We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Margi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Margi
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great service, lovely rooms and a nice intimate feel inside and around the pool. We dined at the restaurant in the evening and the food was superb. Breakfast was also fantastic. We left very relaxed. This hotel deserves its Leading Small Hotel of the World status.

The only negative comment I have is that we were interrupted 3 times by housekeeping on the morning we were checking out. Each time they seemed to have thought we had vacated already. There is no reason for housekeeping to interrupt on the day of check out until the guests have left. This was annoying and would have been so easy for the hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theabs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    182
    66
    23
    17
See reviews for
109
275
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at the Margi 3 days in July while visiting friends in Athens.
Loved the pool area, the staff was amazing, food in the restaurant was nice if not cheap.
The main reason for not rating it 5/5 was the rooms that a) were on the small side and b) felt more like a 4 star business hotel rather than a boutique hotel where I would normally expect the rooms to have an identity of their own. All in all we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stendahluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Margi for 5 days in early September as a wedding anniversary treat to ourselves. It was an enjoyable stay though not quite meriting a top rating. The downside was the small’ish room size, limited pool area and a sense of the place being a little too “corporate” (there was an event on whilst we stayed). On the plus side were the very pleasant staff, a decent breakfast spread (though no fresh orange juice), excellent fitness room and generally cool “vibe”. We ate the residents’ “special menu” dinner one evening and it was good quality and value, just a little disappointed that this menu did not appear to change during our stay.

Reference the small pool area; this is OK for chilling for a couple of hours but not really to spend the whole day. The best option is to walk to the nearly Astir Beach which for €13 per person (mid-week rate) you get access to a lovely bay, decent loungers, cafes and plush changing facilities.

Of the local restaurants Ioakh is the nearby “special occasion” venue (with a price tag to match), the Moorings is fine (20 minute walk) and Zaxos Grill / Loizidis Taverna are decent and good value lunchtime options (15 minute walk).

Room Tip: the pool area can be quite noisy so try to avoid a low level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leech_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice hotel close to some of Athens beaches. It was the last stop for us on our 6 week holiday and we had a very relaxed 7 days here. The city of Athens was 40 mins by car, easily done by taxi. The restaurant in the hotel is very good, though servings are small and price is high. The dining around the area was nothing special. The pool area is definitely a bonus, we spent many days around the pool as it was too hot to go into the city. We were travelling with 2 kids (ages 4 and 1) and they loved the pool. The rooms were comfortable but we had to upgrade rooms on arrival as the initial room was too small.
The service at breakfast was very inattentive, but the breakfast buffet was great.
We would stay there again and recommend to our friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I2loveindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary and I cannot say enough great things about our visit. The gentleman at the front desk gave a room upgrade and the view was perfection!

Every member of the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was wonderful...it included made to order omelettes, fresh juices, and many other items.

The room was clean, but even more important is how comfy the bed was.....so comfy we didn't get up before 10am everyday! The hotel was quiet when it needed to be and lively during the day. The pool area is an oasis and you can easily spend a lot of time there.

The Margi is a five minute walk to several great restaurants and a little grocery store. Also noteworthy is the fantastic Astir Beach Club. It's a private beach club with restaurants, a bar, hundreds of sun beds, and a beautiful sandy beach.

A very warm thank you to the staff at The Margi for making our trip unforgettable...we will see you next September!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisualGirl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice hotel. Helpful staff and close to decent Athens beaches.
We only stayed for 1 night on our way back from sailing around the Sporades. Its a tricky place to find, quite a way from the airport and expensive from there by taxi so not an ideal stopover.
I booked the room through Last Minute.com and requested a sea view which we did not get. The room was very comfortable but our view was of other rooms and walls which was a shame as the balcony got no sunshine. I don't think they were full so a strange thing to do to first time guests. Our flight was the following evening so we were able to keep our room as they were not full. We were charged an extra 50 euros.
One reviewer mentioned the pool area being surrounded by walls which it is and again means there is limited sunshine. Would I stay again?.................not sure

Room Tip: Do ask and insist on a sea view if you are staying for any length of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elwyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at The Margi on the last three days of our visit to Greece and what a way to end a superb holiday. Our rooms were comfy and inter-leading to accommodate our young teenage kids. Bathrooms were clean & all mod-cons were available, hairdryer, aircon, TV,safe etc. The pool area of the hotel feels exotic and very relaxing. I didn't even bother going to the beach which was just a stones throw. In the evening this same area transforms into a lovely cocktail bar type setup with a DJ playing. Waiters serve snacks & drinks to you all day & night. We even entertained our visitors there. If one does wish to venture out, the surroundings are lovely for strolls and the eateries up the road are upmarket with a wide variety to chose from. Glyfada is a short drive down the road where good stores provide a great shopping experience for all things fashion. I will stay at The Margi again, and in no small part because the staff were so friendly, attentive and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Amarilia Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Apollon Suites
#7 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margi

Property: The Margi
Address: 11 Litous, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Margi 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel overlooking the Athenian Riviera.25 klms from the city centre and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Margi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margi Hotel Vouliagmeni
Margi Hotel Athens
The Margi Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing