We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot which we return to very regularly but don't expect imaginative food!”
Review of Finca Santa Marta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finca Santa Marta
Ranked #5 of 14 Trujillo B&B and Inns
St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot which we return to very regularly but don't expect imaginative food!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We spend time on site enjoying the rustic charm, many lovely birds and flowers, walking around the grounds and watching the stars at night without the light pollution you find in many places. The rooms are attractively rustic and the staff are friendly and helpful. However the food is plain but adequate . We return regularly to this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annstearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANIQUE1, Gerente at Finca Santa Marta, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words Ann,
Hope to see you in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    8
    11
    9
See reviews for
25
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittard
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Since 2006 we´ve been here four times and every time it´s great. I remember my first impression: wowww... this location, this surroundings, how it´s decorated, authentic with the luxury of a good bath, beatiful garden, terras, all those different nice rooms, a swimming pool.... The first time it surprised and impressed me so much, the last time I still had the same feeling allthough I knew it..
Marta, the owner has decorated the place very tastefull and you can not only tell she´s a professional interiour architect, but also the love she has for this place. The other owner, her husband Henry, is a warm person who makes you feel sóóó welcome! You can tell the both of them put a big part of their life, heart and soul in it. Everything, each plant, chair, book, tree, cupboard, bedsheets in the finca gets the attention it needs. Of course it´s an old house so you can´t expect a new building´s construction and you shouldn´t. That´s the charme of it. I read other people write 'the decor is tired'. Could it be they might not be the type of person who like to stay in an atmospherical old place like this? We travel a lot all over Spain and we stayed in a lot of finca´s and other nice old places, but finca Santa Marta stole our hearts and is definately one of the nicest in Spain. (The only thing about the rooms was the small bed, but that´s because my husband is rather tall and this is a problem which is common in almost every Spanish hotel.)
About the food I agree so far that it´s (hopefully temporarely) not as good as it has been before. Indeed it´s very difficult to find a good chef. Let´s hope they find one.
At last I'd like to make a big compliment to the staff, especially to Laura. Always friendly, helpfull, whatever you ask, she´s there for you. Speaks English very well. And she´s got a great sense of humour!
Abound Extremadura: this was our first time in spring, the other times were in summer. What a difference, it seems like you´re in another country. Flowers, green fields, birds; in summer everything is dry, yellow/brown and hot. Allthough I like it better in summer -I love this dry, hot (extrema dura = extreme hard) season- it was very special to experience the softness of spring.

Room Tip: Rooms in finca Santa Theresa (opposite of S. Marta), ground floor (I think it was nr. 1 + 2) are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Otje-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANIQUE1, Director de Recepción at Finca Santa Marta, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your words,
It´s always a pleasure for us to have Fritz and you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Finca Santa Marta 4 times over the last 10 years and have had a wonderful stay every time, despite the fact that the decor is a little tired. However, this year we were unfortunate enough to have arrived just after the resident chef left after 17 successful years. In previous years, after a full day out bird watching, we ate at the Finca every night. The food was wonderful and plentiful and there was a good ambiance in the dining hall , however, this year things were different. The first night we were informed that we were to have a traditional Spanish meal. Agreed, we had "cocido", a typical Spanish dish of chicken boiled with chorizo, morcilla and vegetables. The broth was made into a beautiful soup with noodles as a first course, then the meat and vegetables are supposed to form the second course. Trouble was there was hardly any chicken. A lot of bone and skin and cartilage but hardly a mouthful of chicken!this was followed by a trifle type dessert. Admittedly we had a bottle of wine between 4 of us and liqueurs after, but this meal was supposed to be worth 30€ per head! we went into Trujillo the following night and ate better for 10€ per head including half a bottle of wine. We tried again after speaking to the owner, but were again disappointed with over cooked fish and a starter of mashed potato At the end of our stay we spoke to the owner about the food and he was very eager to put things right, as was Laura , the manager. I do feel sorry for them , as it is so difficult to replace a chef. However, I think until they can reproduce the quality of the food that they used to serve, the price ought to reflect the dip in what they are offering, maybe 15€ at most. A general inspection of the rooms by management would also reveal dripping taps and squeaky door hinges, little annoying things, but cheap to sort out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANIQUE1, Gerente at Finca Santa Marta, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Google Translation
Está claro que el objetivo de este cliente es buscar conflicto.

Nosotros para evitar que el cliente se fuera disconforme, (pues es bien conocido que en Finca Santa Marta, intentamos que las personas se vayan siempre satisfechas, y afortunadamente en gran número vuelven a a visitarnos), le hicimos un gran descuento en el precio de la cena para ponerlo a la altura de sus expectativas.

No entendemos muy bien como una persona que recibe un trato amable y cortés, se dedique a hacer críticas en Internet, por una cena que entre todos los comensales, ella sóla se quejó, y por lo que ya recibió una gran compensación
Es dificil complacer a determinadas personas, se haga lo que se haga.
Juzguen por Vds mismos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

If like hotels or are expecting hotel quality then this isnt the place for you.

There is a very rural feel to Finca Santa Marta, the room we had was comfortable and clean, yes it looked a little dated but I wasnt expecting chrome and glass everywhere.

Breakfast was good, plenty of selection on offer and dinner in the evening while a little over priced was of good quality. However you are paying for the convenience of eating there rather than having to travel and find a place locally.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holeinthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a very pretty little Finca. The rooms seem better now than previous reviews have given it. They were certainly clean and spacious although watch out for low beams if you are over 5'8". The breakfasts were fine, but let the coffee warm up, we went for it too quickly.....

We had the dinner and it was fine, nothing too fancy and a little basic but passable and served well. Sadly the cook being unwell hit us as well. He seems a sickly boy. Whilst actually it did not bother us at all, other older Brits struggled with this.

Key tips, arrive at the right check in time, the place is only manned after 5pm and the lady we spoke too had little English. (fair enough I guess). Also ask for information, the manageress has a room full of it but we didn't know till our last day. There are a few pretty walks around the Finca but you need to ask for them. Also a trip to Trujillo is a must, only 10 mile away (roughly)

A great jumping off point for Monfrague. So expect a few serious birders. I lost track of how long the table next to me talked birds...... (another non-surpise) .

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishbel_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Finca Santa Marta is a nice place in beautiful surroundings, but over-priced and lacking in service. For 95 euros we expected an better room and better service. The staff is not unfriendly, but indifferent. It took them ages to turn on the heating in our room. No fresh juice for breakfast, the fruit was rotten. They offer dinner for 30 euros per person, but it's not worth that much money. Simple, homemade cooking at its best, badly prepared and tasteless at its worst. Get the service up to standards and it is a really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I just spent a couple of nights at the very pretty Finca Santa Marta and for a peaceful retreat amongst the wilds of Extremadura, would recommend it. It probably is a little over-priced but this is made up for by the lovely owners and staff who go out of their way to tell you about the area and make sure you have everything you need. I was lucky with the weather and had a lovely day just relaxing by the pool with a book, watching the swallows swoop and dart through the olive groves that surround the Finca. But even if the sun isn't shining, there are easily accessible walks and trails all around - even better if you have a car (I came by bus from Madrid). The owner is passionate about wildlife and birds and can guide you on what to look out for and where to go to find it.
This is the kind of place you go for character, history and location. If you want perfect sterile luxury then it's probably not for you.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trujillo
7.5 mi away
Parador de Trujillo
Parador de Trujillo
#1 of 12 in Trujillo
698 reviews
7.3 mi away
Izan Trujillo
Izan Trujillo
#3 of 12 in Trujillo
507 reviews
7.6 mi away
Eurostars Palacio de Santa Marta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Soterrana
Hotel Rural Soterrana
#1 of 1 in Madronera
106 reviews
24.1 mi away
Parador de Guadalupe
Parador de Guadalupe
#1 of 3 in Guadalupe
495 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Orellana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Santa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Santa Marta

Property: Finca Santa Marta
Address: Pago San Clemente, 10200 Trujillo, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Santa Marta 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FINCA SANTA MARTA a Country Inn in Extremadura (Spain) that will surprise you!!! For many years the Finca Santa Marta has been gaining fame in birdwatching and wildlife circles as an ideal base to see an enormous variety of birds and other wildlife of interest, whether immediately in the vicinity of the Finca itself, or on excursions to nearby spots. Tucked in sloping hillsides, only 8 minutes driving from medieval Trujillo (Extremadura) the two typical Extremadura 19 th century farmhouses of the Finca, were renovated in the 19 nineties and converted into a country inn with 13 rooms, but keeping alive, on an amateur level, some of its agricultural activity. Now, city folk and nature lovers enjoy the quiet walks beyond the spacious lawns and the swimming pool. Once scorned upon as backward region, Extremadura is now one of Europe's most admired park-like eco systems visited by scores of nature lovers: the deserted steppes hosting an astonishing birdlife (bustards, vultures, Spanish imperial eagles and other famous Extremadura species all show well). North of Trujillo and about 45 min. Driving from the Finca Santa Marta, the Monfrague Park, is a pristine nature reserve and one of the best birdwatching sites in Spain. Visitors can view an incredible amount of birds of prey, often circling around at eye-level. It is famed for its black vultures, with a wingspan of three meters, breeding mainly on cork-oaks, as well as for a large population of griffon and Egyptian vultures, peregrine falcons, eagle owls and black storks. Pairs of the unique Spanish Imperial eagles sway around the "Salto del gitano", a pinnacle above the Tagus, and favoured target of telescope carrying visitors ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Finca Santa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing