We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely except for the service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2009

It's not that all service is bad, for instance room service and house keeping are excellent, but service at the beach bar was quite bad and at Alia Brasserie service was just awful.

Also, I had the hotel arrange my transfer from the airport which they did but the person who picked me up - he introduced himself as Nikos - spent the entire journey yelling into his mobile: 40 minutes of angry shouting! Next time I think I'll be arranging my own transport.

The room was great though - big and comfy, large bathroom - almost as big as the bedroom. The room had a walk in closet and a balcony with sun lounger, table and two chairs.

The grounds are well maintained and beautiful, the beach is clean and the sea very clear and warm.

I would seriously consider returning if they sort out the service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LightSPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2009

Dear Guest;
We reviewed your comments very carefully regarding your stay with us at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa. We were very concerned to hear about the inconveniences you experienced with the performance of some staff members. We have gone through your comments very carefully with the relevant departments to see where the problem areas lie and to ensure they are not repeated. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the taxi service since we are cooperating with a specific taxi service company and we would like to investigate on that issue. We sincerely hope to see you again for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 421 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2009

The resort is located in a very private and secure area (gated with guards at the front) in one of the most exclusive suburbs of Athens. It has beautiful and serene beaches both of which have shallow parts great for the little ones. The Westin and Arion are in the same "compound" and share a parking lot and play ground and all guests can visit either pool or beach area. The public pays around 20 euro per person to go to a crowded private beach in a nearby cove which is not as nice as this one, which is why the resort is guarded. If you have friends in the area who want to visit you, keep in mind you are only allowed one free guest during the day and it is 75 euro per person after that until 7pm. The kid's club is not free and is mostly filled with Greek children who seemed quite happy under the care of their friendly teachers. The employees at this hotel, from the front desk to cleaning staff, bent over backwards to make sure your every need was met and that you and your children, in particular, were happy. Standouts include Maria at the front desk, Yiannis and Demetra on the executive/concierge floor and Elizabeth, the breakfast hostess, in the elegant restaurant next to the lobby. They treated us like family and went above and beyond what we expected for even a five star resort like this. There is a Sixt Car rental office on site and Stavros is very helpful. The shuttle only runs into Glyfada and Athens 2x during the day which almost makes a car mandatory if you want to go to the market, eat at more moderately priced restaurants or go shopping. The new Nobu (Matsuhisa) restaurant on the premises looked divine, although we never had the chance to dine there. Athens is quite a hike, about 40 min to 11/2 hrs away depending on traffic, but Glyfada has most everything you or your kids might need (eg. McDonald's, Applebee's, Pizza Hut and every upscale designer boutique you could ask for) and is only about 10 minutes away by car. There are also nightclubs and restaurants within a 10 min walk of the hotel.

Suggestions for improvements include an updated business center, with more than it's two older computers for both hotels. It was also inefficient to have to call the front desk to send someone over to enter a code into the printer for each page you needed, such as a boarding pass or email. The pool area could have used more servers during the busy weekend too.

We are fortunate enough to have visited Four Season Resorts, St. Regis, and other hotels of that caliber and feel that the customer service at the Arion was more sincere than some of those properties. The personality of the hotel was very European, but that is why we preferred it to Mexico or Hawaii and would wholeheartedly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

The resort didn't look all that interesting from the outside, but it was gorgeous inside and the view... the view from the back is AMAZING! At the front desk, you'll see an award hung up on the wall for Best Hospitality. Granted it was awarded in 2006 or somewhere around there, I found the staff professional and friendly. In particular... an airline lost my luggage and the airport refused to deliver it to the hotel once it was recovered. They claimed the delivery service was not included in the fare I purchased. What?! Anyhow, Cristina (one of the front desk attendant) fought a hard fight for me... esp. since I didn't speak any Greek. In the end, I lost, but I gave her A+ for the effort! In addition, we got upgraded to a bigger suite which was much appreciated for 3 people. Although they didn't have a shuttle to/from the airport, they do have a complimentary shuttle to/from the downtown area. I'd definitely come back to the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This is a superbly located hotel right on the Attica coastline. The views of the sea from the hotel were magnificent. We had a really good experience here. The receptionist upgraded our room to a bungaloo which was unexpected. The bungalow was more private and had large, covered terrace which was just lovely. The room was modern in style with white fabrics and kept very clean. It was good size with a seating area. The bathroom was sleek with light grey marble, but a bit too modern for my taste with it partially being open to the sleeping area. At least the toilet and shower were closed off. The shower was large and had a fantastic rainfall showerhead. One complaint was that our closet doors were broken. The bellman was to have somebody come by and fix them, but it never happened. The main hotel was very nice. The large terrace in back was ideal for relaxing in the sun. The restaurant also had a terrace overlooking the sea which made for a nice breakfast experience. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive and pretty good except for the eggs being cold and the bacon being soggy. We hadn't planned on using the pool, but noticed that it was drained. One would need to walk to the Westin to use their pool. Not a big deal since the Westin's pool looked nicer. The small beach area was also very welcoming, clean, and outfitted with lounge chairs. The water was so crystal clear, but a bit chilly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I had some hesitation about the property after a few of the negative reviews on here but I can say wholeheartedly that this was one of the best hotel stays of my life. I am a Starwood Preferred Guest and have stayed in dozens of Starwood properties across the world and this was simply the best so far. I will say that many of the reasons we enjoyed our stay so much was not really due to anything the hotel did per se. Meaning, the location and view really were the major selling points. Having said that, the rooms were top notch. Dual sinks in bathroom, separate shower with great tub overlooking the sea, perfect bed, huge walk in closet, enormous balcony. If you have a choice between the sea view rooms and garden view rooms the sea view is worth the extra expense.

The service was great too. While at first I thought the service was not as good as in the States because it was very hands off, I ended up enjoying this very much. The front desk staff handled everything from car rental to off site restaurant reservations but they did it in a way that was not pushy. They didn't necessarily anticipate needs, but they would do everything they could once you asked.

The area surrounding the hotel was much better than expected. TONS of great restaurants within walking distance and the area also felt very safe. The Spa at the Arion was also top notch and worth every penny. The private beach is clean, and we were always able to find an open chair even though the property was sold out. Walked across the way to the Westin and while it was nice it was no where near the level of the Arion. Also far more children at the Westin.

A great property in an amazing location. We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdjhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2009

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa. Judging from your comments it gave us great pleasure to read that our staff members met and exceeded in certain areas your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Fantastic location, Superb rooms with excellent bed and pillows. Starwood has done a really great job in means of design and construction. We also enjoed the Spa while our son was taken excellent care bu the kids club. Our only complaint was the poor breakfast room decoration and the very expensive prices at the Minibar. (5,50euros for a 250ml bottle of water!!!) Could also have some extra room amenities...
But at the end, perfect atmosphere :)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiros_Georgiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2009

Dear Guest,
We read your review and are very happy to know that your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa was an enjoyable experience.
In our attempt to improve this resort, we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests; and I can reassure you that your comments will be well taken into consideration.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Had a fabulous time in Greece and I would highly recommend it if you have never been. Stayed at the Arion Resort & Spa and had a very enjoyable stay. Loved the room - it was very clean and upscale. The breakfast was great and the view beautiful - couldn't ask for more. It was quiet which is great for relaxing, nice gym and also had a nice massage at the spa.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HunterM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, Complex General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2009

Dear Guest,

We read your review and are very happy to know that your stay at the Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa was an enjoyable experience.

We sincerely hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.

Sincerely,
Grégory de Clerck
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.8 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#3 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
115 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
455 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 40 Apollonos | Astir Palace Resort, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range: $663 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to be!The legendary atmosphere of Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa is enhanced by contemporary surroundings and spectacular views of the Saronic Gulf. Guest rooms and suites delight the senses with creative touches. The most distinctive feature, the resort's fully renovated bungalows, offer the ultimate in privacy and privileged services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Arion, a Luxury Collection Hotel Vouliagmeni
The Luxury Collection Athens
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing