We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Trujillo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
tunbridge wells uk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great town”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The parador was easy to find with the aid of our sat-nav, and the free gated parking was very welcome after being stung for 17 euros in Merida!.
Our room was in the old building and was very large and had a great view out over the rooftops of Trujillo. As in all the paradors we visited, the beds were large and very comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped with a good bath to relax in after a day tramping up and down steps.
The breakfast was a delight as it was served in the old convent chapel that had been beautifully decorated. How strange to walk up to the old altar and help yourself to fresh fruit and pastries! Fried eggs were ordered and bacon was available together with churros, jamon, cheese etc.on the self-service tables
Once you had worked out the route the walk down to the town and the Plaza Mayor took a few minutes. We ate in restaurants in the town rather than face another average meal in a parador, but we did have a very relaxing drink first in the lovely courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    259
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
192
406
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Lovely location in this historic town. The Plaza Mayor just transports one back in time (about 10 mins walk from hotel). We had mixed feelings about the restaurant. I had a superb steak, my husband had a very average lamb stew. Staff were helpful and overall we would recommend this Parador. One word of warning, as in all the Paradors we have visited the bed was too firm.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynnpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Starting with the positives. The converted convent is a beauty. The situation in this fantastic small town is perfect. So far so good. Paradors have been a feature of Spain for decades and the service in this hotel for us appeared to be stuck in the past and not what is expected of quality expensive hotel in the 21st century. Examples are our check in. Given our key, taken a few steps, lift pointed out, no information given about facilities, restaurant times or anything else.
Dinner. We had pre booked the half board rate so dinner included. If we had not arranged this we would not have eaten here the second night. The food here in our opinion is what we would have expected in a low cost restaurant, not inventive or presented well. Perhaps we were just unlucky. Checkout. We were presented with the bill, we had stayed two night and spent a lot of money no one asked us if we had enjoyed our stay. We speak Spanish so it wasn't a communication problem. Would we recommend? No

Room Tip: We stayed in the original part of convent, large rooms, can't comment on new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miloleicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the first Parador we did on our visit to spain this past August and this motivated us to try several others based on experience.

This hotel is located in the heart of the historic city of Trujillo but access by car is not a problem and the hotel does offer a nice outdoor parking area of garage for a fee.

The hotel has a nice pool as well which was a nice touch but we didn't get to use it. Our room was very spacious and had real charm to it with the window offering an amazing view of the city. The bed was firm but comfortable.

We had food at the hotel restaurant and the food was great with many local specialities. As with other paradors, the wine list is limited but there but since it was warm we didn't really care and opted for a refreshing bottle of white.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and we ended up visiting several other paradors based on this experience alone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n8fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent two nights at the parador. Trujillo iself is a very interesting and historical and a lovely place to walk around. We visited in July and there were very few tourists around. The locals were very friendly and helpful. The parador is in a lovely setting, and a unique, historical building. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable albeit a little basic and tired. Good size bathroom. We stayed in a standard double and I would imagine that the higher category bedrooms are more glamorous. We enjoyed having a pre-dinner drink in the lovely courtyard. Whilst the dining room was interesting - the food was rather bland and average and not worth the money. You could certainly eat better in the town square. The swimming pool was small but pleasant although there were too many noisy children to be able to relax and read a book. We visited Caceres (a must!) and also stayed in Zafra (in Palacio de Conde del Corte) which was interesting and we found far better restaurants there than in Trujillo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Willow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This parador was certainly not a let down, spacious rooms, calming atmosphere and great restaurant food. No problem in locating via sat nav, and parking is great, a choice of paying for garage space or open secure car park. Location wise it was a pleasant walk through the narrow streets to Plaza Mayor, in the space of a weekend we saw a wedding in the square and Spain winning over Portugal. The atmosphere was fantastic, kids jumping in and out of the fountain, people celebrating to their hearts content and all at midnight!!
Rooms are comfortable and well provided for, staff are very helpfull and courtious. Our first room had faulty air con but we were immeadiately moved to another room with the offer of help to move our baggage. Breakfast was very good but I would have liked to have seen fried or scrambled eggs, a point I made on the suggestion form before leaving. One week later I received a letter to my home address to say that they would now start offering eggs done that way, thats what I call custommer service !
The food in the restaurant is excellent, the staff excellent, what more is there to say. I have stayed in other paradors and this one is certainly one of the best. Trujillo is a must to see, so combine the two and you should have great time as we did.

Room Tip: we asked for rooms in the old part and were not disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Gee_BLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Loved this parador, with it's good sized rooms, and relaxing pool area. .The location is perfect as you can easily drive to it and park safely on the road leading up to the hotel or in the hotel car park. The hotel is a short walk through narrow streets to the beautiful main square, the buildings rise up like a film set from the square. We found the food to be very good with imaginative presentation and you must try the strawberry soup dessert which is sublime or the two soup starter which arrives in two little bowls. In fact all of the desserts were amazing! Really good place to visit for a relaxing peaceful time, we stayed for 2 nights on a tour of Spain. No tour groups and a feel of local things going on such as an exuberant wedding party outside the church in the square while we were there. We had considered Caceres instead but having visited both Trujillo is by far the better option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison22Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Palacio de Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Izan Trujillo
Izan Trujillo
#3 of 12 in Trujillo
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Orellana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal San Miguel
Hostal San Miguel
#4 of 12 in Trujillo
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Hueso
Hostal Hueso
#10 of 12 in Trujillo
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Peru
Hotel Peru
#12 of 12 in Trujillo
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Trujillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Trujillo

Property: Parador de Trujillo
Address: Calle Santa Beatriz de Silva 1, 10200 Trujillo, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trujillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Trujillo 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Trujillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Trujillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing