We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

To echo other reviewers, this is a beautiful, usually tranquil spot to use as a base outside the city of Athens.

Our family of three stayed in a Grand Deluxe Garden View Room, booked using SPG reward points and cash (for the "Grand" part). The room held the three of us nicely with a king bed and rollaway. The room was very nice, quiet, and comfortable, and the bath was pretty and huge. The balcony was very nice. We visited the bar (expensive) but not the restaurant (too expensive - 30 euros for breakfast). The garden view is lovely, facing south and looking over trees toward the marina and Myrtoan Sea. The sea view rooms face Astir Beach to the north, and may have a sunset view in the summer. Athens itself is blocked by a ridge. I don't think the sea view is worth the premium during quiet time, but might be more interesting in summer.

The facility is pretty, but a little run-down in spots. There is a "beach" close by, a large sun-deck and bar, watersports rental, an infinity pool, spa (we didn't use), and reception garden for weddings and such. The staff was courteous and helpful (especially housekeeping).

While the hotel was quiet during our 15-17 May visit, we were told that business conferences were beginning the following week, and that the hotel would be very busy...would've changed the complexion of things.

For our one dinner in Vouliagmeni, we took a cab to Ithaki Restaurant - highly recommended.

If I had a wish, it would be for in-room coffee...or at least a cheap cup downstairs in the morning. Overall, we were very pleased with our choice to escape downtown Athens and stay at the Arion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear kidmiles;
We are grateful for your feedback on your recent stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel, as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support.
We are happy that we have fulfilled one of our missions: to make our guests stay memorable.
I was especially glad to read that you truly experienced a large number of the services we have to offer.
I have passed on your comments to the line staff about their excellent service, they were most happy!
Thank you also for your suggestions which have been taken into consideration.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Your sincerely,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 421 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here in April, so it wasn't too busy - location wise you are about 40 minutes from central Athens, but if you want a base away from the city, this is hard to beat. The hotel overlooks a beautiful bay and has its own enclosed swimming beach (as well as an infinity pool). The room I had had this view and it was great to sit there each morning on the small terrace and take it all in. The breakfast buffet was extensive and very good and overall the food during our stay was of a high standard and you'd certainly never starve. The hotel concierge arranged for a taxi to take us to the Temple of Poseidon at the southern tip (highly recommend) for a half day trip and overall were very helpful when we needed anything and also arranged transport for us back to Athens, which was convenient (if a little pricey) at the end of our stay. Not a hotel to stay in if you are planning to spend time exploring Athens, but as an escape from the city (and the heat in the summer) and a place to relax, it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear nickworld08,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments for your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel under this forum.
We were happy to read that you had a memorable stay and you were satisfied with the extensive breakfast and its qualityt, the hotel's location, beaches and views.
We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Michael Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is an ideal hotel to stay in if you are planning to visit Athens but don't want to stay in the city itself. It has a reputation for being one of the more expensive hotels but we certainly got a very good deal. It may be because of the economy and hotels generally reducing their prices; I am not sure.
I love the secluded setting and warm shallow waters. The beaches are not huge but perfectly acceptable for what was otherwise, for us at least, a short city break.
There are great views from either side of the hotel and the only thing stopping me giving an excellent rating were the restaurants. They are perfectly acceptable but not quite to a fine dining standard.
That said, if I was visiting Athens again, I would be short listing the Arion.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank TedToToe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear TedToToe;
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed all elements of your stay.
We are indeed very proud of our resort.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed for four days in two bungalows each with their own pool - it cost almost £1000 euros per night in total - I think the word bungalow is a slight strech as its basically one relatively small room with a bathroom - but the views were beautiful and the small pool and own patio overlooking the beach was great. Generally we had fantastic food - the breakfast buffet was particularly good. We had kids with us and there are a lot of business people in suits around but it was still child friendly, the staff in the restaurant and bars were great and it is a nice hotel which is should be considering the price we paid for it. The beach was also completely empty most of the time so it felt like we had our own private beach.
However - my stay was dissapointing as I was so tired due to the noise every night - outside the bungalow is an electric blind which looks very nice but during the night it bangs on the frame creating a very loud noise every 10 seconds or so - the first time I heard it I got up as I thought someone was knocking at the door it was that loud - I spoke to a very arrogant and rude woman the next day who said very bluntly "I'll talk to housekeeping" but it was never fixed and therefore we were kept awake virtually all night for the whole stay. I think if the staff on reception had been a bit more friendly I would have gone back and tried again but the woman I spoke to was very arrogant and unhelpful. The facilities and the hotel itself is lovely but when you are paying almost 1000 euros a night you expect at the very least to be able to sleep - its impossible to enjoy the rest of the hotel facilities when you are so tired. I was also a bit put out that when you are paying this sort of rate you also have to pay an additional 15 euros a day for wifi. We were also not told on check in about the free minibus to athens. Overall not sure I'd recommend this hotel considering the price which is a shame as the location is perfect.

Room Tip: If you chose a bungalow make sure they've fixed the noise problem. There is a free shuttle to At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGALL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear CGALL1,
I appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments concerning your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. It is mainly through our guest’s feedback that we may discover ways to upgrade our services and facilities to impeccable quality standards.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for the negative impression that your stay left.
Considering our e-mail communication regarding your stay, I shall limit myself to confirming our offer.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Arion hotel and provide you with the experience you should expect to receive from us.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Arrived late evening , checked in , hotel looked great , went straight for dinner , being vegetarian not much on menu but Chef made us excellent veg meal at very short notice, rooms were very nice though garden view , sea view would have been better. Staff are very helpful , service excellent , location no words to mention. Hotel provides shuttle service to centre of Athens , We missed Tea/Coffee facilities in room.Thoroughly enjoyed the experince. Swimming pools , beach area in front of Sea , excellent view , deffinately would recomend to anyone
Perfect hotel to relax and enjoy professional service of the staff

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms would be better than Garden View, Tea Coffee facility would help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghanshyam1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Ghanshyam1949;
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.
We are happy that we have fulfilled one of our missions: to make our guests stay memorable.
I was especially glad to read that you truly experienced a large number of the services we have to offer.
I have passed on your comments to the line staff about their excellent service, they were most happy!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Your sincerely,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed at Arion late April with my husband and 1 year old son.
The facts:
The location of this complex is amazing, breathtaking views and quite close to the city centre (approx 30 min when downtraffic is normal).
Facilities are OK yet you do feel they would need a slight refurbishment, they do give you sometimes a melancholic 70's feel.
Food not bad but certainly overpriced.
The staff were very helpful though and were very responsive to all our requests and queries.
Not sure if we would pick again for a stay at Athens but the experience we had was quite positive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Mary B,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. It is mainly through our guest’s feedback that we may discover ways to upgrade our services and facilities to impeccable quality standards.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and you were satisfied with the hotel's location, the views and you were pleased from the helpful approach of our staff.
Regarding your other comments, kindly note that your points have been taken into consideration.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during Easter weekend. The staff are excellent and make you feel very welcome. We had a sea view room which was spacious with a large bathroom with separate shower. Very clean and well worth the extra cost for the sea view. Lots of outdoor space with sun loungers around the pretty cove. Breakfast is served in their Italian restaurant or you can choose to eat outdoors on the terrace overlooking the bay. There is sufficient choice with freshly squeezed juices and fresh eggs cooked to order. Bar service is good however the food served at the bar is mediocre. After having lunch at the bar, a toasted cheese and ham toastie which was ok we decided to have lunch in their Italian restaurant. This was very nice and service was excellent. We also tried their Sushi restaurant which is in another building. Ask for a table at the window. It took us a while to read the menu but the waitress helped explain everything. The sushi was delicious as was the wagu beef. If you are looking for a hotel close to Athens with a pretty view and on the sea then I would recommend this. Taxis to Athens are around 25 euros.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillieLasne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstirPalaceResort, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear MillieLasne; On behalf of the entire team at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are happy that we have fulfilled one of our missions: to make our guests stay memorable. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed all elements of your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens. Yours sincerely, Michael S. Metaxas - Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.8 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#7 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
115 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
455 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 40 Apollonos | Astir Palace Resort, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range: $668 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to be!The legendary atmosphere of Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa is enhanced by contemporary surroundings and spectacular views of the Saronic Gulf. Guest rooms and suites delight the senses with creative touches. The most distinctive feature, the resort's fully renovated bungalows, offer the ultimate in privacy and privileged services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Arion, a Luxury Collection Hotel Vouliagmeni
The Luxury Collection Athens
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing