We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of The Margi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Margi
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Strong tripadvisor recommendation made us book two nights at this "boutique hotel". What we experienced was frankly quite an ordinary hotel, pleasant enough but a bit run down lacking good maintenance. If the price had been half it would have been fine, as the price of EUR ~250/night far from reflected the quality, comfort, location and service. Unfortunately.
We staid at in an Executive Room on 4th floor, a small ordinary room without a water boiler/coffee machine, not even an iron! The bed was comfortable and the room had a nice balcony facing the street. Street noise not being an issue.
The location is odd. It is in posh Vouliagmeni but not near a centre nor the beech. So a 10 minute walk to get to the public beech by the marina and the Astir beech (highly recommended, EUR12 weekday/EUR24 weekend) facing west so wonderful afternoons, and 15-20 minutes walk to the other pay beech (EUR 5/day I believe) in the bay east of the hotel.
Knowing what we now know we will not be back. Maybe expectations too high (look at their wonderful website, not lying but not depicting reality either) or we have been spoiled elsewhere? Judging from the comments here everyone seems to be very happy with the place. So be it. Some have expressed the same as us. I guess your opinion shall be formed upon the circumstances.

Room Tip: We staid in a Executive Room on the 4th floor and had no complaints concerning noise. Nice balcony f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    183
    68
    23
    17
See reviews for
110
278
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed two nights having booking two rooms-one for my wife and myself and one for my stepdaughter, son-in-law and granddaughter. While we were waiting for the rooms, my stepdaughter went to the front desk and was able to get an upgrade to pool side room and adjacent room with doors facing each other and with a third entrance door leading to both rooms which had a key lock for more privacy. Rooms were large, very modern with confortable bed, wet bar, electric controlled window shades and large bathroom with shower and tub. View from balcony included pool and distant bay. Found front desk staff and staff overall to be very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The pool area is very attractive with large Roman style lounges and a large bar. When you leave hotel and turn right, there is a restaurant at the bottom of the hill where you reach a cross street. If you make another left, you come to small town with grocery shops, restuarants, etc. If you make a right turn, you will be able to walk to a public beach in 5 minutes. Another 5 minutes on, you will reach a very nice seafood restaurant with outside tables which made for a enjoyable, evening meal. The Margi is listed as one of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world (SLH) and as such is not inexpensive.



to prepared after 1:00 PM arrivial

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed here several times with my husband and always found it to be a welcome alternative to the larger less personal options in the area. The pool is small but clean with several sunbeds and the dinner was excellent. The only disappointment was the breakfast which could be better and the storage space in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I took a group of clients to this hotel recently and it proved to be a great choice. The room was very nice with views of the sea and plenty of space to sit on the balcony. Breakfast was a very relaxed affair as the restaurant never seemed to be crowded. The food choices may have been better however it was not a problem to us. The bar area in the evening was extremely vibrant with a great atmosphere. A wonderful place to finish your evening off after eating in one of the areas classy restaurants. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can as there is music from the bar until late
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilandChrisHartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the margi for a couple of days. The experience was amazing and we can't wait to go back again.
We booked the VIP suite for 2 nights. The room and decor is fabulous. The bed is perfect and the room was always very clean.
The service (room service, valet and reception) is excellent and the food very nice.
The neighbourhood is quiet and very central, next to beaches, restaurant and a few minutes away by car to the shopping area
I would certainly recommend the Margi and would love to go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors, which are less noisy. All the rooms are very well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wow. The Greeks really know how to do it. There is always this "je ne sais quoi" about the way the Greeks welcome people. Evrything in the Margi was great. The surroundings, the rooms, the food, the bar, the small garden.... The hotel is located in one of the nicer areas of Athens, where you can be pretty sure and safe about yourself and your belongings. The sea is close, even a small beach, but in only 5 minutes you walk up to the road leading into the city centre, with buses going back and forth. Nice shopping area not so far away - not at walking distance though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adalheidur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just left from The Margi and looking forward coming back again!!!
We enjoyed our stay and our suite was amazing. Everything we asked ( wifi, restaurant recommendations, informations about the area etc.) the guest relations was always there for us.Dinner at malabar was really tasty and the atmosphere all over the hotel was really romantic. It was our first time in Greece and the experience we got was unforgettable!!!
Really hope to visit The Margi again as soon as possible

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Amarilia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Apollon Suites
#7 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margi

Property: The Margi
Address: 11 Litous, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#2 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Margi 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel overlooking the Athenian Riviera.25 klms from the city centre and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Margi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margi Hotel Vouliagmeni
Margi Hotel Athens
The Margi Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing