We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Alcala de Henares
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Alcala De Henares
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place and perfect hotel”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel is very pleasant with perfect room including technical innovations. Meal in the restaurant had a good variety with high quality service. Alcala de Henares is lovely, small city with a Spanish identity, but known to the modern times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulusAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    252
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
173
570
20
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at hotel for work related event - we had the whole hotel- the rooms are very modern with climate control lighting, spacious rooms and big bathroom with seperate tub and power shower. THe hotel is a mix of old buidling and new but is done tastefully and has a modern feel. Breakfast buffet was plentyful with large variety of meats, fuits, breads, yogarts and juices. My only complaint was the free wi-fi sometimes would just turn off or disappear but apart from that it was nice hotel very close to the main sqaure, bars and resturants. Would definately stay again but if you are looking for a place close to Madrid centre then this hotel is to far out. It is about 30 min from the Airport and cab costs approx 35-40 Euros.

There is a spa but didnt have time to try it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asim099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a family room. I don't think the second part of the room had been used for a while. It smelled musty the entire stay (about 4 nights). Hotel breakfast was outstanding, among the best we had in spain. We were a bit surprised and dissapointed that the hotel pool was not open in early June. It was very hot.

Would not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelReview_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Yes, the room and the Parador is very modern, very cool, very hip BUT we found it to be a nice change of pace from most of the rest of Spain. The people at the front desk could not have been nicer or more helpful. The bar area was quiet and the bartender was very attentive. We had dinner here too and thought the food was A+ and the waitstaff outstanding. The Parador and the restaurant were reasonably priced. If you're looking for old this is not the Parador, but if you are looking for modern luxury, a very cool town a few blocks away and a great staff this is the place. VERY clean, large rooms too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan57rank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very modern hotel created around an old building. The designers have managed to create an hotel which totally lacks character. Yes, it's very modern and the rooms were comfortable but so dark and no sense of the history of your surroundings. I was very disappointed. The lighting systems in the bedroom are extremely complicated and I never did quite get to grips with the various touch pads, meaning a trip to the loo in the night ended up with the room floodlit! The bar area is dark and cold and I found most of the staff offhand. Very overpriced for what you get and not up to the expectation of their website.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybermum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Modern rooms with high-tech lighting system, very modern bathroom and shower facilities. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast excellent buffet. Hotel is on a quite street but hardly any distance from the centre of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spepmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Outstanding architectural solution - ancient and contemporary elements integrated together. Relaxing environment, room comfort and design are enjoyable, very nice spa, good restaurant so we did not want to go out to get back to the outer world.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia_Baluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala De Henares
0.8 mi away
Rafaelhoteles Forum Alcala
Rafaelhoteles Forum Alcala
#2 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
661 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zouk Motel
Zouk Motel
#3 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
AC Hotel Alcala de Henares
AC Hotel Alcala de Henares
#5 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Bedel
Hotel El Bedel
#9 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
99 reviews
2.1 mi away
Isla de La Garena Hotel
Isla de La Garena Hotel
#8 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
171 reviews
23.9 mi away
Parador de Chinchon
Parador de Chinchon
#1 of 2 in Chinchon
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Alcala de Henares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Alcala de Henares

Property: Parador de Alcala de Henares
Address: Calle Colegios 8, 28801 Alcala De Henares, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Alcala De Henares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Alcala De Henares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Alcala de Henares 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the birthplace of Cervantes, where every nook and cranny oozes art and culture, stands the Parador de Alcala, a 17th-century monastery school and student lodgings located in the former San Jeronimo College. However, do not let so much history overwhelm you, because the hotel offers the perfect combination of tradition and avant-garde. The interior decor is of a modern design: tasteful, minimalist and extremely elegant. The services are without par: in addition to the standard offerings at Paradores, there is a spa, business center, convention centers and twelve conference rooms. 26 Kilometers from Madrid, 20 kilometers from Barajas International Airport and the trade fair facilities at IFEMA, and just 2 kilometers from the train station, the Parador's location in this World Heritage City is one of its main advantages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Alcala de Henares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing