We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this a Michelin starred restaurant and we do not know about that?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Psomi kai Alati

Psomi kai Alati
Ranked #8 of 139 Restaurants in Chalandri
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant's philosophy is clear and precise: years of experience, imagination and creativity seek out the best nature generously has to offer every season and evolve it into a faultlessly delicious result based on clean, authentic and imaginative dishes. The menu at Psomi & Alati changes every 2 to 3 months according to seasonally available ingredients.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Is this a Michelin starred restaurant and we do not know about that?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

That was my question when we were greeted by hostess. First of all the attitude that this person had was unacceptable. It reminded me of some of the snobish Michelin stars awarded places that we were unlucky to visit:) Secondly the unwillingness to give us one of the tables on the terrace although it was almost empty and there were any "reserved" sings, was beyond my understanding. On our request she replied that you were supposed to mention that you want a table on the terrace when making your reservation. Ok, maybe. But the thing is that it was not our first visit. And all previous times we just walked in and sat wherever we liked. Moreover when we did our reservation, representative of such a "high class" restuarant could have asked us whether we had any preferences. As to cuisine, i can say that it was ok. The name of the restaurant is connected to a known Greek chef Mr.Loukakos, so it is logical to have food that would be good. Although those couple of times that we ate there, some of the dishes were over salted. The meaning of all this writing was to remind ones again to a restaurant owners regardless of the status of the place and chef names connected to them that eating outside is an EXPERIENCE. And that experience starts the moment someone enters the place. How the visitor was greated, how welcomed he felt in the place, what was the atmposphere. And then together with all that comes the food. As a conclusion, i would like to say that we are not planning ever to visit this place again. Also we are not goind to recommend this place to our friends. In Chalandri area and in general in Athens there are plenty of places that are worth visiting, with great cuisine and great service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    122
    64
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good food in relaxed surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Initially the menu reminded me of the gastropub genre often encountered in England...I am giving it a four rather than a five star rating for the price of the salads (10-12 euros) and side dishes and starters which i thought were overpriced (10-13 euros). We tried the 'flogeres' with chicken which were perfectly cooked and very balanced, the mixed salad -very nicely dressed- and the mushrooms with thyme which were exquisite. The main courses chicken breast cooked in a tomato based sauce was very good but even better the pork medallions with a interesting tangy sauce and cooked to perfection. The kitchen had run out of the chocolate souffle so we opted for loukoumades to share with ice-cream. It did not let us down although we all would have liked a little bit more honey. I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food. The service was friendly and attentive without being pompous and for someone who dislikes tavernas and mezedopoleia i would definately reccomend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Level Contributor
292 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“not fine cuisine but casual value, comfortable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Reception was much friendlier than last time I visited, far less snobby (unwarranted).
Most appetizers were good and reasonably priced. Wine list was limited but well-selected Greek choices. We especially liked the mushrooms and the curried orange sauce that accompanied the cheese bourekia. Salads were heavier with dressing than expected. They should increase the selection of vegetarian choices. Two ordered chicken souvlaki and liver, entrees around 13 euro. The liver was disappointing, fat and dry, but chicken was good. The service was fine, friendly. For dessert, we had the panacotta, yum, and the strawberry sorbet was good. Only one fish choice, salmon, was on the menu.
For a TV chef, the place was packed for a weeknight, atmosphere was comfortable, but I expected finer, more interesting plates, and more vegetarian and seafood choices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better than we expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were very lucky to find a table for 5 persons on a Saturday night without a reservation, so I would like to thank the lady maitre for that table! The food was very good, tasteful and well cooked but the starters could have been a little better and with more pieces on the dish, for example why do you put 4 croquettes for 5 people? You pay a little overpriced fee at the place so they could treat you a little better. The service wasn't perfect, they forgot one of the three starters and brought that later on but I understand that because the place was so crowded at the time. Actually, I admit that, I expected worse main dishes from what they actually have, the dishes were delicious, we tried pasta, liver and beffburgers. And of course I cannot forget the dessert, they have a delicious banana tart with ice-cream! We paid about 28 euro per person which is ok but it could easily be 2-3 euros lower/person according of course what you order and the level of the clients' satisfactory!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gianzo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If it wasn't for the attitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Food is nice. Chef has some good ideas and must admit that everything was well cooked. Service was not good and you always had the idea that u are very privileged to be there, that they were doing you a favor. Not bad in general.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kostas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Psomi kai Alati also viewed

 
Chalandri, Athens
 

Been to Psomi kai Alati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing