We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A 5 Star By A Long Shot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at this property during the first weekend of May. Was hesitant to due so because of the mixed reviews, The setting is absolutely stunning, however, there is zero customer service. Beach/pool attendants are non existants, the only way to get a pool/beach towel is to have it delivered to your room first. And don't even think about asking for an extra one. Evidently they think that someone who spends several hundred dollars per night on a room is going to take home a cheap bath towel. Crazy!
Believe the reviews about the hotel restaurant. It is bland, medicore and just plain pathetic. In addition to the horriblle food, they play the same classical cd over and over. In the course of an hour you'll hear the same song played four times. Not just the restaurant, but the lobby too. I've never seen anything like it.
The indoor pool has cracked tiles, some have fallen off and rest on the bottom of the pool.
How this hotel became a member of the Luxury Collection is beyond me.
If you're lookling for a five star property, this isn't it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesN601BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear JamesN601BN;
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay with us.
I have gone through your comments very carefully with the relevant departments to see where the problem areas lie and to ensure they are not repeated. Please note that indeed the hotel had just opened for its summer operation during your stay and therefore the outlets and the pool area of the resort were not in service yet.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Arion hotel and provide you with the experience you should expect to receive from us.
Your sincerely,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 421 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I keep coming back here over and over again, either for leisure or when on business trip in Athens (ok, you add 20 mins of commuting but it is worth it). Two hotels, Arion and Westin are on he same proprety and are sharing small peninsula between two calm bays. The hotel is great, with beautiful view and it is the main reason to stay there. Sunrise on the one side, sunset on another, swimming pool and sea, including small private beach - one doesn't even needs to leave the proprety so nice is the place. Obviously, very crowded during the season but much calmer outside of June-August period.

Room Tip: Both sides are good - north west a bit calmer but south-east nice n the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Loyal Scipion-Paris,
We are delighted to read your wonderful comments on your last stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. We are always delighted to receive such wonderful reviews.
Once again thank you for your valued comments and your loyalty towards the Arion Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just the lobby, just the lobby makes it worth it. From the lobby the view is breathtaking, amazing, glorious. Sunsets from the lobby bar are just something else --sorry, you got to be there to see it; can't describe them. The room, the pool, the beach, the stuff... everything was great. And their restaurant is good too; their breakfast buffet is just too much --cheeses, olives, dried meats, and the usual egg and potatoes. The hotel is part of a huge complex that includes the Westin, which has a great pool and outdoors restaurant that you can enjoy just as if you were staying there. Our experience was great, and we recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a quiet vacation accompanied by great pools, beaches and sunsets galore.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyinoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear dannyinoa,
Thank you for your positive comments on your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed all elements of your stay. Our breakfast selection is indeed extensive and I am pleased you like it.
We hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Michael Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here in February so it was pretty quiet. Reception was friendly. I was upgraded to Room 1411 which was a suite overlooking the water. I enjoyed the food and beverages that were set out for the Platinum Lounge in the morning and evening. I never saw anyone else there but it was perfect for me to get some fruit and cheese, etc. I also enjoyed the Platinum amenity when I checked in - a bottle of wine and dried fruits and nuts.
The bathroom in this suite was crazy large with a huge shower. Walk-in closet was nice. The balcony stretched across both the bedroom and living room with awesome views.
Unfortunately I was only here one night. I caught a taxi from the Grande Bretagne and the taxi driver was really a tour guide as he showed and described everything from Athens to the hotel. He was so good that I got his number and the next day the front desk called him for me and he came back, picked me up, showed me more of the area and then took me to Sounion where he waited patiently while I saw the temple. He was helpful in the gift shop at Sounion because the owner didn't speak the best English. After Sounion he dropped me at the airport. I had considered renting a car for this last day but it was so much better paying the extra money for this excellent taxi driver. I have his number if anyone wants it!
Everything about this hotel was perfect for me as I prepared to end my time in Athens.

Room Tip: Room 1411 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemokota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Nemokota;
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience from your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay that have created feeling moments.
We were especially glad to read that you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the Executive lounge, the hotel's location and found our staff to be friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arion hotel for a longer stay this time.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Arion. We were welcomed by an extremely friendly lady at reception who explained us all the facilities of the hotel. As SPG platinum we got a nice upgrade and access to the lounge.
Our rate included breakfast, so we had this at the main dining room rather than the lounge. In our opinion the selection was very good. There were really PLENTY of cold items of good quality and eggs were prepared freshly and brought to our table. Seating was inside or outside (unfortunately most mornings were too cold to eat on the terrace, since there is no morning sun on the ocean side of the resort). Service was very nice and friendly. Since we didn't particularly like the regular coffee we ordered Latte Macchiato which was excellent and delivered swiftly (and of course without extra charge).
One night we had dinner at the Japanese reataurant. Quite expensive, again friendly service, but the food was just barely OK.
The Greek restaurant (same that is open for breakfast) was open till 16h, so we had late luncheons there a few times. Food and service again were nice. Unfortunately, for dinner there was only one alternative to Japanese, namely the Italian restaurant - That one we didn't like at all, very small selection and food was mediocre at best. Any way, I wonder who would want to eat Italian in Greece?
Gym was well equipped (newish Technogym equipment), but a bit small. I was there 4 times, and 3 times a friendly German speaking Greek trainer was present, who was more than happy to explain and help.
The hotel is located about 30 min by taxi from Athens airport. The small town of Vouliagmeni is in walking distance (some restaurants, not much else). Glyfada is a 15min/10 EUR taxi ride away. There is also a free shuttle bus from the hotel to Glyfada and the center of Athens. We didn't use it though.
The Westin is really next door, but is only open from end of April to October. Their restaurants would certainly expand the choice in season.
I must say after reading some quite negative reviews here on TripAdvisor, especially mentionning unfriendly service, I was a little bit worried. However we had a really great stay and everybody was perfectly nice with us at the Arion.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank swisszrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear swisszrh,
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback on our hotel.
Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.
As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay that have created feeling moments.
We were especially glad to read that you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the Executive lounge, the gym facilities, the hotel's location and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back during the summer season when you will be able to enjoy a larger variety of outlets and services.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Pros:
- wonderful starwood platinum upgrade policy. Loved the suite AND the fact that the upgrade was given without having to ask at check-in.
- nice and quiet rooms, really liked that the door shut themselves quietly. Hate those slamming doors that wake all guests in nearby rooms.
- what a great idea having a separate elevator on the top floor going directly down to the spa/fitness center on the ground floor.
- free self parking.
- magnificent sea views from almost all of the rooms.

Cons
- selection at breakfast was poor and the same every day (stayed fire nights). The quality was also quite low, e.g. the cofee and juice selection was awful, And why not offer nespresso coffee at breakfast when there is a nespresso machine in the lounge?
- one, horrible CD playing again and again at breakfast. Some soft versions of modern hits. Not very classy.
- club lounge had a nice setting with balconies on both sides, but the food selection was limited and poor. The breakfast in the morning here was a joke, and the evening offerings were gone in 20 minutes, The wine was horrible, a hotel is better off serving no wine instead of some extremly cheap stuff.
- no staff in gym. Sorry parents, but it is not okay sending your children to the gym to play with the equipments. Had a work-out ruined by a family that obviously was bored and decided to use the gym as a fun factory.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear jechho,
I appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments concerning your recent stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. In our attempt to improve this resort, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.
We were glad to read that you were satisfied with your suite, parking, the hotel's location and views.
On the other hand we were concerned reading your comments on the selection of the breakfast and the quality of food. We would like to respectfully inform you that our hotel is supplied with premium quality products and the breakfast offers a wide variety - equivalent to hotels of the same category with ours.
Regarding the breakfast at the Executive lounge, indeed due to its space we cannot present the same variety as in the main restaurant.
We sincerely apologize that you could not enjoy the gym, but we are sure you will understand that we cannot prevent families using the hotel facilities.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Arion hotel and provide you with the experience you should expect to receive from us.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good Hotel, wonderful Location, Nice scenic view facing aegean Sea. Food in Restaurants is Good, understaffed but they Take Good care of you. Concierge is really Helpful.

I am spg Gold. So Take my Feedback accordingly.

now lets come to the only worse Part, front desk.......Check in - Horrible. If you have questions it gets even worse. let me Qualify it for the Hotel General Manager.

Staff at Front desk has huge attitude, politeness absolutely missing. They are always right.
As frequent traveller One gets demanding especially while on leisure Travel or Travel with Family etc vs Business Travel ( where Focus is more on Speed).

Your Front desk staff failed three Times. Check in - what Rate applies? Lot of confusion and then i was told, how right they are, really when i could prove it clearly. a simple sorry would be great. but that doesnt exist in vocab i guess. Another query -abruptly answered, Rudely.

Finally After Ordnering cushion for Outdoor wooden furniture, delayed for 1 hour After ordering. My only reminder call was answered Rudely as " yes. Hello..... We are Aware of your request, we are trying to find clean cushion... Ok? ".... Very Rude call to the Effect that i should Take offense.
Normal answer could have "Sorry it is Taking us more time and understand that you had to wait. Pls bear with us".

I have Stayed at starwoodhotels in over 15 countries and understand clearly what Customer Service is? This is the Most Horrible Front desk i have Seen in my 7 years of Association with starwood.

Room Tip: Take Sea view room and beware of Front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkft_dhyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear fkft_dhyani,
I appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments concerning your recent stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. In our attempt to improve this resort, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.
We were glad to read that you were satisfied with the hotel's location and views, the quality of food.
On the other hand we were concerned you’re your experience with the Front Office caused you mixed feelings about our hotel. We truly hope you will give us the chance to restore your trust in our services and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Arion hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.8 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#7 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
115 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
455 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 40 Apollonos | Astir Palace Resort, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range: $668 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to be!The legendary atmosphere of Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa is enhanced by contemporary surroundings and spectacular views of the Saronic Gulf. Guest rooms and suites delight the senses with creative touches. The most distinctive feature, the resort's fully renovated bungalows, offer the ultimate in privacy and privileged services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Arion, a Luxury Collection Hotel Vouliagmeni
The Luxury Collection Athens
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing