We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique place to stay in a wonderful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palacio Chaves Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Trujillo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A unique place to stay in a wonderful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I loved the atmosphere in this hotel and didn't find it all dusty or spooky and I am easily spooked! I was amazed that such an intricate building with so many paintings, rugs, artefacts and books was practically dust free and our room was spotless. There is a lot of dark wood but that was what I expected in a building of this age in Spain. The garden is a delight, especially at this time of year although see below for pool problems.

As others have said it is difficult to find but once you're there that's what makes it so special.

We did have a couple of problems. We couldn't make phone contact with the hotel when we arrived and there was no one there to let us in. We waited a long time and eventually hammered on the back door to rouse a member of staff. The swimming pool was full of stagnant water. It was emptied while we were there but that left some quite smelly debris.

Even so, I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aelfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    26
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. It just has such incredible charm and character. Its location in Trujillo is wonderful too. The only downside for us was that the double bed in our room was small and hard. We'd still go back, though, there are few places like this at an affordable price. However, it's probably better to book a room with twin beds.

Room Tip: Choose a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartyBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A special experience, this charming renaissance family palace, transformed into a cozy hotel.
Personnel very friendly, rooms nicely furnished and beautiful common parts, library etc.
The only issue was to drive to the hotel, almost impossible to get there without the help of the hotel staff. Unfortunately the telephone number given in Booking.com was not answering and we had to find our own way. Ideally located to visit Trujillo.

Room Tip: Some rooms require climbing a lot of stairs, ask for a lower one if you have problems wit stairs. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agoramundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I seem to be fervently in the minority here in my opinions of this establishment, so I will try and keep to facts, which should allow the reader to hopefully make an informed judgement of his/her own.
This is not what I consider to be a true Hotel. It is a private furnished residence owned by a Spanish dignitary type who now resides in Madrid but returns to Trujillo once a month to check on his abode. At the time we were there, he was paying a young, pleasant but grossly inexperienced young man ( who speaks no English but is fluent in French and Arabic) to check people in and take their money, with the help of a cleaning lady and a young gardener/odd job man.
Whilst the historic significance and architectural splendour of such a building cannot be denied, the inside tells a rather different story with a dusty and eclectic mishmash of suits of armour, crumbling bookcases and sinister looking chandeliers! Clearly this is to some peoples' tastes, but alas not mine!
We had a supposedly superior room which was clean but very basic and had a mosaic patterned small bathroom which was more in keeping with a 2 star Hotel. We did have a separate lounge with a sofa and armchairs, but I'm afraid for me it was far too personalised to be pleasant. The scores of books which the owner has left in the bookcases are eclectic dust catchers with subjects ranging from Fidel Castro and fairy tales through to football!
We found it all somewhat dark and spooky and with the amount of wood around I wouldn't recommend it to anybody paranoid about fires!
The price we felt was relatively expensive and it should be noted that for anybody with mobility problems, the walk to the main square and back could prove a little steep.
Trujillo is beautiful and relatively undiscovered, so I would recommend a visit but would suggest this Hotel is avoided for all - other than diehard fans of the Addams family .....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is hard to find new things to say about this place, having read the earler reviews. This is a lovely old building; there are only 6 rooms and ours was certainly extremely comfortable; the public rooms are extraordinarlly beautiful with an amazing selection of books (especially about art) available to browse, pictures on the walls, comfortable chairs everywhere and a beautiful garden (which, alas, we were unable to enjoy properly because of dreadful weather!) And all this in the heart of the historic quarter of Trujillo, a short walk from most of the sights and with lots of little secret alleys to explore from the door. It was Holy Week when we were there and we were able to witness one of the evening celebrations in the beautiful church a few steps up the hill (it was too wet for the planned procession to take place). If you don't like driving in narrow, twisty streets or down extremely steep hills this might not be for you but otherwise getting to the hotel is fine once you've cracked the secret - and there seems to be enough parking available. It took us three attempts to make it under our own steam, thanks to hopeless maps and an almost total lack of street names but we DID get there in the end - the secret , as another report makes clear, is to telephone the hotel and the nice young man will come and find you! Be aware - there seems to be only one member of staff on duty and you may have to summon him - it is a little like living in a stately home where the owners have gone off on a trip! Breakfast is simple but suited us. The reate wew were charged was very reasonable for the quality of the experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

this place must be it !
small roads in the old centre, with signs that lead you everywhere expect to your destination :)
but so very worthy to find !

The rooms are brilliant, the garden with the small pool "heaven on earth".

If ever we go back to this part of Spain, this will be the place we will stay, for every visit in a 200 kilometer radius ! There is nothing like this Hotel as far as I know. Palacio Chavez,.... well, I wish my name was Chavez and that one day somebody comes and tells me I am the distant cousin who can live in the palace !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucdossche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our first visit to this part of Spain, initially attracted to Trujillo by nearness to the Monfrague National Park. Trujillo itself is a great place to stay, it has a beautiful medieval section with plenty to explore up & down the winding narrow streets. Ah yes, the narrow streets, those of a nervous driving disposition beware! If you are in a hire car, you may wish to opt for the 'no excess' insurance as there is a fair probability you may acquire the odd scuff to the wheels or bumpers of your car, especially if you are in a large vehicle, which is not to be recommended! However, once you get used to the challenging drive up to the Hotel (which is at the top of the old part of town) it becomes almost second nature, that is till weekend when the one way system is reversed!! The Plaza Mayor is a wonderful buzzy place to eat and people watch at night time, the food is good and inexpensive, our favourite places to eat were El Alberca & Coral Del Rey. The 7 bedroom Hotel is totally different to anywhere we have stayed before and is run by 2 very helpful young men, neither of which speak English, only French or Spanish, but don't let that put you off! Rooms are large, comfortable & air conditioned (NB: only Spanish TV channels) and there is plenty of public space in the libraries and sitting rooms, richly decorated with art & literature. The pool & garden area is absolutely paradise and very private - amazing!! Occasionally an eagle or vulture would glide over high above! The staff will bring you tea or coffee, a cocktail or wine whilst you are relaxing by the pool. Breakfast is basic, bread croissants and jam with tea or coffee. Overall we loved it and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCaveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Palacio de Santa Marta
0.3 mi away
Parador de Trujillo
Parador de Trujillo
#2 of 12 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Izan Trujillo
Izan Trujillo
#3 of 12 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Orellana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#8 of 12 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal San Miguel
Hostal San Miguel
#5 of 12 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Chaves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Chaves Hotel

Property: Palacio Chaves Hotel
Address: Calle Palomas 3, 10200 Trujillo, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palacio Chaves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palacio Chaves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing