We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi With A Modern Attitude”

99 Sushi Bar - Hermosilla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sushi With A Modern Attitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We visited the outlet of this small chain that's located at Pozano, 99 - convenient to the Nuevos Ministerios transportation complex. As Spain is second only to Japan in fish consumption (and variety) it has a number of good sushi bars/Japanese and Japanese style restaurants, and the 99 Group is in their upper ranks. Their Maki sampler (2 pieces each of four different Maki rolls) is very well presented and an interesting, and attractive, variation on this traditional fare. The shrimp and vegetable tempura was perfectly done, as was the toro sushi. There is a good wine list, reasonably priced. We arrived around 11 pm on a quiet weeknight, and found the restaurant about half full. The service was prompt, but not pretentious. The decor is modern, but doesn't get in the way of the dining experience.
A good choice if you're in the area (it's not in the more tourist-populated parts of Madrid).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    82
    20
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top japanese in madrid but pretencious ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant before and i knew that the sushi is great here , like all the other japanese dishes. The decoration is minimal but the staff are not too friendly, in fact they seem too fond of themselves and at most i can say the service is correct , would not hurt to smile a bit more. The prices are also sky high but the food still remains a good enough reason to come to this place .


  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bornemisza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
278 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“99 Sushi Bar calle Ponzano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

For two we ate the following:

1 Temaki de Toro Picante very subtle and not spicy as the title suggested. Excellent
1 Gunkan of Sea Urchin very good, though sea urchin does have a strange taste
2 Butterfish Nigiri would have preferred if served cooler than room temperature
2 Scallop Nigiri same comment as Butterfish
1 Seaweed with sesame excellently seasoned and interesting to the last delicate mouthful!
3 Salmon eggs and avocado cones we had one each and it was so good that I reordered
2 Flying fish egg Gunkan really scrunchy eggs and when eaten with accompaniment an . explosion of taste in the mouth.

We drank a bottle of rosé cava and a bottle of water and total bill was 112€ which I thought was money well spent.

The decoration is minimalist in tones of grey and black. Tables are fairly close together but everyone behaved themselves and ate fairly quietly: quite an exploit for Spain.
Service was friendly and generally efficient, although a bit quircky to start with. We were initially the only customers. When asked if we wanted an aperitive I said no, but I'd like to see the wine list straight away. The staff chatted among themselves and the wine list took well over five minutes to travel as many meters. The cava was duly opened and poured and we had started to drink it when two complimentary gin tonics turned up. Very kind, but we'd have preferred the GT's before opening and starting the wine!
The piped music was a little strange at first: modern crooner versions of songs that should have been left well alone (a remake of a Beatles hit in crooner style, I think it was" Daytripper", was particularly unfortunate).
The restaurant filled up very discreetly and we had a most enjoyable evening, especially because the "music" had been turned down to a more acceptable volume (it was never blaring but nonetheless a little intrusive at the start). Customers seemed to be very happy with their choice of restaurant and food, leading to a nice "warm" ambiance.
We didn't bother with a dessert as what we had eaten was quite enough...and we are enthusiastic eaters!
The restaurant has an extensive wine list with prices for most pockets.
We live in Madrid and will certainly return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Third visit...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I visited Sushi 99 twice before (2009 & 2010) a great Japanese restaurant with an excellent Sushi Man, Chef Luiz.
Third time there, I was informed that Luiz left Sushi 99.
Still a good restaurant but not as good as used to be.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAC-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 99 Sushi Bar - Hermosilla also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to 99 Sushi Bar - Hermosilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing