We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed for one night on our way back home after visiting Santorini. Nice modern rooms, all offering sea views and with spacious balconies. The sea water is crystal clear (unfortunately too cold at the beginning of June, around 20 deg C), nice very big pool and beautiful grounds. The top floor Greek restaurant offers spectacular sunsets, interesting Greek fusion fine dining and excellent service. We tried the degustation menu and it was a perfect experience. All staff members we encountered were friendly, efficient and very helpful. This is a big resort, which seems to successfully cater to couples / families and business travellers alike. Definitely would love to go back for a longer stay, to explore the local area and the other properties in the Astiri Palace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear katepg,
On behalf of the entire team at The Westin Athens hotel, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.
We were very pleased to read that you had a renewal stay and you enjoyed the services, the comfort of your room, hotel’s location, the surrounding and also a large number of our facilities. Also, thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
We are grateful for your support and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next, hopefully, longer visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned to the states after a 5 days stay at the Westin. This property has the most beautiful location. Each rooms( very good size with large bathroom) have a private balcony over looking the very large pool and an amazing vue of the sea. Each evening were made even more special at sunset. A very well assorted breakfast with many offerings, hot and cold, is to be enjoyed by the pool.The service has always been very pleasant. My only complaint would be the smell in the corridor leading to the rooms, some redecorating of the corridors would be a huge improvement to that little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: I do believe all the rooms are the same, excepted the suites of course.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCC-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear GCC-12;
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback under this forum.
Please note that we take all guest reviews very seriously, both positive and negative, and through them we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.
We were very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the breakfast collection, the comfort of your room, the view and hotel’s location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel my first impression was. ( not pleased with the service) got 2connected rooms in an executive floor ( no lounge in it ) we had to find our way no one accompany us to our rooms No amenities in the bathroom we had to ask for it There was a ice heated swimming pool the view at night was amazing. Menus r limited If you want to go to athens it's 40-30 minutes drive that costs 30 euros there is a beach didn't have time to check it next to the hotel you can get there by buggy

Room Tip: Poolsee view r noisy
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Resort out of Athens
=================
Dear Lina64,
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support. We were sorry to read that we have failed to meet your expectations in certain areas. We understand that these issues had a negative impact on your opinion about our hotel.
In regards to your comment on the pool water temperature, please note that our property uses sea water at the outdoor pools.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to Westin hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great place, however management is seriously lacking on having staff available. Not uncommon to sit in a bar mid day and after waiting with no staff in sight for 20 finally have to go searching for someone to take an order.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Weinden;
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback under this forum.
Please note that we take all guest reviews very seriously, both positive and negative, and through them we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.
I was sorry to read that you have mix feelings about our hotel.
I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future and live up to our promise of excellent service.
Sincerely yours
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

First the good news. The bay and seaside location is stunning, weather is fantastic and it's an easy ride from the airport. The pool is also well designed and lovely. Bad news - poor management of this supposedly premier location. Reception ( for the most part) and just about every member of staff apart from the sweet cleaning ladies can hardly be bothered to serve you. They are not rude, just indifferent. This is the very first " elite"hotel I have ever visited where the management do not even say " good morning" as they pass!
Breakfast is fine but good luck getting a coffee refill or any help, ditto the beach bar and main dinner restaurant. Quality of food and drink is high but of course you pay the high prices.
Pool service is chaotic at best with no sense of management.
The rooms are large and airy but design could be better. The glass bathroom walls are pretty but useless especially if your partner gets up in the night so the light shines in whole room! Blackout blinds are inadequate too and the shower floods the bathroom. Minor problems like broken hair dryer and remote control were irritating but resolved. It's just the lack of attention that disappoints.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maida22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear maida22;
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support.
We were very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the breakfast collection, the food quality, the view and hotel’s location.
On the other hand we were sorry to read that we have failed to meet your expectations in certain areas and you have mixed feelings about our hotel. Concerning your comments on the pricing policy, kindly note that our prices are competitive with those of hotels in the same category with us.
We truly hope you will give us the chance to restore your trust in our services and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Westin hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Just to the south of athens the Westin palace is in a great location. The staff were friendly at times... The service throughout the hotel was very bad, just trying to order food and drink was a nightmare. I had to walk over to the pool bar three times in 2 hours to make sure my beer and salad was coming. The housekeeping are not very through, forgetting to replace towels and forgetting to replenish items from the rooms on a daily basis. The prices for food and here expensive, I don't mind paying when the service is great, but like I said before its bad.

I also found the clientele very snobbish.

The location was fabulous, a short walk down the road and you will find some great restaurants to eat at. Real proper greek food and wine and great atmosphere especially on a Sunday afternoon/night.

10 minutes to the north you will find yourself in the beach party town of Glifada, great parties only on weekends. Stay clear of the W club, my friends and I found ourselves surrounded by young teenagers. The day club Balux is great and there are loads of other great places there to drink and dance nearby.

Best thing about this hotel is the long lasting sunset.

Would I stay here again, probably yes. I just hope the service improves!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiesam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Aussiesam89,
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support. We were sorry to read that we have failed to meet your expectations in certain areas and you have mixed feelings about our hotel.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to Westin hotel.
Warm regards,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Second hotel in the fabulous peninsula near Athens.
Same nice views with modern touch in this property.
Much better than the average Westin and service ( that was a real trouble,in the past ) is constantly improving over the last two three years.
Only serious concern the different ,not serious,management initiatives to maximize turn over yield..
Three years before was the huge drop in the food quality with the introduction of frozen meats etc.
After huge protests F and B has been stabilized somehow acceptable
This year ,.....the beach towels have been focused.
Imagine in a 5 star expensive resort ,in a private peninsula with several beaches and swimming pools around, to have the right of two beach towels/ per room ( even suites...),taken from the room....,transport them around the resort and return them there for change.....
This fantastic idea underestimate the resort....,and it is not the only one...
I kindly ask the GM of this complex to see clearly...

Room Tip: All rooms are absolutely the same,all with sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLSPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear PLSPG,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback under this forum, it is truly appreciated. Please note that we take all guest reviews very seriously, both positive and negative, and through them we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.
I was truly disappointed to read that you have mix feeling about our hotel.
We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future and live up to our promise of excellent service.
Sincerely yours
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.7 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
733 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.9 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amarilia Hotel
Amarilia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Address: 40 Apollonos, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece (Formerly Astir Palace Vouliagmeni)
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#5 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range: $765 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Hotel Vouliagmeni
Westin Athens
Westin Vouliagmeni
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing