We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Parador de Almagro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Almagro
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here as part of a tour round La Mancha and Andalucia. Weather was wonderfully sunny and warm for the end of September and from the moment we arrived were consumed by the tranquility and peace that radiated the whole parador. Good sized bedroom overlooking the garden, beutiful shaded courtyard garden with excellent service. As usuaul in Paradors a fairly formal dining room with a fairly short, but interseting menu. Not sure I would want to stay more than 4 or 5 nights as I think we would have exhausted all the possibilities. Sadly we were ther just a week before the partridge season which I believe is one of their specialities, but nonetheless the food was excellent, well judged cooking and service helped this. Short but very well priced wine list that complemented the menu and to finish with coffee and drinks in the courtyard was just the most perfect way to round off an evening.

Wonderful experience with really helpful staff who gave us useful maps of the town and places to see.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionnSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 829 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at the same time as a motorcycle gang who roared in on a variety of customised Harley Davidsons. Not what you expect at a Parador !! In fact, they were a group of middle aged Dutch guys on a biking holiday.

We had a very pleasant, light airy room overlooking the garden next to the pool. We ate in the restaurant and had a good meal of regional specialities and a fine bottle of reasonably priced wine. Breakfast was up to the usual high parador standard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuoVadis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our second parador stop-off en route this August from Madrid to Marbella and from the minute we set foot in the Parador de Almagro, we surrendered to the calmness, tranquillity, and dare I say it, spirituality of the building. It took no stretch of the imagination to conjure up the 16th century monastery that this beautiful building once was. The guys at the front desk were friendly and whisked our bags upstairs to our rooms. The communal areas are furnished beautifully and the decor is completely in keeping with the architecture of the building - think thick stone walls, tiny shuttered windows, flagstone floors. Every piece of furniture, fixture and fitting looks as if it is exactly where it should be and, more importantly, seems to have been there since the building was first constructed. Not that one has to eschew the modern conveniences of life - the parador has wi-fi, air con and tv. There were loads of little nooks and crannies, charming, peaceful courtyards full of orange trees and the bedrooms while simply furnished were charming and very comfortable. I loved our bathroom with its yellow-washed walls and mosaic tiles and the fact that you could open the windows wide when showering and look out over the courtyard and see nothing but tree tops! The pool area is quite small but great for relaxing - the pool guy was very pleasant and happy to be of service to us. Unlike the Toledo parador which we found to be quite impersonal, the staff at Parador de Almagro were very pleasant. We stayed two nights and breakfast on both occasions was very good - the Refectory had a lovely ambience and again, the ghosts of those monks were omnipresent (but in a good way!). We ate in the parador on our second night and this meal was served in the main courtyard. The food was great and the ambience super - again very relaxing while the service was very efficient and pleasant. I really loved this parador - it's a gem and shouldn't be missed if one finds oneself driving through Castilla la Mancha en route to Andalucia. Almagro is literally a one-horse town, however, after a few hectic days in Madrid and on the road, we were ready for a bit of relaxation. All in all, a very positive experience - we would go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I'd agree entirely with the previous review written - Gastroinn. However l'd point out that this was a monastery ( with monks) not a convent ( with nuns)! Otherwise, we would agree - it was like an oasis coming in from the dry, barren landscape we had driven through and arriving to this tranquil, oppulent, gracious old building. The staff were very welcoming. The pool made for some well needed recouperation and Jeronimo, who served us in the dining room will be 'one of those' people we will never forget. He introduced us to Pedro Xieminez!! Sherry will never be the same again! Not alot to do in this sleepy town, but a great place to rest en route to Toledo.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool is very tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie8302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was a nice surprise to arrive at such a lovely old building after traveling by car across the dry countryside of Spain. The rooms are simple, spacious and well appointed. And because the building is old the walls are thick so you don't hear your next door neighbour.

It's a 5 minute walk to get into the old part of town, so it location is perfect. And there is plenty of parking if you have a car.

Dinner and breakfast were both great. Each were served in different rooms so you get to experience different parts of the convent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Parador at Almegro south of Madrid is situated in what was The Convent of San Francisco which was built by the Davila de la Cueva family in 1596.
The interior of the Parador is elegant, and has a serene atmosphere which no doubt relates to its original purpose as a Convent, and this is reflected in the bedrooms and public areas. There are also beautiful galleries which feature rich wood and latticework. Apparently there are no less than 14 inner courtyards and a splendid garden which was used, in former times, for social functions.
The bedrooms, which were originally the monastic cells, are very tranquil and prettily decorated with polished tiled floors and ours (a superior room) had a tiled wall around the bed which was very unusual. The bed is a standard sized double at 1.5metres wide with a canopy over, dressed in subtle gold fabric edged in blue. There is a lobby area with a large closet, safe and the mini bar is hidden away behind what we thought was old shuttered cupboard on the wall. Wifi works in the rooms and public areas at a fast speed and is free. There is a flat screen TV, Air Conditioning and a trouser press and writing desk/ dressing table (but why no mirror over?). The room is much lighter and airier than some of the other Paradors we stayed in , especially those situated in old castles, such as Alcaniz and Siguenez. There were plenty of plugs available. A smallish shuttered window opened out in our case onto one of the inner courtyards with a view towards the modern swimming pool which provided a refreshing cooling off point in the heat of the afternoon. Out of the four Paradors we have stayed in this visit this is the first with a pool and very pleasant it was to have one in the central Spain summer heat. Lunchtime drinks and Tapas can be enjoyed in another courtyard adjacent to the ground floor bar. Lunch and Dinner are both served in the light, bright and airy restaurant which looks out onto yet another pretty courtyard. The restaurant serves traditional La Mancha cuisine and there is a gluten free menu and vegetarian and diabetic options which have been standard in all the Paradors we stayed in. Some of the traditional dishes appear to have an Arabic influence from the period when the region was under the control of the Moors from North Africa. Specialities to be tried include : "Pisto Manchego", a vegetable salad; "Berenjenas", an aubergine dish; "Mojote" and "Ttiznao", two cold dishes which we are told are suitable for hot days. Breakfast was served in another delightful room in the Convent called the Refectorio ( it seemed like a room where the Monks might well have eaten in past ages with very high ceilings and very bright and again opening onto yet another courtyard) with yet again a great Parador Buffet including plenty of hot (you can ask for your eggs to be cooked freshly) and cold dishes, fresh juices and excellent bread and pastries.
In the local area you may care to visit the Corral de Comedias (the old theatre), the Convent of Calatrava, the Palace of Fugger, the Old University, Plaza Mayor, and the Cathedral. Ynfotunately we were short on time so didn’t manage to visit any which was a shame.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastroInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed one night in our tour through La Mancha. It is still amazing, but in a good way, that the Spanish government owns a hotel chain! As a result the parador service is a very different one from the usual 4* experience. The Almagro parador is, as others have noted, a very beautiful building. Our room was simple and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was also a bit old school, tasty but heavy. I woukd suggest to forego the expensive breakfast and take tostadas with the locals in the wonderful main square. Almagro itself is well worth a one-night stay, maybe more when its festivals are on. In the August heat it was deserted - the perfect time to meander round and admire its understated charms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almagro
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Rector
La Casa del Rector
#1 of 7 in Almagro
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa Grande Almagro
0.4 mi away
Hosteria de Almagro Valdeolivo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Parador de Manzanares
Parador de Manzanares
#1 of 1 in Manzanares
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Retiro del Maestre
Retiro del Maestre
#3 of 7 in Almagro
174 reviews
19.8 mi away
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Valdepenas
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Almagro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Almagro

Address: Ronda San Francisco 31, 13270 Almagro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Almagro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Price Range: $85 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Almagro 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleries, inner courtyards and gardens grace the social gatherings held here. The formen Convent of San Francisco, offers peaceful bedrooms and varied atmosphere in its living rooms: a cervantine ambiance in its winecellar-bar, austerity in the boardroom and flavour of the period in the Louis XVth room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Almagro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Almagro Hotel Almagro
Parador De Hotel Almagro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing