We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, different, easily found”
Review of Izan Trujillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Izan Trujillo
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Trujillo
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Relaxing, different, easily found”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Room 305, tidy, large bed, good bathroom, view over the small swimming pool. The walk to Plaza Mayor is five minutes, and the beautiful plaza is an amazing place to sit, drink, eat and watch the world go by, while looking at the castle, churches, and sunset.
The courtyard-like layout of the Izan's central public area is extremely relaxing, and we had superb wine at amazing €2 for a large glass. We didn't eat here, but breakfast was good, suggest you order ahead, as its cheaper that way.
Staff very helpful, friendly, and knowledgable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    236
    83
    18
    11
See reviews for
114
281
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Found last year by chance en route to Salema by motorbike and stayed there again this year. This is a hotel with bags of character, friendly helpful staff, and very stylish rooms. Trujillo is one amazing town with a plaza that takes you back in time and is breathtakingly beautiful, to get to Trujillo take the EX208 from Caceras for the most amazing scenery. Great value at 55 Euros.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar de la Horadada, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our second visit too Trujillo from our home on the Costa Blanca but the first stay in this brilliant little gem of a hotel. The building is an old convent that has been very tastefully restored keeping most of the original features. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was spotless and larger than we expected. The door to the rooms on the first floor open onto a veranda around the original cloisters. The restaurant was spotlessly clean and the food of a good standard, the 'Menue of the Day' was exceptional value at €10.95 for 3 courses with water and a glass of wine. Trujillo has plenty of old buildings and history and is a short drive from Caceres and the Monfrague National Park, a haven for bird watchers.With late evening temps at 39C we were glad of an efficient and very quiet air con in the room. Although you can park in the Hotel Car Park for a fee we found free public parking almost outside the hotel for each of our 4 nights. We paid just €60 per night (through Booking.com) for the room and breakfast which we thought was really good value. The courtyard with a pool was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for first floor room they appear to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We drove here from the monastery in Guadalupe, a very pleasant trip, and were pleased to find this hotel without any difficulty. It is just barely outside the city center, a 10 minute walk to the main plaza. There is parking outside the hotel on the sidestreets, and the hotel itself has self-parking for a fee. The hotel's theme is Roman, and all the decorations, accessories, etc reflect this. Very clean, quiet, and comfortable and highly recommended.

Trujillo is a bit quieter than Caceres, and there is more Roman stuff in Merida, but still its location is good for a stopover during a road trip through central Spain. My only quibble would be the status of Pizarro in the main square, proclaiming him the conquerer of Peru, when most of us New World types know him as the cruel overload of the Incas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cklonowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
182 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am an elderly experienced world traveler who does extensive research before each trip and is quite picky but not overly so i think.
Trujillo is a wonderful medieval town that is a great change from the big cities of spain, worth two nights and a full day. this hotel is a medieval property with a grand patio and lots of atmosphere, but large modern rooms, and a wonderful staff - friendly and helpful. very clean and lots of luxury. great tub in the bath. walk to city square and bus station. parking. stay here (don't get into a tiff about not liking the carpets or floorboards, it is a great hotel !!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FROOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton-Le-Sands, Lancs, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Can't add to what most others have said here. We stayed here in early August on our drive down to La Costa De La Luz and really enjoyed the stay. Lovely rooms (our daughters really felt they were staying in an old palace) and very good service to match it. Trujillo itself is a real gem of a town - the main Plaza is stunning. Has a very chilled out feel to the place. Well worth staying here if touring Spain or heading down to CDL or The Algrave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomMellonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our second last night in Spain and we managed to get adjoining rooms for our family which was also very nice. Nice location at foot of hill leading to the Alcazar. Wonderful courtyard. Nice city to spend a night in and walk around. Service top notch, rooms very nice. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRMrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Palacio de Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Parador de Trujillo
Parador de Trujillo
#2 of 12 in Trujillo
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Orellana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#8 of 12 in Trujillo
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal San Miguel
Hostal San Miguel
#4 of 12 in Trujillo
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mirador de las Monjas
El Mirador de las Monjas
#7 of 12 in Trujillo
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izan Trujillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izan Trujillo

Property: Izan Trujillo
Address: Plaza Campillo 1, 10200 Trujillo, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Trujillo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Izan Trujillo 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Izan Trujillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izan Hotel Trujillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing