We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
375
140
27
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
140
27
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 549 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because it was recommended and booked for me through a bird guide. Vicente told me that they spoke English and that he thought we would be comfortable there. The next time we stay in Almagro for a birding expedition, we will stay in this hotel again!! The king bed in the Designer room was amazing!! When you lay down the bed absorbs all your movement and you are asleep in moments. My wife said that I didn't snore while asleep in that bed. The shower was a double rain pan-head. Whaaat??? I really felt pampered! I am from Las Vegas and have seen hundreds of hotels, there were features in this hotel in the Designer room that I have not seen before! The other two types of rooms are rustic (traditional) and Modern... If there is anything more modern in those rooms than what we had in the Designer room, I cannot even imagine what it might be... Robots? Seriously, even if you have to take a train out of the way, this hotel is worth the trip. Oh yes, the birds are spectacular!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, Gerente at La Casa del Rector, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Sir,

We really thank you for your nice comment on our hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here so much.
We hope you could do a lot of birdwatching in the area.

Indeed thanks for saying we are worth the trip to Almagro.

We will be very happy to wellcome you here again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This design hotel is really beatiful and very well maintained! People are very kind and the service is perfect. The Castilla-La Mancha area is charming: don't miss the windmills (great those in Consuegra) and the historical center and the Corral de Comedias in Almagro This hotel is a wonderful base to explore around and follow the 'ruta del quijote'.
Flavia & Fabio

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FabioFlavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a bit of a roller coaster experience...and readers will need to extract information relevant to them. Driving up to the unremarkable hotel facade in a typical small town cobbled street, our expectations immediately became very modest...but when we walked into the hotel, we were astonished to find a fascinating and curious mix of spaciousness, rustic tradition and modernity. Our room was 'sleek modern' with very up-market furnishings and lighting. But while looking great, we discovered a few shortcomings...perhaps the main one being a complete lack of ambience because of an absence of other guests and very few staff (our stay was at the end of the tourist season). While being advised that the hotel restaurant was 200m down the road (no problem with this aspect), it eventuated that it was closed anyway! Nonetheless, after examining scant opportunities for a restaurant dinner in the town we settled upon a local alfresco meal in the Plaza Mayor which proved to be really enjoyable, largely due to the personality of the entrepreneurial cafe "maître'd". Then, despite all the swish room fittings and furnishings, it was the flat down-filled pillows and the duvet-only bed furnishings that finally drew the thumbs-down after a terrible night's sleep (ie, focus on presentation rather than practicality). Breakfast had all the right ingredients....but with few other people in the hotel, was delivered to us in a piecemeal fashion by a lone waitress who obviously had other tasks to do. Pity because Almagro is a place worth visiting and this could be an outstanding hotel...and I would give it another go.

Note for hotel management: if the A/C is to be fixed at 24 degrees C, then providing a duvet as the only bed covering is inappropriate....it's too hot! Please provide a top sheet so that those of us who prefer to have the window open for some fresh air can have the benefit of a lighter covering. This is small stuff but it counts.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casadelrector, Gerente at La Casa del Rector, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Cliente,

Thank you very much for your opinion and of course for your constructive comments on the hotel and the room. We will consider them and work to find an improvement.

We would be very glad if you decide to give us another chance in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Hotel is a rather odd, and not entirely successful mixture, of the historic and modern.

Location is good, an old building in a quiet street (which you could easily park on) although covered secure parking is also available at rear of Hotel –for a fee.

The original building around the reception area is old and retains the original Spanish architectural style and feel. However, the part of the building housing the accommodation has been given a very modern make over.

The room we had was reasonably spacious and well equipped with designer lights and furnishing and power showers, the beds comfortable. But it was also very gloomy. The main drawback is that the windows only look out onto an inner atrium and therefore the only views are the windows of the rooms opposite. There is virtually no natural light. We felt as if we were in a rather luxurious cave or an inner cabin of a cruise ship. There was nothing to indicate we were in an old building in a traditional Spanish town. In short there was no sense of place.

The Rector is also closely linked with a restaurant with a high reputation but we can't say if this is deserved as it is closed on Mondays, the night we happened to stay (not that the reception staff seemed entirely clear on this point as they booked us a table there). However there are a number of good restaurants around the main square, itself a great place to take an evening stroll and open air pre-dinner drinks. It is only about a gentle 10 minute walk from the Hotel.

In many ways this is a perfectly pleasant Hotel which many people may like but given the gloomy rooms and lack of atmosphere our conclusion was it lacked that "special" quality to justify the room rates. We checked out the Parador which is only 5 minutes away, one of the beauties of old Almagro is that nothing is more than 10 minutes walk, and from what we saw bearing in mind we did not stay there, it would appear to be the better option.

Room Tip: If there are any rooms with windows looking out onto the Street and which give you natural light take them.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esussex445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Client,
First of all, please let us thank you for your stay and also for the time you have taken to write this review.
We are glad you liked the traditional wing of the house and besides that you found your room comfortable although gloomy, as you describe it. Regarding this point, we can just apologize as the design-style is maybe not too "Spanish" for some customers’ preferences. If we had known, we could have offered you some other possibilities but the reservation we received through the online agency you chose was a double standard design room and , as we have pictures for all the room categories on that online agency website, we considered for sure that the room you were taking was design style and not traditional.
Besides, the "special" point that our hotel offers is that mixture of styles: traditional, modern and design so that we can suit all tastes. At least we try to and we are working on it (please check our website in English where you can see we are telling the difference between the three styles).
However, in case you come back, we will keep in mind your preferences about the traditional and street view rooms and we will be very pleased to make your stay as much charming and comfortable as possible.
On the other hand, we apologize about the fact that despite the restaurant was closed, we might have made the reservation for you. Our apologies as it was indeed by mistake.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Awful hotel says its 4 star should be 2 star ...no food ,restaurant which they send you to does nt do food until 9 o cl at night .don't book a suite it is an old fashioned room ,one with no window ...spa which I was offered free when I was booking a room,then got offered upgrade which then did nt offer spa ,(spa means a small jacuzzi which you need to book to use and is only open 12 to 8 ) cost 30 euros per person ...tv 2 obscure English channels but vol did nt work.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHighgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 24, 2011

Dear Clients,
We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy our hotel at all but we consider it is necessary to respond to all your comments.
First of all, if the hotel is awful, you would have seen it previously on online agency web site where you made the reservation. All the images we have (44) in that online agency are real and they describe very faithfully the three different areas of the hotel: the traditional one (or "old-fashioned" from your point of view), the modern one and the design one. Also, when you book a Junior Suite in that web site, the main picture is a traditional room, very similar to the one you were given, which was room number 5, a traditional room with a queen size bed, a balcony of 1,10 m x 2m (not a window) in the bedroom (18m2), another balcony ( 1,70m x 2 m) in the sitting room (15m2) and a TV which works but, in any case, you could have warned us if there was anything wrong with the TV that day and we would had been very pleased to solve it as soon as possible. Also let us inform you that our hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Spain according to several national and international guides, quality clubs (where we are) and even from the point of view of a well known writer in one of the most important national newspapers; in case you need further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Besides, indeed our restaurant offers "food”. You were sent where it is located: at the end of our street three minutes walk. You can check that this information is well specified in the website you made the reservation, exactly on the homepage of our hotel when they are giving general info about our property. Our receptionist told you that the restaurant opened at 9:00h P.M. but you were there before that time, as you came back to the hotel at 8:50 PM approximately, when you complaint about the restaurant to the receptionist.
On the other hand, we inform you that you did not book a Suite but a Junior Suite with no breakfast and no spa, just bed. The difference between a Suite and Junior Suite is, apart from the surface of the room, that the first one has a jacuzzi and the junior suite has a tub with hydro massage. Please check the description of a junior suite in English (and/or Spanish) on the online agency where you booked. Also, if you need a copy of your reservation, we can provide it for you in Spanish or in English so that you can see we are telling truth.
Finally, we ignore the fact of you being offered the spa or not for free when you made the reservation through the online agent. What we have is the different rooms on a just bed basis or a special offer with a standard double room with breakfast and spa. You had the choice to choose one or another. About our spa, please let me correct that the opening hours are from 12PM to 9 PM and certainly it has a separate cost when you don't get it with a promotion or a specific offer ,for the only reason that when you demand a service, you have to pay for it.
Regards,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews