We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful and peaceful place to stay”
Review of Parador de Almagro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Almagro
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Certificate of Excellence
North Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Almagro paradore is a truly special hotel and probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in on our travels. We have stayed in great places but this place is very special.

We always hoped that if we travelled in Spain we could experience the Paradores but thought they would be too expensive. We are staying in several paradores at excellent prices thanks to the team at the Paradores for their assistance . We actually liked the cheaper ones because they are smaller and more friendly.

We arrived at Almagro having little idea what to expect, and within a short time we changed our plans so we could spend another night here as it was so beautiful and special. It is a convent from 16th century that has been renovated to reflect the special qualities of this heritage building whilst providing the comfort of a 4* hotel.

Brian and I have decided one of the important components of the hotel experience is the friendliness and helpfulness of the reception staff. It can make or break your experience. How well they assist and problem solve is really important. The staff at Almagro were fantastic and we thank them for this. They assisted us in changing bookings at other Paradores and made recommendations which really assisted us in our travels around Spain.

The accommodation in this quiet large comfortable standard room was wonderful. The corridors and landings are magnificently decorated using antiques in keeping with its history. The Paradore has a number of internal courtyards. All the rooms, dining room, breakfast and other salons look out these beautiful quiet garden spaces reflecting their Spanish character. This is not a chain hotel but a Spanish heritage building, and this is a place unique in the world.

Paradore de Almagro was easy to find and there was parking in the large entrance area. The breakfast was great. i'm glutenfree and there was a large range of bread and pastries, a real treat for me.

What is Almagro...it a living Spanish town which is not full of tourists with really friendly people. Such a relief after tourist filled Toledo. It has ordinary shops, cafes and bars. Also Don Quixote windmills are a short drive at another friendly town called Conseugra, great tourist office. We went to the National Park at Daimel which was a great wetlands to walk and see birds.

Luckily we were able to change our plans so we are returning again on our way from Granada to Madrid. We will dine in the magnificent dining room, read in the salon, gaze at the Courtyards and sleep peacefully.

We had a great deal which we booked through Booking.com, same as that the Paradores offered us. Email the Paradores with your questions as they were so helpful. We book a standard room which have been absolutely lovely.

A highlight of this 8 week European trip. I hope you love it as much as we did!

Room Tip: Our standard room was excellent. It looked out on a courtyard which all rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnePicnictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    269
    52
    13
    9
See reviews for
156
447
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

i cant say enough how glad i was that we stayed here on our way back to Madrid. It is a little bit off the main highway, but what history and culture! This hotel is an old monastery from the 16th or 17th centuries. The dining room is an old gothic chapel! Because it was off season, most of the rooms were empty, so i could wander around the old hallways and see the courtyards, etc. It truly was unique and special. The town of Almagro is also unique and worth a visit- with their historic central plaza just up from the parador. I wish more people could visit here, but for those that do, it really is a special treat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallcodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We enjoyed the atmosphere, the rooms and dining + breakfast spaces. Our visit was in December and the weather was quite cold but the rooms were warm with good bed linen. Clean, well kept, friendly. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riitta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This "Parador" is really unique, an old monastery converted into a hotel. Our room was very big, and it was just the standard room, so I guess the other rooms are even bigger. Everything in the room was fantastic. Breakfast was really good as usual in a Parador. It is just few minutes walking from main square.

Only negative thing: Wi-Fi connection is really difficult to get in rooms and bar, only in the lobby works well. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luar_LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The rooms are warm and confortable, but small and kind of cell like (well, it is an ex convent). The place was very clean. My wife and I enjoyed our one night stay. People were very friendly and the service was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMK240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Lovely quiet place to stay.Clean and comfortable.We highly recommend it.A really quiet town to go walking around.A historical place to sleep at .Cool experience.Historical ex convent.Easy to drive into the Parador, well located for touristic sites.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeffMiramichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Drive through the archway into the cobbled courtyard with its central fountain and allow the Parador Almagro to welcome you with a warmth and charm that says "enter my door and find peace". It just invites guests to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the building and it's beautiful gardens. If you are a weary traveller or just need to recharge your batteries, this is the place for you. Reception made us very welcome and we were taken to our room before collecting our bags. The room, near the main staircase was perfect. Beautiful decor, superb bathroom and then there was the view. I opened the shutters on the French windows to discover a view to delight. The gardens are beautiful. For a while I just sat end enjoyed. The staff were very helpful and gave us a map to explore the town. Also in reception a wide screen TV shows a very good guide to Almagro.
The Plaza Mayor is a ten minute level walk from the Parador, dont miss the lace shop. There are shops with delicacies, cheeses etc and bars and restaurants. don't miss a tour of the little theatre, dating backntomthe 16th century. Some liken it to Shakespeare's Globe but it's not in the round. it's quite charming and shows take place every day. We enjoyed a coffee in the square and watched the growing queue of theatre goers eager to take their seats for the next performance.
No visit would be complete without a visit to the theatre museum just off the square. There are many large photographs of previous performances and costumes from shows that took place in the theatre. It's wonderful and the building itself is very interesting.
I had been very I'll before arriving at the Parador and didn't fancy anything on the menu. The concern from the staff was amazing. The chef said they would make anything I fancied and they did. I was served a tiny meal that looked so appealing and an ice cream that was art on a plate. The staff, the setting and the service was simply the best.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor with large French windows. It could not have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almagro
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Rector
La Casa del Rector
#1 of 7 in Almagro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hosteria de Almagro Valdeolivo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa Grande Almagro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Retiro del Maestre
Retiro del Maestre
#3 of 7 in Almagro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
19.2 mi away
Parador de Manzanares
Parador de Manzanares
#1 of 1 in Manzanares
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Posada de los Comediantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Almagro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Almagro

Property: Parador de Almagro
Address: Ronda San Francisco 31, 13270 Almagro, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Almagro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Almagro 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleries, inner courtyards and gardens grace the social gatherings held here. The formen Convent of San Francisco, offers peaceful bedrooms and varied atmosphere in its living rooms: a cervantine ambiance in its winecellar-bar, austerity in the boardroom and flavour of the period in the Louis XVth room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador de Almagro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Almagro Hotel Almagro
Parador De Hotel Almagro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing