We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that deserves to be discovered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palacio Chaves Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Trujillo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very special place: paintings, books, quietness and total freedom to pick up literature and indulge in reading.
As someone advertised in Chicago, hard to find and tough to beat (guests are invited to call on arrival at Trujillo, so that the hotel sends someone to guide them uphill. Be careful, phone number in Booking is not reachable!). Affordable rates, historic Trujillo around you, beware only if climbing stairs are a hurdle.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prufrock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at this unique seven bedroomed hotel which is more like a large family home. It has wonderful public rooms overflowing with books, paintings and artifacts. Our bedroom, although small, like the bathroom, was spotlessly clean. Other bedrooms are much larger.
The garden is a delight. It has plenty of areas to relax in, whether in or out of the shade. It also has a small pool to relax in. Not the easiest place to find so do ask the hotel for directions. Even study the route on Google Earth. It's well worth it !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I loved the atmosphere in this hotel and didn't find it all dusty or spooky and I am easily spooked! I was amazed that such an intricate building with so many paintings, rugs, artefacts and books was practically dust free and our room was spotless. There is a lot of dark wood but that was what I expected in a building of this age in Spain. The garden is a delight, especially at this time of year although see below for pool problems.

As others have said it is difficult to find but once you're there that's what makes it so special.

We did have a couple of problems. We couldn't make phone contact with the hotel when we arrived and there was no one there to let us in. We waited a long time and eventually hammered on the back door to rouse a member of staff. The swimming pool was full of stagnant water. It was emptied while we were there but that left some quite smelly debris.

Even so, I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aelfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. It just has such incredible charm and character. Its location in Trujillo is wonderful too. The only downside for us was that the double bed in our room was small and hard. We'd still go back, though, there are few places like this at an affordable price. However, it's probably better to book a room with twin beds.

Room Tip: Choose a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmartyBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A special experience, this charming renaissance family palace, transformed into a cozy hotel.
Personnel very friendly, rooms nicely furnished and beautiful common parts, library etc.
The only issue was to drive to the hotel, almost impossible to get there without the help of the hotel staff. Unfortunately the telephone number given in Booking.com was not answering and we had to find our own way. Ideally located to visit Trujillo.

Room Tip: Some rooms require climbing a lot of stairs, ask for a lower one if you have problems wit stairs. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agoramundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I seem to be fervently in the minority here in my opinions of this establishment, so I will try and keep to facts, which should allow the reader to hopefully make an informed judgement of his/her own.
This is not what I consider to be a true Hotel. It is a private furnished residence owned by a Spanish dignitary type who now resides in Madrid but returns to Trujillo once a month to check on his abode. At the time we were there, he was paying a young, pleasant but grossly inexperienced young man ( who speaks no English but is fluent in French and Arabic) to check people in and take their money, with the help of a cleaning lady and a young gardener/odd job man.
Whilst the historic significance and architectural splendour of such a building cannot be denied, the inside tells a rather different story with a dusty and eclectic mishmash of suits of armour, crumbling bookcases and sinister looking chandeliers! Clearly this is to some peoples' tastes, but alas not mine!
We had a supposedly superior room which was clean but very basic and had a mosaic patterned small bathroom which was more in keeping with a 2 star Hotel. We did have a separate lounge with a sofa and armchairs, but I'm afraid for me it was far too personalised to be pleasant. The scores of books which the owner has left in the bookcases are eclectic dust catchers with subjects ranging from Fidel Castro and fairy tales through to football!
We found it all somewhat dark and spooky and with the amount of wood around I wouldn't recommend it to anybody paranoid about fires!
The price we felt was relatively expensive and it should be noted that for anybody with mobility problems, the walk to the main square and back could prove a little steep.
Trujillo is beautiful and relatively undiscovered, so I would recommend a visit but would suggest this Hotel is avoided for all - other than diehard fans of the Addams family .....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is hard to find new things to say about this place, having read the earler reviews. This is a lovely old building; there are only 6 rooms and ours was certainly extremely comfortable; the public rooms are extraordinarlly beautiful with an amazing selection of books (especially about art) available to browse, pictures on the walls, comfortable chairs everywhere and a beautiful garden (which, alas, we were unable to enjoy properly because of dreadful weather!) And all this in the heart of the historic quarter of Trujillo, a short walk from most of the sights and with lots of little secret alleys to explore from the door. It was Holy Week when we were there and we were able to witness one of the evening celebrations in the beautiful church a few steps up the hill (it was too wet for the planned procession to take place). If you don't like driving in narrow, twisty streets or down extremely steep hills this might not be for you but otherwise getting to the hotel is fine once you've cracked the secret - and there seems to be enough parking available. It took us three attempts to make it under our own steam, thanks to hopeless maps and an almost total lack of street names but we DID get there in the end - the secret , as another report makes clear, is to telephone the hotel and the nice young man will come and find you! Be aware - there seems to be only one member of staff on duty and you may have to summon him - it is a little like living in a stately home where the owners have gone off on a trip! Breakfast is simple but suited us. The reate wew were charged was very reasonable for the quality of the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank argein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Palacio de Santa Marta
0.3 mi away
Parador de Trujillo
Parador de Trujillo
#1 of 12 in Trujillo
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Izan Trujillo
Izan Trujillo
#3 of 12 in Trujillo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Orellana
0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Dos Orillas
2.1 mi away
Hotel Peru
Hotel Peru
#10 of 12 in Trujillo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Chaves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Chaves Hotel

Address: Calle Palomas 3, 10200 Trujillo, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range: $90 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palacio Chaves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacio Chaves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing