We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service despite being in a fantastic location” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible Service despite being in a fantastic location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Astir Palace. Travelling extensively around the world staying at many 5 star resorts from Aman's to Ritz Carltons to small boutique hotels we were truelly shocked by our expericence. The hotel is in a fantastic location. There is no or little service at the hotel. At 10.15 am the beach towels & old drinks from the night/day had not been cleared away and nor were there any staff avalaible to help me find a clean beach towel never mind a glass of water. At the breakfast buffet I asked for a clean table cloth and the waiter told me to clean it myself. The pancakes were like rubber and the general level of staff service is something I have never experienced anywhere in the world. The country has one of the highest unemployment rates and to find almost no staff anywhere is really shocking. The only saving grace was the service at Nobu which is privately owned and run which was as it should have been 5 star in everyway. The hotel is tired except for the bungalows. The bungalow next to us had broken tiles and an empty swimming and was in a general state of disrepair. This hotel should not have the rating it has and needs serious attention from the owners. It should not be a Starwood hotel. We have stayed in many Starwood all around the world most recently in Sardinia and this hotel has many lessons to learn.Such a shame as the location and the Nobu could make this a fantastic resort.

Room Tip: Bungalow over looking the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest;
I appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments concerning your recent stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay with us.
We were very concerned to read your comments concerning your experience with us. I have gone through your comments very carefully with the relevant departments to see where the problem areas lie and to ensure they are not repeated. It is obvious that the human errors of some of our team members led to your disappointment and created such a negative image towards our hotel.
We would like to respectfully inform you that, as you have personally experienced the resort is extended in a very large piece of land.
Kindly note that after the end of the high season, our resort undertakes a full inventory and broad maintenance of equipment and facilities in order to be ready for the upcoming high season.
Once again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
On the other hand, we would like to thank on your comments concerning Matsuhisa Athens restaurant. We are indeed very proud that Nobu has selected our resort in order to host this restaurant in the area of Athens.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Arion hotel and provide you with the experience you should expect to receive from us.
Your sincerely,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    126
    33
    24
    21
See reviews for
101
164
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castelsardo, Italy
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Have just been then for a company's meeting, so my comment could not be' complete, especially related to the price paid and thanks to have find 30 degrees at the end of october. Some short comments: the location is fantistic, and you can see the sea by any room, but 4th floor surely the best option. Price of minibar are shamely too expensive and service at breakfast could have been better, but worth to say that during the general strike we face very little inconvenience.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ravone68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel we would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
In our attempt to improve this resort, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.
I was sorry to hear that you have mixed feelings about our hotel. We hope that you will grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Arion hotel in the future.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I visit Athens since I really like the idea of staying by the beach while I am in a city.The hotel is located in Vouliagmeni only 40 minutes away from the center.The view is amazing and the rooms are new since the hotel was recently renovated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DF K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We read your review and are very happy to know that once again your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa was an enriching experience. Thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel. We are always delighted to receive such wonderful reviews.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Due to my StarHOT status I choose not to stay in Athens citycentre because I wanted to try the coast of the mainland of Greece and extend my 2-week beach holiday at the Greek Islands. We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the private beach and view this resort has. The nicest receptionist (unfortunately I don't remember his name) gave us an upgrade and the room was fantastic! During the day we enjoyed the sun at the private beach and we were very impressed of the bartender at the beachbar. He gave us impressive recomendations about wine and when we asked for a "Spritzer", he served us the perfect alternative that was even better!. At night we asked the same receptionist for recommendations about restaurants and he had more than enough to recommend. Too many for one night, but so nice! Eventually we went to the hotel restaurant and we had a perfect dinner and ambiance. Very nice Greek wines, food and the nicest hosts. If I have to give feedback or critics: There was something about the waiter at breakfast. I could tell that he didn't ment to be rude, but he had a loud voice and gave an aggressive impression. Overall we had a great time at the Arion. The perfect ending of our vacation. Although I had the advantage to be a "Starhotguest" I would love to return to this Resort any time (even without a discount).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logowesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel we would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. Your report has retained all our attention. It’s great to hear that you had a memorable experience and you found our staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arion hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

While the rest of Greece sits watching its once proud credit rating slide into oblivion, one hotel at least stands ready to buck the trend and prove that the Greeks still know how to deliver a luxury hotel experience.

After arrival in Athens we travelled from the airport to Vouliagmeni to check into the Astir Palace, Arion resort and spa prior to boarding a cruise ship the following day.

The trip through Athens by road left me wondering where I might be able to attain some anti depression medication, as the impact of the GFC was clear to see. I thought we had landed in Lebanon by mistake!! - Thank goodness we were staying in a hotel on the Athenium Peninsula, which was like arriving on another planet although only minutes from the doom and gloom of "beautiful" down town Athens.

Sweeping palacial foyers and friendly staff greeted us on our arrival, following which we were offered a cool refreshment on a vast verandah overlooking the sprawling 75 acres which constitute the resorts property. Down below we could see the beaches and the beautiful colour of the ocean of the Saronic gulf. A light warm breeze smooched gently against our our skins as we sat sipping happily on our cocktails and taking in the views.

Soon after, we headed up to our Grand Deluxe room to freshen up and change. The room was lovely and it had a large balcony overlooking the ocean. All of the amenities that you would expect from a 5 star hotel were available in the room, which had a generous bath, shower, twin basins as well as a very comfy King size bed and plenty of room to swing a Cat if required.

After freshen up we headed down to the beach. The resort has a large bar and restaurant on the beach as well as ample sitting areas and sun lounges. If you are feeling energetic, water skiing, jet skiing and a host of other summer activites are available right from the beachfront.

As the sun set in a Purple haze we sat sipping yet more coktails on the boardwalk by the beach prior to eating at the resorts restaurant nearby. Staff were excellent and the food was good.

The Athenium Riviera is a much more pallatable venue to stay at if you are travelling to Athens than in the city as it is very sophisticated and relaxed in addition to oozing luxury and comfort. Being only minutes from the city it is also a very convenient location.

Breakfast the next morning was out on yet another sweeping balcony overlooking the ocean ( inside seats also available) and the breakfast fare was vast and enjoyable. Friendly efficient staff were always around to assist.

This resort is ideal for couples wanting some romance action in the sun or for families who wish to bring rug rats and spoil the mood for those couples by deploying their 2 year old search and destroy offspring into the beach area. Whilst there, it looked like there was a lot more romance action afoot than screaming vermin destroying the tranquility. - However, warning ! percentages subject to change without notice.

If you are heading to Athens for a stay, this place is definately a better option than the morbid depression that a trip into the city will afford you. - Don't do it to yourself!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are elevated high above the beach below so lower floors are not an issue. Make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest;
At the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa we strive to make every guests stay a unique one. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay that have created feeling moments.
We are indeed very proud of our resort which is situated in one of the most beautiful and picturesque areas of Athens.
We were especially glad to read that you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the hotel's location and found our staff to be professional and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arion hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

well nothing can describe the feeling that we had in this Amazing hotel that seat on a half Island 25 min from Athens with a beautiful beaches Amazing Facilities and a great Service and hospitality.
one of the must beautiful places that i visit in my life!!
the Resort is very big so there is places for honeymooners there is beautiful beaches great for children's so you can come for any purpose.
Perfect Place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gili1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear guest;
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the services, the facilities and surroundings of the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. It’s great to hear that you had an enriching overall experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to during your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for three days and would be happy to stay again the next time i'm in Athens. What better after a busy morning sightseeing in Athens than to relax in the aftenoon on the hotel beach. Stayed in one of the bungalows, had everyting you needed including a sea view - breakfast on the balcony was a fantastic way to start the day. Hotel had all the usual facilities and if you wanted more you could also use the facilities of the Westin next door which does have a nicer pool. Used the gym which was well equiped for it's size, the Spa looked great but didnt get round to using it. Staff were generally freindly and efficient.

Room Tip: Bungalow with Sea view - or upgrade to one with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest;
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about the Arion Resort & Spa hotel!
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your bungalow, the hotel's location.
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion hotel, I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.1 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.5 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Amarilia Hotel
Amarilia Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#7 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: 40 Apollonos | Astir Palace Resort, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to be!The legendary atmosphere of Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa is enhanced by contemporary surroundings and spectacular views of the Saronic Gulf. Guest rooms and suites delight the senses with creative touches. The most distinctive feature, the resort's fully renovated bungalows, offer the ultimate in privacy and privileged services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Arion, a Luxury Collection Hotel Vouliagmeni
The Luxury Collection Athens
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing