, but if you show evidence of your booking you enter for free (some people have said you need to have booked an evening meal for free entry, but all we showed was the room booking). We arrived in the early evening and when the last of the day visitors had left, the place was deserted. At night, it is pitch black and silent - you really do feel you are in the middle of nowhere. We booked an evening meal at the Hospederia - this was a set meal of simple food, again as you might expect at a religious retreat. We visited the 'basilica' the following morning while it was still quiet. It really is an amazing construction, though as I have said, do read up on its history before you go. It is a pity you cannot access the base of the cross any more, maybe this will be possible again sometime in the future. All in all, if you wish to visit this place and immerse yourself in it, this is definitely the place to stay for a night or two.

Room tip: Rooms with a view of the cross do not appear to be served by the lift.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank adamski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Gerente at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Dear Adam,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your stay.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our quiet and nice location and also our evening meal in our restaurant.
As you say, we stay in a historical building surrounded by a wonderful landscape that makes our establishment ideal for people who want to spend a day in peace and relax or enjoy the nature.
Many thanks and we hope to see you again. Kind regards.
La Hospedería de Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Culture, history, meditation and nature. Never fails... hope to go back again. Simple life-style. Ideal for a day visit or just a week to relax and find your moments of meeting your inner-self. If you want to enjpy a guide service there it is better to call in advance.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Gerente at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear PSR1703,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your stay with us.

We stay in a historical building surrounded by a wonderful landscape that makes our establishment ideal for people who want to spend a day in peace and relax, enjoy the nature, etc.

Kind regards
La Hospedería de Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

We stayed at Hospederia de la Santa Cruz del Valle de los Caidos for one night. Beautiful quiet location. Nice clean rooms with comfortable beds and large bathrooms. Obviously no TV, wifi or lifts but free parking nearby. We had an evening meal of three courses, wine and coffee for 10 euros each. The only drawback was that most of the staff spoke no English and we struggled with our limited Spanish. Certainly an experience.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospederiasantacruz, Gerente at Hospederia Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear Edwin,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your stay.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our evening meal in our restaurant and also our quiet and nice location.

There is a TV in a living-room and a lift near the dining room. Furthermore, we are working to improve our service offered in English.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

La Hospedería de Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews