We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Close to the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Made booking for one night after a late flight to Athens. Car hire taken care of, we eventually arrived after following the HI website directions which were inaccurate. It said 'after the rest area turn right'; it should have said 'turn off at the rest area'!
The hotel was spotlessly clean and the gentleman on reception was really friendly and courteous.
We were on the 6th floor and fortunately the room was air conditioned, which was more than can be said for the main areas and the baking hot 'oven' lift! Though this was September and the Greeks probably thought it was now winter, not for Northern Europeans!
The room was very clean and tidy though typical over priced everything, which has become part of the norm for chain, business expense paid hotels. The man at reception was really helpful and showed me all the offers for Priority members. The swimming pool was deserted but very inviting and again spotlessly clean.
There is a little shop at the petrol station opposite the hotel for the odd emergency snack.
A great night's sleep and well worth the overnight stop.

Room Tip: Breakfast, and services very expensive catering for business men/women on expenses, not the poor old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeofUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    299
    186
    71
    39
See reviews for
119
267
77
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is in a good location vis a vis the airport. The free shuttle with Mikos as the driver is a blessing.
Rooms are decent but too many odd shaped light fixtures make for an awkward experience. The light switches are many and its not clear if they were a placed to solve a puzzle or open a secret door somewhere. The bathroom is comfortable and so is the bed. The hallway has too many mirrors and again its a carnival feeling.
The front desk person when we checked in was not very helpful and within a couple of hours the key stopped working and he said "what can I do...?"
The person at the bar was aloof till we ordered !
But the room and the bathroom were clean.
We stayed one night just to catch a return flight back home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randhir111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear randhir111,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to note that you liked our location and you found the rooms to be clean.

On the other hand, I am disappointed to hear that the service you received was less than satisfactory. I humbly extend an apology for the shortfalls in your room and for the poor customer care. We deeply regret the the we have failed to deliver the highest level of service and customer care that you deserve.

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cloud France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel clearly profits of its location because there is no other hotel in the area around the airport except the sofitel. The room is standard and starts to be old. Breakfast is not included and is overpriced (20 €/person). The only good point besides the location is the fact that you take a shuttle free of charge from/to the airport. So, it you have not a flight during the night or very early in the morning, i will recommand to select a hotel inside athens to get a better value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Gchat,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

I sincerely apologize for you did not find our hotel to your liking and truly sorry that you found our rates to be high. We endeavor to meet all guests’ expectations at all times and regret that we failed on this instance.

We welcome feedback as it assists us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nothing within walking distance so I felt a bit trapped. The breakfast buffet was 17€ per person for standard fare. The bar however had good food although overpriced. The 10€ per device for WiFi was also a bit ridiculous. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRDamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is very basic hotel. Rooms are standard european size. The family room is good enough for 2 adults with one kid. There is no space to sleep for the other kid and no space for the crib. It's says non smoking hotel, but it smells like somebody smoked in the room before or on the floor. It's 3 star hotel by the US standard. Not very clean, curtains are dirty. How difficult to wash it from time to time? Bathroom is basic, TV is small and old, bed is clean, pillows are good. Internet is extra, busness room has it for free, but only one computer is connected to internet. Restaurant is overpriced for the quality of food. Gas station next to hotel has small cafe with same quality of sandwitches, but cheap prices. Hotel convinient for onernight sleep before the flight.Just 15 minutes from airport, but far from the city.

Room Tip: There is not much choice, the view is one side of the road or antoher. I guess the higher floors wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnastasiaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear AnastasiaP,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for we fell below your expectations on most amenities particularly on the room condition. These certainly are not usual and we will be looking into these further and updates will be considered where necessary.

It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again. We appreciate all guest feedback, and strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel room was very comfortable. Everything else cost extra. For example, there is no internet in the room. If you want it, it costs 9.95 euro. One price no matter how long you wish to use the internet for. There is no breakfast included. If you want it, it costs 17euro. There is a little, claustrophobic room with no air conditioning near reception housing two ancient computers that guests are allowed to use for a maximum of twenty minutes or one half hour (I forget). On the bright side, there is a lovely bar with reasonable prices for drinks, and the free airport shuttle is reliable.

Room Tip: My room was near the emergency exit door. It was quiet, and I felt safe if I needed to evacuate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeco74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Standard Holiday Inn conveniently situated close to Athens airport. Much cheaper than the nearer Sofitel. Shuttle service available from 6am until midnight which runs at regular intervals. Our rooms were very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a pool and gym at the hotel but we did not get the chance to use these facilities as we arrived at the hotel midday and then took advantage of the express bus service (N95) which stops right outside the hotel and spent the afternoon and evening in central Athens (40 minutes away). Breakfast at the hotel seemed pricey (17 euros per person) but there is a much cheaper option if you visit the snack bar attached to the petrol station next door which sells drinks, sandwiches and traditional Greek pies. I did not notice any other refreshment facilities in the area apart from another snack bar attached to the petrol station on the other side of the road. We left early the following morning and the shuttle arrived on time. Overall a highly convenient, reasonably priced, clean place to stay near to Athens airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paiania
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Athens Airport
7.3 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
7.6 mi away
Avra Rafina
Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Kiani Akti
Kiani Akti
#1 of 1 in Porto Rafti
2.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
7.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
8.0 mi away
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#2 of 2 in Koropi
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
Address: 2 km Attica Avenue 40. | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 190 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Paiania
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY INN ATTICA AVENUE, is the new 5 star hotel, built on Attica Avenue, the upcoming business area of Athens. It is only 8 min. from EL. Venizelos International airport (shuttle bus service on specific timetable) and from the National Highways (8min. from the OTE Building on KIFISSIAS AVE), and just 1,5km away from the suburban train. With its 180 standard rooms, 11 executive rooms and 3 suites, fitted with the latest equipment (high speed internet access), it proves to be a valuable tool to the corporate traveler.The hotel is well equipped (wireless connectivity) for hosting business and social gatherings of every description, with six flexible function rooms that can accommodate from 10 to 200 guests. Facilities and services include a fully equipped 24-hour Internet Center, with complimentary use for half hour per day. The RUBY Restaurant and GOLDEN Bar are offering a friendly atmosphere and ultimate relaxation to guests that wish to combine pleasure and work as well as to stop-over guests that wish to avoid staying in a noisy airport. The health center with 24-hour gym,sauna and indoor pool on complimentary use, offers the latest fitness and beauty services such as massage. All hotel amenities of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue are well described in Ram magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens Airport Hotel Paiania
Holiday Inn Peania
Peania Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing