We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The perfect getaway, just half an hour from the airport and just half an hour from downtown Athens, yet worlds away from all the hustle and bustle. This place is a beautiful escape and perfect vacation location with breath taking views. The hotel provided a lovely suite overlooking the sea with spacious balconies, excellent service. All the restaurants were wonderful! We tried all of them with the exception of Nobu.

If you'd like to venture into Athens the hotel provides a shuttle bus into the city.

Our family had an amazing time. We look forward to returning to Westin Athens!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dctravelexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest;
Thank you for your stay and your kind comments about The Westin Athens hotel!
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the restaurant choices, the hotel's location.
On behalf of the entire team at the Westin hotel, I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 617 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel on the Monday 1st October 2012 on our way back from Peloponese to France. I am a regular customer of westin and I am a long time platinium / gold member of the SPG program. In order to help management to collect feed back my room number was 2363. Here are our main negative points on this hotel:
1- Globally the hotel needs a deep renovation to be at the standard of usual Westin category. Corridors to access rooms are just decorated like in the 70's and in an 'unconfortable' way (please check the pictures),
2- When we checked in, as a VIP member of SPG I have to be offered few amenuities like welcome gift, free mineral water in the room etc ... all this has been forgotten by the front desk associates, and I had to ask for it several time,
3- When arriving at our room (it was around 6 pm), a tray with previous occupant's drink / food was lying in front of our door step (check the pictures), what a nice welcome gift, the food was probably there for some time since the smell was not very pleasant. On this, I called the FO to ask them to ensure a quick pick up of the tray but this one remained there till the next morning and our check ou ...
4- We were thinking about having dinner within the hotel's restaurant which are bit expensive. To see if there were any instantreward within the fidelity program I requested the FO to tell me more about the different possibilities. The concerned FO associates didn't understand my request. After several explanations, she told me that nothing was available but without checking anything, wondering myself if she finnally knew what I was talking about,
5- In the room, the decoration is also also old and the infrastructures should be taken care of:
- bathrobes were damaged at the belt level,
- furnishing on the terrasse are damaged (chair and sun lounge),
- water from the shower is licking to the toilets,
- bathroom roof is damaged with humidity,
- water is licking out from the nespresso machine,
- all lights in the room are equipped with high power consumption bulbs and were covered with dust (which especially funny when the hotel is encouraging you not to chnage your linnen to help saving energy and the environment ...).

Regarding the breakfast, not much choice is there, glasses / plates etc... are not at a 5 stars quality level. We laught a lot about the glasses available for juice since we used to have the same ones 30 years ago when we were at school ...napkins are damaged and no greek specialities during the breakfast, even the honey looked like industrial !!!

Regarding the beach, the hotel finally has not a real beach but more an aterficial one and the pool is like the hotel, past aged.

Finally when leaving the hotel, we left a feed back form to the front office, listing the above points and proposing it to be shared with the director of the hotel Mr De Bleck if my memory's right. We were proposing him, if he wished, to contact us directly for a more detailed feed back. Nothing came yet, they probably don't care on how to improve the quality of the service.

As a conclusion, I would say that this hotel doesn't deserve both its five stars or westin level, even few things without large expenditures could be done to improve the luxuary feeling. Service is poor, the positive point being mainly its nice position near Athens but what could we expect for a room at 725 euros / night ?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibounou74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest;
I appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments concerning your recent stay at The Westin Athens hotel. It is mainly through our guest’s feedback – YOUR feedback – that we may discover ways to upgrade our services and facilities to impeccable quality standards.
First of all I would like to apologize for the seemingly delayed reply which was due to the multiple sources through which you have addressed your concerns to us (feedback card upon check-out, trip advisor review and Starwood Customer Service Center) since we were trying to evaluate all information in order to provide an answer to you.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay with us and for failing to make you feel like a valued SPG guest. Although we constantly attempt to meet – and whenever possible exceed – our guests´ expectations, in your case we evidently failed to do so.
We were very concerned to read your detailed comments concerning your experience with us. I have gone through your comments very carefully with the relevant departments to see where the problem areas lie and to ensure they are not repeated. It is obvious that the human errors of some of our team members led to your disappointment and created such a negative image towards our hotel.
We would like to respectfully inform you that, as you have personally experienced the resort is extended in a very large piece of land and the peninsula where is situated is considered one of the most stunning and picturesque areas of Athens and Greece in general due to its natural beauty and location.
Kindly note that after the end of the high season, our resort undertakes a full inventory and broad maintenance of equipment and facilities in order to be ready for the upcoming high season. Additionally, our hotel is following an Energy Saving program and all the light bulbs will soon be replaced with economy solution ones.
Concerning your comments on the breakfast buffet, it displays all the Food and Beverage items corresponding to a 5 star hotel. We will definitely take under consideration your recommendation on including Greek specialties and the glasses used.
Once again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin hotel and provide you with the experience you should expect to receive from us.
In the meantime I remain.
Yours in hospitality,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is unique to get detached from the distractions and relax. Great location with perfect weather conditions, beautiful scenery an pleasant service can realy complete full day of joy - from sunrise to sunset. But only if you can afford this luxury.

Room Tip: Select a spacious bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldemar_Schneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest;
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments from your recent experience at the Westin Athens hotel.
We were very happy to read that you enjoyed all elements of your stay and found our staff to be professional and friendly.
We truly hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

It is not close to the tourist attractions, but as it wasn't our first time in Athens we had time to enjoy the hotel and the neighbourhood with nice restaurants and cafes. The hotel has a privet beach and a very nice swimming pool almost linked to the sea.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meyhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest;
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about The Westin Athens hotel!
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit.
On behalf of the entire team at the Westin hotel, I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

At a business conference at this hotel, which was somewhat a shame since we couldn't take advantage of the facilities until the last day. The staff is attentive, the rooms are large and have individual balconies/patios and the amenities are all top drawer. The restaurant/bar offers good, but not memorable food. If there were a negative about the Astir Palace is that it is not within easy walking distance to anything (you can walk there on winding roads without sidewalks, which is not ideal). But if you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy, you won't find many better.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors other than "0" have balconies rather than a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest;
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We value your comments and they will be shared with our associates.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A great hotel for a relaxing week, very modern hotel, every room with an excellent view, in the evening very peacefull, when you drinking a glass of wine at the terrace of your room. Very friendly staf, especially at the pool. Nice restaurants too. so when you are there, you must stay there.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DVK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest;
At The Westin Athens we strive to make every guests stay a unique one. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay that have created feeling moments.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Westin hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in a bungalow with a 16-month old baby in early September. The room was large, beautiful and very convenient, particularly the terrasse. However, it lacked shelves, especially in the bathroom. Moreover, it was only shower, no bath. The view was wonderful.
The nicest aspect of the hotel is in my view the sea. There is a large enclosed area, where you can swim and play. And then you can venture further and swim for a few kilometers. The water was very transparent. Temperature was around 24 in early September.
There are however a few unavoidable stairs to reach the beach from the bungalows. The hotel was a lift going from the main building to the beach, but not very convenient when you are not staying in the main building.

Room Tip: Staying in a bungalow is probably more confortable. However, if you want to access easily the servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear guest,
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support. We were sorry to read that we have failed to meet your expectations in certain areas and you have mixed feelings about our hotel.
We sincerely hope to see you again for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.7 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
754 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.9 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
116 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amarilia Hotel
Amarilia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Address: 40 Apollonos, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece (Formerly Astir Palace Vouliagmeni)
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#5 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range: $795 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Hotel Vouliagmeni
Westin Athens
Westin Vouliagmeni
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing