We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, comfortable and a great combination of old and new”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Alcala de Henares
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Alcala De Henares
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable and a great combination of old and new”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I really like this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, modern and quiet. The bathroom sofisticated and practical. Location is great, just metres away from the city centre in the heart of the old town. The restaurant is good, however I was expecting more given the high scores given and how good the rest of the hotel is. I didn't try the spa. I will love to be back to the hotel, I will skip the restaurant and try something else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MercPalomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    236
    46
    12
    10
See reviews for
162
518
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with ultra modern and spacious rooms. Good location close to the historic center of the city. Food just okay though you can find alternative dining options in the center..keeping in mind Spanish dining hours are much later than most places.

The shopping district is dead in the early afternoon with limited dining options. Was still able to find decent dining by walking into a pub/restaurant that looked closed...opened into a dining area with an extensive menu. If worst comes to worst there's always the mcdonalds by the town square

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Snowflakesnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen's Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed he while visiting our son who is studying at University here. We just had a room only deal. The hotel as it's website describes is a modern refurbishment of an historic building on the edge of the old part of the town. The standard room we had was modern, clean and comfortable. Stylishly designed it was a of a quality I would expect in a much more expensive hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel as there were plenty of options in the town. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the bus stop for bus 824 that goes to the airport (40 mins and from memory less than €10 single for 2) You are also about 15 mins walk to the train station & a train about 40 mins into Madrid. There is also an attractive internal courtyard that looked pleasant to sit out in

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This Parador is unique as it feels modern and was quite a architectural feat to achieve what they have. Very comfortable rooms with sleek designs and modern trendy fittings.

One night was sufficient and enjoyable and the hotel is perfectly located to explore the historical centre of town.

The restaurant was slightly disappointing. It wasn't bad but not of the standard you would expect in such a place. The dishes were slightly amateurish which was a letdown however the setting was nice and the lady managing dinner service was professional.

The Spa was excellent although pricey at 30 euro but worth the treat. A very comfortable, relaxing and well maintained spa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This Parador is very nicely renovated.
The room is quite big and not noisy. The material used and the design are unfortunately not always the best and some part of the room are deteriorating quite fast.
The breakfast was very well presented and really good!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I highly recommend staying here if you like ultra modern decor and absolute quiet. The service was also very good and many of the staff speak excellent English.

A great job has been done to mix the old and the new, and no doubt without the development, the old building would now be crumbling into dust like some of the similar buildings near by. The lobby is very snazzy and the rooms are also ultra modern with very high quality fit outs. The rooms are huge with a separate dressing room and toilet. If you are travelling with friends, be aware that the shower and vanity area is not closed off - but so long as you take it in shifts, privacy/modesty can be maintained.

This is possibly the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in, which was very welcome with 24+ hours of flying time back to Oz starting the next day.

The breakfast buffet was AWESOME and just what I needed as I started to really miss the variety of the brekkie/brunch scene back home. They served up everything you could possibly want and eggs are cooked to order. They also had a large dedicated range of gluten free options (larger than I've ever seen) - coeliacs are certainly well-catered for.

We had dinner in the restaurant and while it wasn't cheap, it was very good and the dining room is beautiful.

The spa was unlike any other I've ever been to, but hard to describe! It is housed in what looks like it used to be the chapel and they really make the most of it with beautiful vaulted ceilings combined with a huge light well. I recommend a visit, if only to experience all the therapeutic showers in their spiral enclosures. I only wish the hot water would come through sooner, some of the showers required a couple of cycles to get up to temperature (and I'm not talking about the cold Scottish shower!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kruishoutem
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great building, based on an old convent but with a modern extension. The hotel is situated close to the cosy centre of university and UN heritage town Alcala de Henares. Friendly service, if not always super efficient - from that point of view similar to many paradors in Spain. Rooms are spacious and modern, and despite being close to the centre, the hotel has a very peaceful atmosphere. Nice place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart_E540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alcala De Henares hotels
0.8 mi away
Rafaelhoteles Forum Alcala
Rafaelhoteles Forum Alcala
#2 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zouk Motel
Zouk Motel
#3 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
AC Hotel Alcala de Henares
AC Hotel Alcala de Henares
#5 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Bedel
Hotel El Bedel
#9 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Madrid Alcala de Henares la Garena
Ibis Madrid Alcala de Henares la...
#4 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Madrid Alcala de Henares
Ibis Budget Madrid Alcala de Hen...
#6 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Alcala de Henares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Alcala de Henares

Property: Parador de Alcala de Henares
Address: Calle Colegios 8, 28801 Alcala De Henares, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Alcala De Henares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Alcala De Henares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Alcala de Henares 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the birthplace of Cervantes, where every nook and cranny oozes art and culture, stands the Parador de Alcala, a 17th-century monastery school and student lodgings located in the former San Jeronimo College. However, do not let so much history overwhelm you, because the hotel offers the perfect combination of tradition and avant-garde. The interior decor is of a modern design: tasteful, minimalist and extremely elegant. The services are without par: in addition to the standard offerings at Paradores, there is a spa, business center, convention centers and twelve conference rooms. 26 Kilometers from Madrid, 20 kilometers from Barajas International Airport and the trade fair facilities at IFEMA, and just 2 kilometers from the train station, the Parador's location in this World Heritage City is one of its main advantages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parador de Alcala de Henares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing