We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than its 3 stars”
Review of Retiro del Maestre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Retiro del Maestre
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Better than its 3 stars”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in a superior room which was really huge: with a sofa and 2 armchairs so nice to relax in.Our room even had bathrobes (unusual for a 3 star).
The hotel is literally a couple of minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor, main sights, bars and restaurants and has its own garage right underneath the hotel and it's free.
Reception staff were good and spoke reasonable English; the waitress at breakfast spoke no English but, since breakfast was mostly a buffet, that wasn't a problem.
Our sat nav didn't have the street: if you are driving and have the same problem, the street turns into the C/ Gran Maestre which was on our sat nav!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katejcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    54
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
92
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really enjoyed ourselves in this comfortable, non chain, friendly, excellent hotel. When four out of ten hotels fail to please it was refreshing to stay here where everything is so good, including the breakfast and the high speed wi fi which works well.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasxmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Previous reviewer says much to agree with (pays to learn a little Spanish). Parking below hotel is a bonus. Room was comfortable and restful, clean and not at all Holiday-innish - tasteful. Breakfast was more than we had expected in terms of both quality and quantity.

Almagro is an astonishing little town, not least because it rests in an area where all that was no longer is - knock-downs and rebuilds. "Old Spain" is not easy to find in this neck of the woods. But, then, would you like to live in one of those old peasant dwellings with little light and no air?

There are delightful buildings here in town, interesting and browse-able museums, colonnaded Plaza with reasonable little eateries, families doing their evening strolls, people spontaneously saying "hola" (as is true in almost all of Spain - nice to see that many Northern Europeans, Americans and Australians follow suit - but not all).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkhousepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
306 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night. Although by no means luxurious, it is clean and our room was comfortable (although a little small), with all the incidentals you might expect from a 3-star hotel. The hotel has its own underground parking garage, which is a real plus. There is a nice upper level patio area with good views of the town, as well as a courtyard which makes a good place to have a drink from the small bar. The continental breakfast was OK, and they will fix eggs if requested. The staff were friendly, but only the desk clerk was English-proficient. We were about the only guests there on this Friday night, as I guess that Almagro is not considered much of a weekend tourist destination. But we found the town to be delightful, with much history, a Shakesperean theater, and a lovely main plaza just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We spent 30 days in Spain and Portugal (including many of the major cities), and had one of the best meals of the trip in Almagro. I believe the name of the restaurant was Arbrasos or something like that---traditional Castillian cooking and you get a lot of food for the money).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almagro
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Rector
La Casa del Rector
#1 of 7 in Almagro
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Almagro
Parador de Almagro
#2 of 7 in Almagro
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria de Almagro Valdeolivo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa Grande Almagro
0.4 mi away
La Posada de los Comediantes
13.8 mi away
Hotel Dona Manuela
Hotel Dona Manuela
#1 of 4 in Daimiel
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retiro del Maestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retiro del Maestre

Property: Retiro del Maestre
Address: Calle San Bartolome 5, 13270 Almagro, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Almagro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Retiro del Maestre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retiro del Maestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retiro Del Maestre Almagro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing