We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service - Non existent really disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service - Non existent really disappointed”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Congratulations Westin Athens an example to all in the Hospitality industry on how NOT to look after your guests. This is a first class property facility wise with service so poor that I am surprised it is associated with the Westin brand. Having stayed in 2 of your properties previously (not in Greece) I find this unbelievable, especially in light of the overall current plight of Greece. I am sure that if the correct training implementation were introduced the hotel would benefit immediately and if the current staff are not prepared for change, I would be surprised if not all positions could be filled with people willing to WORK and REPRESENT the Westin brand. We passed reception on no less than 20 occasions and were acknowledge FOUR times ONLY. I KEPT COUNT. Thank god to the 'Painter' and one of the 'Gardner's' who made eye contact and a greeting of Καλή Μέρα. Down by the pool it took 45 minutes for 2 φραπεδες to arrive!! Wi Fi is an embarrassment within a supposed 5 Star Hotel. After being told by reception there is FREE Wi Fi in the common areas and by the pool to use Wi Fi in your room there will be a charge. Wi Fi by the pool is non existent, except for 2 square metres in front of the restaurant. I find this totally ironic as the General Manager of Astir Palace Resort is quoted in an article of Insider Athens magazine (which is out of date by the way) as saying "Now days it is important to have free WiFi access in all hotel areas whether it is the lobby or the guest room". If you have not noticed most of the negative comments are about SERVICE, Human Resources, enough talk Westin Athens, more ACTION and make this property the BEST property in Greece. It deserves to be

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear George G;
I appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments concerning your recent stay at The Westin Athens hotel. It is mainly through our guest’s feedback that we may discover ways to upgrade our services and facilities to impeccable quality standards.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay with us. This is certainly not the Westin experience we aim to provide our guests. We were very concerned to read your detailed comments.
We do try to get all of our associates trained at the same standard to respond to each and every guest’s request but as you describe, we still have our challenges at times.
I have gone through your comments very carefully with the relevant departments to see where the problem areas lie and to ensure they are not repeated.
If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please send an email to the address: michael.metaxas@starwoodhotels.com
so we may address it with you directly.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin hotel and provide you with the experience you should expect to receive from us.
In the meantime I remain.
Yours in hospitality,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    188
    68
    38
    26
See reviews for
149
210
17
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After having read mixed reviews, my wife and I were concerned about our decision while vacationing in Athens for two nights. Our experience was first rate, from them having a room available at 9am Friday morning, to the fresh fruit and bottled water delivered late that afternoon, to the food quality and European type service.

The food from the buffet to the pool bar and food at the Sofa Bar were all of good quality, the service wasn't as fast as what we're used to in the U.S., but it was we have come to expect when traveling in Europe. The drinks were good, though pricey- and we've stayed at The Phoenician in AZ, so we know pricey.

Overall, we both feel it was worth the experience.

Room Tip: The higher floors produce the best views, but the views are amazing from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kngwdplyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Stephen H;
Thank you for your stay and your kind comments about The Westin Athens hotel.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and you were satisfied with the fresh food collection, the food quality and hotel’s location.
On behalf of the entire team at the Westin hotel, I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed for one night on our way back home after visiting Santorini. Nice modern rooms, all offering sea views and with spacious balconies. The sea water is crystal clear (unfortunately too cold at the beginning of June, around 20 deg C), nice very big pool and beautiful grounds. The top floor Greek restaurant offers spectacular sunsets, interesting Greek fusion fine dining and excellent service. We tried the degustation menu and it was a perfect experience. All staff members we encountered were friendly, efficient and very helpful. This is a big resort, which seems to successfully cater to couples / families and business travellers alike. Definitely would love to go back for a longer stay, to explore the local area and the other properties in the Astiri Palace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear katepg,
On behalf of the entire team at The Westin Athens hotel, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.
We were very pleased to read that you had a renewal stay and you enjoyed the services, the comfort of your room, hotel’s location, the surrounding and also a large number of our facilities. Also, thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
We are grateful for your support and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next, hopefully, longer visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned to the states after a 5 days stay at the Westin. This property has the most beautiful location. Each rooms( very good size with large bathroom) have a private balcony over looking the very large pool and an amazing vue of the sea. Each evening were made even more special at sunset. A very well assorted breakfast with many offerings, hot and cold, is to be enjoyed by the pool.The service has always been very pleasant. My only complaint would be the smell in the corridor leading to the rooms, some redecorating of the corridors would be a huge improvement to that little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: I do believe all the rooms are the same, excepted the suites of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCC-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear GCC-12;
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback under this forum.
Please note that we take all guest reviews very seriously, both positive and negative, and through them we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.
We were very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the breakfast collection, the comfort of your room, the view and hotel’s location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel my first impression was. ( not pleased with the service) got 2connected rooms in an executive floor ( no lounge in it ) we had to find our way no one accompany us to our rooms No amenities in the bathroom we had to ask for it There was a ice heated swimming pool the view at night was amazing. Menus r limited If you want to go to athens it's 40-30 minutes drive that costs 30 euros there is a beach didn't have time to check it next to the hotel you can get there by buggy

Room Tip: Poolsee view r noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Resort out of Athens
=================
Dear Lina64,
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support. We were sorry to read that we have failed to meet your expectations in certain areas. We understand that these issues had a negative impact on your opinion about our hotel.
In regards to your comment on the pool water temperature, please note that our property uses sea water at the outdoor pools.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to Westin hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great place, however management is seriously lacking on having staff available. Not uncommon to sit in a bar mid day and after waiting with no staff in sight for 20 finally have to go searching for someone to take an order.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Weinden;
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback under this forum.
Please note that we take all guest reviews very seriously, both positive and negative, and through them we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.
I was sorry to read that you have mix feelings about our hotel.
I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future and live up to our promise of excellent service.
Sincerely yours
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First the good news. The bay and seaside location is stunning, weather is fantastic and it's an easy ride from the airport. The pool is also well designed and lovely. Bad news - poor management of this supposedly premier location. Reception ( for the most part) and just about every member of staff apart from the sweet cleaning ladies can hardly be bothered to serve you. They are not rude, just indifferent. This is the very first " elite"hotel I have ever visited where the management do not even say " good morning" as they pass!
Breakfast is fine but good luck getting a coffee refill or any help, ditto the beach bar and main dinner restaurant. Quality of food and drink is high but of course you pay the high prices.
Pool service is chaotic at best with no sense of management.
The rooms are large and airy but design could be better. The glass bathroom walls are pretty but useless especially if your partner gets up in the night so the light shines in whole room! Blackout blinds are inadequate too and the shower floods the bathroom. Minor problems like broken hair dryer and remote control were irritating but resolved. It's just the lack of attention that disappoints.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maida22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear maida22;
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support.
We were very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the breakfast collection, the food quality, the view and hotel’s location.
On the other hand we were sorry to read that we have failed to meet your expectations in certain areas and you have mixed feelings about our hotel. Concerning your comments on the pricing policy, kindly note that our prices are competitive with those of hotels in the same category with us.
We truly hope you will give us the chance to restore your trust in our services and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Westin hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.7 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
700 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.9 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amarilia Hotel
Amarilia Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Property: The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Address: 40 Apollonos, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece (Formerly Astir Palace Vouliagmeni)
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#5 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Hotel Vouliagmeni
Westin Athens
Westin Vouliagmeni
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing