We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply 5 Star”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of San Lorenzo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
San Lorenzo de El Escorial

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

mr_Cliff...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply 5 Star”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Visited El Escorial for the climbing, and got a lot more than I was expecting.

We stayed in November and it was still incredibly warm, shorts, T's, and Flip Flops were appropriate attire! Escorial is stunning the Monastery with it's gardens are well worth a visit, the town has great restaurants, and bars.

The Apartment was more than we could have asked for, all the mod cons needed for a home from home trip abroad. The place was clean and tidy, fully equipment kitchen, which only inspired my friend/chef to do his thing.

Spacious living room, with sofas that are a little to comfortable for what was meant to be an active holiday. Beds where comfortable and warm, with blackout shutters for the full blackout experience.

If you are driving: the one way streets can be a little interesting to navigate. Figuring out which way the one way system goes and trying not to stall at the junctions on the step roads proved a failure on a couple of occasions. That is the only criticism I can find for the place, and really that just my bad driving. so 5 Stars.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning Balcony Views
Liked least: hiking back up the hill after one too many.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavinblax
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Escorial”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I'm British and prior to visiting here thought it would be the Windsor of Spain. Royalty wise it is, and proximity to the Capital. The analogy breaks down though Escorial is more homely and relaxed whilst it has a tourist element it doesn't dominate unlike Windsor.

The flat is in my estimation in quite a classy area tree filled area in walking distance of the monastery. I was going to say easy walking, but the slope the whole town is on means that in truth there is no easy walking anywhere in Escorial. That adds to the character of the place.

The flat is on the top floor of the block so more climbing it has a view which is good, but if it was a storey higher would be spectacular. Flat is continental in sense of large lounge diner small kitchen. My party was five person family and I would say a good size flat overall.

I went in July Very hot! No AC so the full Spanish experience. Glad I'd booked here rather than anywhere lower such as Madrid.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrabbit...
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment for children and great location”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is very nice and comfortable and particularly nice for young children because there are many toys and dvds and tv channels and even a stroller. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, the bathroom small but functional, laundry machine worked well, great views, excellent location, owner is very helpful and communicative and friendly. The only complaints were that there were some initial issues with the internet, which is particularly important to me as I work online and need a fast and reliable connection, but we eventually figured it out, and its up a hill and up 3 flights of stairs, which isn't bad except when arriving and bringing a family plus their bags up the stairs or coming home from a grocery story, but its otherwise great!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and size and furnishings and view and great for children (toys/tv)
Liked least: internet connection and bathroom
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martha b
1 review
“well equiped apartment”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

we had a very pleasant stay of nine days in this apartment. It is well equiped and has a cosy atmosphere. It is ideal for visiting old towns like Avila and Segovia, and hiking in the nearby mountains. We had a pleasant e-mail contact with the owner who is kind and helpful.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkinnyVag...
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful stay in a country setting”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Spent couple days in this apartment during our Madrid visit in Dec, and it was very comfortable for our family. Madrid is about an hour drive away, and we did that every day. We would have enjoyed more had it not been cold and rainy, but we still managed to walk around town which was decorated with Christmas lights. Did have to drive around a bit to find the spot the first time. Unit has everything you could possibly need, so could work out for longer stays as well. Wifi is extra, but available.

Elizabet is very friendly and helped us out with directions and tips. Thank you so much for a comfortable and quiet place to stay so close to Madrid.

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 9, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Comfort
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
La Coruna, Spain
Reviewed January 12, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United States

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.