We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for experiencing Alcala de Henares”

Hostal Miguel de Cervantes
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Miguel de Cervantes
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location for experiencing Alcala de Henares”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had two rooms for 4 nights in March 2014 to visit my niece who is studying at the University. Great family owned hostal in a convenient part of town . Communication prior to our visit was good - a little slow at times due to our english language barrier, but Miriam will reply as soon as she is available. Her father Jesus was also extremely nice and helpful - despite the language barriers! Rooms are clean with private bathrooms. Internet was good in our rooms as well as outside and in dining area. Could get a little noisy on the streets and throughout the hostal, so may have problems if you are a light sleeper.
The location is great - just steps away from Calle Mayor with lots of shopping and restaurants. About a 10 minute walk from the train station. We took the shuttle transport to/from the airport (40 euros) for the sheer convenience since there were 4 of us plus luggage. Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to anyone who plans to visit Alcala d Henares.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the street for the best view. Rooms on the inside are quieter, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
15
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
torrevieja
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

A very centrally situated hostal to see the sights of Alcala de Henares, a place well worth a visit to see the architectural splendour of this interesting place, just round the corner from Cervantes birth place. The hostal had a nice homely feel to it and the staff were friendly and atentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
668 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at the Hostal Miguel de Cervantes for two nights. The Hostal offers many positive features. It is centrally located and well managed. It was easy to walk to the historical sites in Alcala de Henares as well as to the central buildings of the University of Alcala (my purpose on this visit). The staff are very friendly and the breakfast service is quick and efficient.

For a tourist visit, particularly for a one night visit to Alcala, I think the Hostal Miguel de Cervantes would make a excellent choice. For a business trip, however, the Hostal left some things to be desired. The room was very basic. The bed occupied most of the room with an ottoman in front of a desk as the only other furniture. There was a TV. As far as I could tell, it only received four stations. The bathroom was modest and the shower only slightly larger than an adult body. Turning around in the shower was not possible. There was no alarm clock nor was there an American style plug. The wifi worked fine. My room was on the second floor, but I could easily hear noise being made on the ground floor. I could also hear my neighbor powering down his/her computer.

In sum, this property is very basic. Depending on the purpose of your trip and your expectations for creature comforts, it may or may not be sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, UK
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Friendly helpful staff (Jesus on reception!)....comfortable dining room and bedrooms. Ideal for seeing centre of town.....look up and see storks flying all round the rooftops, estupendo :)

Delightful historic city....Cervantes museum charming....free & 2 mins on foot from hostel

Room Tip: Try to look out front - to towards the convent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmenianJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night and really enjoyed it. The rooms are not huge, but are neat and very well kept. The location of the hostal is excellent, less than a minute from the Cerevantes birthplace museum. For what you are paying for, this place really is right up there with the best. When I get to return to Alcala for a visit I will definitely be booking a room here!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2008

A friend, who is studying in Alcala, recommended Hostal Cervantes as the best place to stay in the city centre. I stayed there for two nights and it is very nice indeed, located in an old building just around the corner from the Cervantes museum.

My room was large and clean, with a big bed, bathroom and all the usual amenities. It was absolutely quiet as well, so I had a good night's sleep.

There is a fine bar on the ground floor where you can have breakfast (not included), and the restaurant looks very well (did not have time to eat there though). The owner is helpful and speaks some English.

Alcala is well connected to Madrid by train and bus, so this might even be an option if you don't find accomodation in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiWuWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alcala De Henares hotels
0.3 mi away
Parador de Alcala de Henares
Parador de Alcala de Henares
#1 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Bedel
Hotel El Bedel
#9 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rafaelhoteles Forum Alcala
Rafaelhoteles Forum Alcala
#2 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Madrid Alcala de Henares la Garena
Ibis Madrid Alcala de Henares la...
#4 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
294 reviews
1.4 mi away
AC Hotel Alcala de Henares
AC Hotel Alcala de Henares
#5 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cisneros
Hotel Cisneros
#14 of 18 in Alcala De Henares
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Miguel de Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Miguel de Cervantes

Property: Hostal Miguel de Cervantes
Address: Calle Imagen 12, 28801 Alcala De Henares, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Alcala De Henares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alcala De Henares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Miguel de Cervantes 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Miguel de Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing