We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at the Margi - it's unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Margi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Margi
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stay at the Margi - it's unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Margi is one of those wonderful hotels whose internet pages do it justice. If anything, the hotel is better than it looks on the net.

Where the Margi shines like a beacon in a dull, predictable world is in its public areas, from the reception to the dining room, the patio, the internal spaces and the pool area. The owner has taken the most painstaking effort to produce a stunning feeling of style, calm and character. There is not one part that has been skimped on - days after you arrive you will discover new nooks and crannies where a subtle light, a mirror or an artefact has been used to enhance the overall effect. The one thing you could never call the Margi is ordinary.

Of particular note is the pool area (but I could go on about all of them). Essentially this is just a rectangular space, but it has been turned into a stunning haven of luxury and style, a place to swim, sit, drink or eat. You could sit in a different area each day for a week and enjoy the new perspective. As darkness falls candles are lit, the pool lights come on, and the overall effect is quite stunning and memorable.

The welcome was delightful and the service excellent. Staff everywhere glided around in smart but informal 'uniforms'. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also a treat. Dinner delicious, but expensive (no open wines or free water - a shame). As a guest you felt valued and cared for.

Where does the Margi let itself down? Not in many places. The hotel is expensive, perhaps too expensive (but this seems to be a feature of many establishments in Greece, which appear to operate in some parallel universe). I object to paying over 20 euros for the cheapest Greek wine on the menu. The rooms are well designed and decorated, but rather unspecial (given the rest of the hotel), and the air conditioning seemed incapable of dealing completely with the heat outside. Bathrooms were fine, but not air conditioned, and therefore created a damp feeling which could spread into the room itself. But these are small criticisms - I cannot imagine there is anywhere better to stay in Vouliagmeni as long as you can afford the Margi.

Be warned that Vouliagmeni is a beach resort and nothing else. Delightful though it is, there are no shops to speak of and no interesting walks through the woods. The resort services tourism, pure and simple. And, if visiting in order to see the sights of Athens, this is much too far out to have a base.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    182
    66
    23
    17
See reviews for
109
275
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

I was given this hotel as a recommendation for a business trip and decided to stay here based on other trip advisor recommendations. At first impression, I was thoroughly impressed with the hotel. The porters in uniform waited eagerly at the entrance to greet your taxi and take your luggage. The walkway and reception are beautifully decorated with glass jars filled with candles, mood lighting, and comfortable sofas. Although the room was not extremely large, it was very nice with a balconey and the bed was very comfortable. The location is lovely. I ran in the morning along two separate beaches not far from either side of the hotel. I only wish I had brought my swim suit to jump in the sea. Even at 7am there were people in the water and it looked so refreshing! In the evening, candles are lit in the pool area and throughout the lobby and it is very romantic. I wish I was there on vacation with my husband, rather than on business by myself!

I didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on the food, although there were also plenty of other restaurants close by, some even overlooking the sea.

Really my only complaint was the staff. Although they were very friendly on check-in, they seemed to be somewhat cool and aloof after that, and I can't say I asked for much. (Unless directions or ordering a glass of wine at the pool is a lot!)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Great pool setting for Breakfast, Swimming, Lunch, Dinner or drinks.
Bar staff helpful and friendly.

Inside lobby a cool breeze from the heat and free internet stations are a plus.

Rooms could use an uplift as well as the elevators.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kidsroundtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Hotel came highly recommended and everyone in Athens knew of it. We paid a lot of money for this hotel which is meant to be 5 star. I think it is more 4 star with 2 star service. We were upgraded but the room was small. Breakfast felt dirty, nothing was clean. Staff rude, arrogant and in their own world. It just was not worth it. We stayed as we were attending a wedding so this hotel was recommended will not do that again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepidandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

I wouldn't know where to start. The hotel is beautiful, the service is great, the staff is like family, the food is excellent and the location... couldn't be better located in close proximity to Athens. Great times, I wish I was back there now... thank you Margi!

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzana_Gil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

First impressions are so important, this scores 10/10. Even the signage is cool, the porters in uniform wait eagerly to park your car/greet your taxi and take your luggage. The walkway and reception beautifully decorated with glass jars filled with candles, mood lighting, sofas and a log fire. The reception staff friendly, yet cool.
There are 5 floors, as this is my 4th stay in 6 months, I have almost tried each style, apart from the most expensive suites(love to though)! The room I would recommend are the odd no (03,-09). giving you a balcony overlooking the sea and pool. Most rooms have bath and shower, some only shower, best to specify your preference on booking. The mini bar is very expensive so a short 10 minute walk buys you a 10euro bottle wine and a 90cent beer and water. The beds are very comfortable with lovely feather filled duvets, toppers and pillows all encased in good quality white linen. The bathroom is marble, small but compact and the most lovely giveaways.
There are small flat screen TVs dvd players and a CD /radio player. Make sure you take some DVDs and CDs or a lead for your iPod. Room service was pricy but the price has now been reduced to 4euros for delivery it was 8!
My only complaint is that I have to bring my own kettle, cups and Teabags/coffee. as none in room, which is something I get used too with all my travelling.
The food is good, although fairly pricey, but lots local restaurants to choose from. The breakfast is self serve for food and waiter service for tea coffee. Not a great choice of healthy hot food but plenty fruit and bread items and home made preserves. Now the weather is warmer you can sit outside for breakfast gazing over the lovely pool area.
All in All, ask to see a few rooms for the best value as some are small with no balconies and still the charge per night is high, but I know you will have a lovely Romantic time here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarussell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

I spent quite some time choosing a hotel in Athens for this last trip before I go on maternity leave. I travel to Athens regularly and stay in the usual dull chain hotels (Marriott, Hilton etc). We wanted to stay out of town and Vouliagmeni is a nice spot although the public beaches are not much to write home about - you really need to pay up to visit private beaches and beach clubs (such as Balux in Glyfada - great fun!)
So, after much consultation I booked the Margi and we were really impressed. I am a sucker for 'boutique' style hotels and this really didn't disappoint with assorted antique furniture everywhere, lots of nooks and crannies to sit and have a romantic drink and really special rooms. We actually stayed in three different rooms during our stay including the Premium Suite which was truly fantastic and worth it for a special trip. Otherwise the Executive rooms were very well appointed, perhaps with small bathrooms but so beautifually decorated and tranquil.
The staff here have clearly been well trained. They are professional, helpful and make a big effort to make sure their customers are satisfied. We were staying during the "Volcano Crisis" and they were working very hard to keep everyone happy, change bookings etc yet still had time to do the usual liek advise on sightseeing, book taxis/restaurants.
High points: breakfast - delicious, having a nightcap in the candlelit courtyard, the view from the suite at the top of the hotel, huge beds, the professional yet personal service.
Not so good - the food was interesting enough and well presented but it's not really a 'destination' restaurant. Fine for one night but for a special occasion go up to Ithaki or into Athens. Good tavernas within walking distance as well as places to have coffee/a sandwich during the day.
This was a really important break for myself and my husband and I can honestly say The Margi really delivered. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank In_the_Woods4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Amarilia Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Apollon Suites
#7 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margi

Property: The Margi
Address: 11 Litous, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Margi 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel overlooking the Athenian Riviera.25 klms from the city centre and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Margi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margi Hotel Vouliagmeni
Margi Hotel Athens
The Margi Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing