We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beach, not far from Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stefanakis Hotel Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varkiza
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Arm, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good beach, not far from Athens”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the apartments behind the hotel--2 bedrooms, a kitchenette and bath, with balconies all around. The air conditioning was especially appreciated, since the days were quite hot. It was very convenient for a family traveling with children. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The apartments were on a side street--very quiet. A short walk to the beautiful beach kept the children quite happy, and the free WiFi in the lobby and patio came in quite handy. We would definitely stay there again. The pool was good for adults, but limited for children, as there is no shallow end.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giftissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
29
21
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This little unassuming "gem" with a big heart in Varkiza is absolutely great !!! Christiana and her staff are very helpful and accommodating, There is a very nice beach 3 short blocks away and a string of good eateries to pick from in the main drag. The airport and downtown Athens are one-half hour or less away ...

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor have a unique view of Varkiza and the nearby sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ioannis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our 4th visit in 5-years. It is handy for the airport and Vakiza has a good island feel to it. A beer by the pool and a swim after a long journey is just what we wanted. The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was OK however the bedrooms could do with a little bit of investment. Very good value for the area. We will return when in the Athens area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliewhoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel was in a very good location for us. Close to the beach, about 500 meters away. close to the shops,no noise at night, and a very good pool.
The staff could not do enough for you. My wife needed a hair dryer, they were all being used, so he rang his mum to bring one round.
The hotel itself looks a little bit dated but was very clean. Toilet and showers were clean, also as it was very hot the air con in the rooms came in very handy.
There was a small fridge to cool your drinks, the beds were clean and comfy. We had breakfast in the morning, but very minimal choice. All in all I would recommend this hotel for its hospitality and as a budget hotel, very good. If you are a snob and like 5star hotels don't stay here as you would give a good hotel a bad name. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was our last of our five hotels for our seven day trip in Greece (Jun 5, 2012).
We chose this hotel mainly because of the close proximity to the airport. Great apartment, nicely located, lovely quiet neighborhood, and wonderful owners!
Upon being escorted to our room, we asked the owners about breakfast details to find out that they did not have yogurt. We received a call in the room about an hour later from the owner to inform us that we would indeed have yogurt. He actually went to the store and bought yogurt for us, now that is GOOD customer service!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeninfer_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We've been staying at the Stefanakis for years (except for one time when my son-in-law booked us into the Astir Palace). Christiana (the owner) takes a personal interest in her guest's well-being, as does her excellent staff who are courteous and helpful as well as friendly. The rooms are spotlessly clean thanks to Maria. The hotel itself, while it is aging, is well kempt and clean. The pool is cleaned daily (and since it is surrounded by trees accumulates leaves daily). The breakfast is simple (cereal, coffee, tea, breads, cold cuts and cheese) and is included in the usual direct booking price of 70E. (given the cost of food in Greece, the 8E breakfast is not exhorbitant (it was 25E at the Astir). A pleasant constant for anyone's stay in Varkiza - close to the beaches, close to the Varkiza center with its nightlife, and convenient to Athens by bus.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.. Afroditis Street is busy...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedogologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This charming hotel is set just far enough from the front to be quiet and secluded but close enough to be extremely convenient for all the attractions in Varkiza.

The beach and many excellent restaurants are nearby.

All the staff are absolutly charming and helpful. The rooms and lounges are impeccably clean. The swimming pool is a huge asset. The hotel is family run and it is very much a hands on approach by the owners who are always discreetly in attendance. Their staff are punctilous in their customer service.

Public service conections to the centre of Athens are good so this is an excellent base for a combined city and beach holiday.

The close proximity to the airport make it ideal for a stop over on your way to or from the islands.or other part of Greece.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAmorgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varkiza
0.2 mi away
Apollonia Hotel Apartments
Apollonia Hotel Apartments
#228 of 326 in Athens
73 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 6 in Voula
36 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
1.1 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amarilia Hotel
Amarilia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stefanakis Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stefanakis Hotel Apartments

Property: Stefanakis Hotel Apartments
Address: 17 Afroditis, Varkiza 16672, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Varkiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varkiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stefanakis Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stefanakis Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanakis Hotel Varkiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing