We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Rural El Recuerdo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Izan Trujillo(Trujillo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoria(Trujillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostal Hueso(Trujillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Julio(Trujillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel Peru(Trujillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
38
14
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkreturn triphis knowledgedining roomplaces to visitpool areahis wifeclaudiasightingsmartinsbirdwildlifehidevulturesmortonlandscapelounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 54 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This Casa Rural is perfect for exploring nature in the Extremadura. This wine-making "lagar" has been turned into a lovely and comfortable B & B. Birding is Martin's specialty but his interests and knowledge are much broader. For our one day of birding, he was the perfect guide. Breakfasts and dinners were very good. We are very grateful that Claudia and Martin could fit us in for two nights in their busy spring.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D48S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this beautiful old farmhouse. Martin and Claudia made us very welcome and we really benefited from Martin's birding knowledge of the local area. He leads trips out, helping you find what you want to see. There's a good selection of birding books and a record of recent sightings. Even though the weather was cold and wet in January, our room was warm and welcoming when we returned from a day out, and there's an open fire in the visitor's sitting room. The set three-course meal was great and there's also a friendly bar in the village where you can get simple meals. (Martin and Claudia also do packed lunches if you need them.) Although set in tranquil surroundings, lovely old Trujillo is just 10 mins drive away. All in all it's a great place to stay, many thanks to Martin and Claudia.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We only stayed here one night but it is a place that will stay in our memory. It is a lovely old house, in a quiet country location, run by a husband and wife. It has a lovely family feel to it, we sat outside in the sun playing ball with the dog, I felt I was back home. Martin cooked us a good evening meal in the lovely old dining room, and we had a very good breakfast, even gluten free bread for me.
I would highly recommend this place to all country lovers and especially to bird watchers.
Although martin was busy he spent time talking to us, which was good as holidays throw up so many questions, and he was willing to answer them all!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a specialist hostel for birdwatchers and you will get good service. Breakfast is very good with excellent quality muesli, fresh orange juice, super coffee and the normal other things - cooked meats, cheese etc..The owner is English and is expert on birds and keeps up to date with the latest sightings of migrants etc. The hostel is situated about 15 kilometres from Trujillo (which is a VERY nice place) in a small village. There is a bar where you can get something to eat about 300 metres away. You can eat at the hostel but it is a set meal which you sign into in the morning. There are no alternatives, as it is what the owners are eating that night. The owner offers trips and airport collections. I don't know what the prices are as we had our own car hire and my son knows a lot about birds. However the owner's knowledge of where to go is detailed and I know guests were very pleased with the birds they had seen in quality and quantity. I know specialist birding trips cost a lot and one has to pay for the expert's time as well as petrol etc.. The way we did it with car hire and staying here resulted significantly cheaper than having a pre-booked specialist trip.The room we had was in an annexe. It was large and clean but rather dark. The bathroom was enormous. We had booked a twin room. There was one double bed and one sofa bed. I was on the sofa bed and it was ok but not great. At 70 euros per night (B and B) it was reasonably priced but at the higher end for a Casa Rural. However you do get the bird advice which is valuable in itself. The rooms were well serviced. I would go there again. The web site is very good with detailed instructions of how to get there etc.. If you want specialist birdwatching services there I don't think you will find better, as you can opt in or not or make specialist requests and they will try to accomodate them. One chap came into breakfast with a list of new birds he wanted to see and asked the owner to devise the trip so that he could see as many as possible- and he wasn't mentioning Spanish sparrows!! This is a recommended place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Wonderfully peaceful situation. Large airy well equipped room with pleasant view from window. Comfortable lounge with a wide range of books on the area. Meals very satisfactory. We visited Trujillo, Cacares and Monfrague with no difficulty using the hostal as a 3 night base.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews