We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a lovely dinner under the stars!”
Review of Parador de Almagro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Almagro
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Have a lovely dinner under the stars!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was an amazing Parador to stay at with lots of interesting things to explore both inside the hotel and also in the beautiful grounds.
The check in at reception was very efficient and the staff were all extremely helpful. Our room was comfortable and very clean. We had a beautiful view out of our window and it was really quiet so we were able to have several lovely nights sleep.
Almagro itself is a lovely interesting place but it is only a small place and so we also made use of the swimming pool at the hotel. The meals were lovely, breakfast was served in the refectory and was an extremely well presented buffet with hot dishes including some tasty bacon and also some local sausage and black pudding. The was also a good variety of cold dishes and I particularly liked several of the cheeses.
The highlight for us was having the evening meal sat outside in a courtyard looking up at the stars-Fantastic! The staff were all very patient and helpful and despite both myself and my husband only being able to speak limited Spanish they were brilliant.
This was one of our favourite Paradors and we would certainly love to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan1953528791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    296
    54
    14
    9
See reviews for
174
488
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you are staying you really need to spend several nights here and take advantage of the amazing nooks and crannies in this hotel. It is not the largest of the Paradors, but is quite fascinating.

The hotel is a restored and converted convent. If you wander around, exploring, the corners, you will find paintings, tapestries and works of art. Different rooms have been converted into TV rooms with comfortable seating where a family, or a ground can sit, chat, watch TV, play cards, or just enjoy the décor. Open a gate in one of these rooms and you go down some steps to a secluded little private corner.

Each meal is served in a different space. Breakfast in the refectory. This was one of the better breakfast buffets that I have had in a Parador, with hot dishes such as bacon and various types of local sausage, a wide variety of cheeses and cold meats, fruit of all kinds, cereals (but, curiously, not muesli), yogurts, salads, bread, cakes and pastries. Nice surroundings and plenty of variety.

Lunch is served in the dining room. Dinner in the terrace, with the fountain the centre piece of the space. If you do not want a big dinner you can go out to a terrace the other side and sit at a table under fruit trees (orange, plumb, vines, etc.) and have a light meal such as a sandwich and a drink. Apart from the standard bar tables, there are a couple of stone tables with candles for a different dining experience [I have to admit that here I made the mistake of trying the salmon sandwich in the mistaken idea that it would (a) be a sandwich and (b) contain some salmon], that apart, it is a nice dining experience on a summer evening.

We reserved a triple room and were rewarded with an enormous room. Normally, family triples shoehorn a third, folding bed in - here they would have put in a fourth bed too. It was spacious and agreeable, plenty of light and cool, without having to put on the air conditioning. A small sofa for two. A desk and chair and a small easy chair, plus a well-appointed bathroom, all decorated in the style of past times. There was also a large plasma TV and a trouser press (which did not appear to work) and plenty of wardrobe space with, unusually for hotels, a plentiful supply of hangers! The only slight disadvantage was that I found the bed a bit hard for my taste, although used to a form mattress at home.

You don't expect luxury in your rooms - that is not the character that a Parador tries to present to its guests - you expect character and a more rustic décor and this was nicely done: the luxury comes outside your room, if you are of a mind to use it.

One surprising thing was that the quiet is such that even a slight noise outside disturbed us! That was unexpected.

This Parador is well-placed if you want to visit the National Park of Las Tablas de Daimiel (strongly recommended). It is a short, easy journey by car. You are also only a few minutes walking from the town centre. If you come in a car, access is easy and there is, unlike some Paradors, ample parking space inside the hotel.

As with all Paradors, our room and the hotel in general were spotlessly clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocket_man_in_ESA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful old building, has good sized rooms and a lovely swimming pool. We didn't eat in the restaurant here, so cannot comment, but the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice (typical of the Paradores). The staff were helpful and the parking easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This parador had nice, comfortable rooms and we slept well there.

The meal however left a lot to be desired. Both in its content and it's service. The food uninteresting and poorly prepared. This may have been because their was an event nearby but we were most disappointed. The breakfast was excellent.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 788KSNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I always wonder about the differences in Paradors. You never know what to expect.
This one in Almagro belongs to the better one's. Beautifull ancient convent with a lot of atmosphere. Parking facilities in front of the hotel and walking distance to the center of town.
We had a standard room which was basic but you can't expected more from the price I paid. Next time I should book a better one. Breakfast was standard as served in all paradores a like. The outdoor swimming pool ( in mai) was closed. My advise: go to this parador!

Room Tip: Standard room is basic.Next time I personally would book a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertbilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Parador in Almagro is in an old Convent. It is quite large, built round a central courtyard. All furnishings are in keeping with the style and age of the building. Excellent restaurant for lunch or dinner. Breakfast average, but adequate.

Room Tip: Very close to Plaza Mayor. The town is very old and very interesting. Good place for a couple of nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomeMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

In Spain, a "parador" is a hotel in some historic building. In this case, a sec. XIII monastery. You can fell the atmosphere in the walls, windows, doors, throne-like chairs, baldaquin beds, huge bathrooms - you name it! It's classy, charming, a real treat. If that is not enough to you, then go to the restaurant - fantastic cuisine, local ingredients beautifully put together.
And then go for a walk and discover the city of Almagro.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorganaHifeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almagro
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Rector
La Casa del Rector
#1 of 7 in Almagro
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hosteria de Almagro Valdeolivo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa Grande Almagro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Parador de Manzanares
Parador de Manzanares
#1 of 1 in Manzanares
367 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Palacio Del Gobernador
Hotel Rural Palacio Del Gobernad...
#1 of 1 in Moral de Calatrava
28 reviews
13.5 mi away
Dona Carlota
Dona Carlota
#1 of 12 in Ciudad Real
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Almagro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Almagro

Property: Parador de Almagro
Address: Ronda San Francisco 31, 13270 Almagro, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Almagro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Almagro 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleries, inner courtyards and gardens grace the social gatherings held here. The formen Convent of San Francisco, offers peaceful bedrooms and varied atmosphere in its living rooms: a cervantine ambiance in its winecellar-bar, austerity in the boardroom and flavour of the period in the Louis XVth room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Almagro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Almagro Hotel Almagro
Parador De Hotel Almagro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing