We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I visit Athens since I really like the idea of staying by the beach while I am in a city.The hotel is located in Vouliagmeni only 40 minutes away from the center.The view is amazing and the rooms are new since the hotel was recently renovated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DF K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
We read your review and are very happy to know that once again your stay at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa was an enriching experience. Thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel. We are always delighted to receive such wonderful reviews.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 421 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Due to my StarHOT status I choose not to stay in Athens citycentre because I wanted to try the coast of the mainland of Greece and extend my 2-week beach holiday at the Greek Islands. We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the private beach and view this resort has. The nicest receptionist (unfortunately I don't remember his name) gave us an upgrade and the room was fantastic! During the day we enjoyed the sun at the private beach and we were very impressed of the bartender at the beachbar. He gave us impressive recomendations about wine and when we asked for a "Spritzer", he served us the perfect alternative that was even better!. At night we asked the same receptionist for recommendations about restaurants and he had more than enough to recommend. Too many for one night, but so nice! Eventually we went to the hotel restaurant and we had a perfect dinner and ambiance. Very nice Greek wines, food and the nicest hosts. If I have to give feedback or critics: There was something about the waiter at breakfast. I could tell that he didn't ment to be rude, but he had a loud voice and gave an aggressive impression. Overall we had a great time at the Arion. The perfect ending of our vacation. Although I had the advantage to be a "Starhotguest" I would love to return to this Resort any time (even without a discount).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logowesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear guest,
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel we would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. Your report has retained all our attention. It’s great to hear that you had a memorable experience and you found our staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arion hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

While the rest of Greece sits watching its once proud credit rating slide into oblivion, one hotel at least stands ready to buck the trend and prove that the Greeks still know how to deliver a luxury hotel experience.

After arrival in Athens we travelled from the airport to Vouliagmeni to check into the Astir Palace, Arion resort and spa prior to boarding a cruise ship the following day.

The trip through Athens by road left me wondering where I might be able to attain some anti depression medication, as the impact of the GFC was clear to see. I thought we had landed in Lebanon by mistake!! - Thank goodness we were staying in a hotel on the Athenium Peninsula, which was like arriving on another planet although only minutes from the doom and gloom of "beautiful" down town Athens.

Sweeping palacial foyers and friendly staff greeted us on our arrival, following which we were offered a cool refreshment on a vast verandah overlooking the sprawling 75 acres which constitute the resorts property. Down below we could see the beaches and the beautiful colour of the ocean of the Saronic gulf. A light warm breeze smooched gently against our our skins as we sat sipping happily on our cocktails and taking in the views.

Soon after, we headed up to our Grand Deluxe room to freshen up and change. The room was lovely and it had a large balcony overlooking the ocean. All of the amenities that you would expect from a 5 star hotel were available in the room, which had a generous bath, shower, twin basins as well as a very comfy King size bed and plenty of room to swing a Cat if required.

After freshen up we headed down to the beach. The resort has a large bar and restaurant on the beach as well as ample sitting areas and sun lounges. If you are feeling energetic, water skiing, jet skiing and a host of other summer activites are available right from the beachfront.

As the sun set in a Purple haze we sat sipping yet more coktails on the boardwalk by the beach prior to eating at the resorts restaurant nearby. Staff were excellent and the food was good.

The Athenium Riviera is a much more pallatable venue to stay at if you are travelling to Athens than in the city as it is very sophisticated and relaxed in addition to oozing luxury and comfort. Being only minutes from the city it is also a very convenient location.

Breakfast the next morning was out on yet another sweeping balcony overlooking the ocean ( inside seats also available) and the breakfast fare was vast and enjoyable. Friendly efficient staff were always around to assist.

This resort is ideal for couples wanting some romance action in the sun or for families who wish to bring rug rats and spoil the mood for those couples by deploying their 2 year old search and destroy offspring into the beach area. Whilst there, it looked like there was a lot more romance action afoot than screaming vermin destroying the tranquility. - However, warning ! percentages subject to change without notice.

If you are heading to Athens for a stay, this place is definately a better option than the morbid depression that a trip into the city will afford you. - Don't do it to yourself!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are elevated high above the beach below so lower floors are not an issue. Make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest;
At the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa we strive to make every guests stay a unique one. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay that have created feeling moments.
We are indeed very proud of our resort which is situated in one of the most beautiful and picturesque areas of Athens.
We were especially glad to read that you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the hotel's location and found our staff to be professional and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arion hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

well nothing can describe the feeling that we had in this Amazing hotel that seat on a half Island 25 min from Athens with a beautiful beaches Amazing Facilities and a great Service and hospitality.
one of the must beautiful places that i visit in my life!!
the Resort is very big so there is places for honeymooners there is beautiful beaches great for children's so you can come for any purpose.
Perfect Place

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gili1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear guest;
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the services, the facilities and surroundings of the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. It’s great to hear that you had an enriching overall experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to during your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for three days and would be happy to stay again the next time i'm in Athens. What better after a busy morning sightseeing in Athens than to relax in the aftenoon on the hotel beach. Stayed in one of the bungalows, had everyting you needed including a sea view - breakfast on the balcony was a fantastic way to start the day. Hotel had all the usual facilities and if you wanted more you could also use the facilities of the Westin next door which does have a nicer pool. Used the gym which was well equiped for it's size, the Spa looked great but didnt get round to using it. Staff were generally freindly and efficient.

Room Tip: Bungalow with Sea view - or upgrade to one with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest;
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about the Arion Resort & Spa hotel!
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your bungalow, the hotel's location.
On behalf of the entire team at the Arion hotel, I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights 5 days from 10th September untill 14th, the staff were amazing! Super friendly and would do anything to please, pool was clean, rooms were a great size ( standard room) walk in shower, it is a resort with a beach , water sports etc, prices vary from 30 euros to 140 , great fun on the doughnut ride, the only let down was the extortionate prices for drinks and food (from main hotel) ie kir royal 16 euros, beer 8 euros, a round of sandwiches 130 euros! ( 4 sandwiches and 2 paninis with cheese balls x6 and a few crisps. Taxi to Athens town costs 15 euros so not too bad really. Couldn't fault the hotel apart from prices. If you get a chance go and eat at the moorings (5 minutes from hotel in taxi) or 15 minute walk.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Chopper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear guest;
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and surroundings of the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa hotel. It’s great to hear that you had an enriching overall experience and you found our staff amazing.
Concerning your comments for our pricing policy at the Food and Beverage department, I would like to respectfully inform you that many of our dishes are considered main course dishes due to their quantity and the prices are competitive to other hotels in the same category with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arion hotel during your next stay in Athens. Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Arion and got a bungalow. It was an amazing room overlooking the sea. I couldn't believe my eyes at how beautiful the view was. The bungalow was extremely nice and comfortable. I loved the minimalist furnishings. We had two wonderful balconies which we used in the morning and also to watch the sunset. The staff were very nice and friendly. Everyone from the front desk to the maids to the folks working the pool. We ate several times at the Taverna 37 and had really tasty Greek cuisine. Having stayed at the sister property of the Westin Athens several times, the only thing I would recommend for someone staying at the Arion is to go the Westin's lounge for the sunset. The Westin's pool is also nicer but the Arion has a beach so there is no reason to go the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_mgt, General Manager at Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest;
At the Arion, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa we strive to make every guests stay a unique one. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay, and especially a repeater guest as you, that have created feeling moments.
We are very proud of our bungalows which offer privacy and tranquility to our guest. I was especially glad to read that you truly experienced a number of the services we have to offer and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arion hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.8 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#3 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
115 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
455 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 40 Apollonos | Astir Palace Resort, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#6 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range: $668 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to be!The legendary atmosphere of Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa is enhanced by contemporary surroundings and spectacular views of the Saronic Gulf. Guest rooms and suites delight the senses with creative touches. The most distinctive feature, the resort's fully renovated bungalows, offer the ultimate in privacy and privileged services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Arion, a Luxury Collection Hotel Vouliagmeni
The Luxury Collection Athens
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing