We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a small town”
Review of Parador de Almagro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Almagro
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this parador. This was our second parador visit this year and I have to say that it was fantastic. This old monastery was calm, quiet and tastefully decorated. The pool was a great perk after a morning of walking in the town. The room had a/c and was very big. The facilities were in better condition than the last parador we stayed in. We did not eat there but enjoyed a menu of the day at the restaurant across the street. The town is small which makes for an easy visit. The square is nice and full of food options. The parador is about 5 mins walking from the plaza mayor.

We travelled by bus and it dropped us off in town and about a 15 min walk to the hotel. There is no sign for the bus stop but the bar it drops you off at is where people wait to get picked up. You pay for your ticket on the bus. There is a bus schedule posted outside the bar but get there earlier than the time it states because buses sometimes run earlier than the time stated. The train station is a bit further away.

Overall a really great stay at the parador and would completely recommend it to everyone including families with children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frijolitauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 864 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had very good one night stay at this hotel. The rooms are not equiped with the latest features. But I am sure you won't expect thtat at a place like this. The pool area is not very large but sufficient for a quick jump and refreshment.
The dinner in the inner courtyard was wonderful. Including a duo playing classical music.

Room Tip: Double check, that you get a double bed!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank carlo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a superb example of a paradore. It is a converted 17th century convent and has maintained all the historical features. Cloisters, arches, shuttered windows and stone corridors all make for a wonderful experience. You can almost imagine the nuns walking in quiet contemplation and prayer! The rooms are all different - we had to get moved as there was a minor problem with the air conditioning - so we got to see a couple of the rooms. They are very stylish with cool tiled floors and great bathrooms.

There is a great swimming pool with lovely gardens - very welcome in the July heat. The hotel is very central and a few minutes walk from the historical centre of Almagro - with its medieval architecture. It was lovely to sit in the Plaza Major in the evening watching the children play as the heat dissipated.

Valdepenas is worth a visit with its lovely Bodegas.

I would highly recommend the Parador.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crocodile_Ddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved this parador as it was in a really delightful setting. The building itself was very old and really attractive. Both our snack lunch and the meal in the evening were great and the staff very friendly. Our room was very clean and attractively laid out with a lovely stone floor as was the bathroom.

As other reviewers have said the town is very sleepy but a true Spanish feel

During our trip to Spain in June we visited 3 paradors (Merida, Carmona, Almagro) this was the best by far.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I use a rolling walker and had a standard room at this parador. Accessibility in the room and within the parador was adequate but the entrance to the hotel was not ramped and was difficult. There were few alternatives in and near the parador for snacks or light lunch or dinner. My wife walked into the center of town which I had seen in the past and she was enthralled with the theater and the buildings on the town square. We enjoyed the neighboring park which was also enjoyed by locals. The room was exceptionally lovely with a window overlooking the garden. The building has a very calm feeling and is a wonderful place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The lovely town of almagro has limited sites to see, but staying in the Parador made the trip so worthwhile. The views were incredible. The room was like stepping back in time by decor, but with all the amenities that we enjoy. It was a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onesweetgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The other reviews tell you most of what you want to know about this lovely old parador. However, I could find nothing on their website or in the hotel to indicate that they have wifi. But not only do they have it, it works in rooms not just public areas. And it is quite fast. So ask for the password.
Also, as with all the other paradors we have visited, the restaurant menu is quite restricted. There was no vegetarian option. Indeed only one item ( soup) was vegetarian. And on the "menu" you could either have three courses or two courses - starter plus dessert or main plus dessert. Starter plus dessert was not an option!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almagro
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Rector
La Casa del Rector
#1 of 7 in Almagro
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hosteria de Almagro Valdeolivo
19.2 mi away
Parador de Manzanares
Parador de Manzanares
#1 of 1 in Manzanares
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa Grande Almagro
19.8 mi away
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Valdepenas
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Retiro del Maestre
Retiro del Maestre
#3 of 7 in Almagro
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Almagro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Almagro

Address: Ronda San Francisco 31, 13270 Almagro, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Almagro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Price Range: $81 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Almagro 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleries, inner courtyards and gardens grace the social gatherings held here. The formen Convent of San Francisco, offers peaceful bedrooms and varied atmosphere in its living rooms: a cervantine ambiance in its winecellar-bar, austerity in the boardroom and flavour of the period in the Louis XVth room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Almagro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Almagro Hotel Almagro
Parador De Hotel Almagro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing