We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Standard Holiday Inn property.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
South Shields
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Standard Holiday Inn property.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The standard fare and the standard Holiday Inn quality. Comfortable, clean, good food, peaceful sleep and close to the airport. Thats all you want from a airport hotel. Perfect for me for a night stay. The only thing that I think could improve is that they can give free WIFI. Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramneek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    349
    209
    73
    43
See reviews for
137
308
90
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Large clean just off the motorway to the airport. This is very convenient with a free shuttle bus to the airport every half hour. Rooms are medium sized, very clean and comfortable. Wifi costs and if you ask they will give an extra login for a second unit at no extra cost. We didn't have breakfast as the cost was rather steep € 17 each so we had something at the airport for a fraction of the cost.
Would I stay there again....yes as a convenient stop off for the airport this works well but only for that purpose. Not a long stay proposition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leafau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Because I missed my connecting flight fron 7.45 pm to Heraklion - my fault: right time, wrong gate - my first inclination was to cross the street and book a room at the Sofitel. But a helpful Aegean employee advised me to get on the local shuttle bus to Athens for a fifteen minute ride to the nearby Holiday Inn, which would save me a lot of money. ( She could have told me about the hotel's free shuttle service, but she didn't, so I got on the bus.)

So I only stayed one (short) night at the Holiday Inn and there's really nothing to complain about: staff was very friendly, rooms are spatious and clean, breakfast tasted fine (specially for someone who never eats beakfast) and yes, at 6.30 the next morning the shuttle service was waiting outside the entrance and brought us in 10 minutes back to the airport.

I know where I'll stay the next time I miss a flight in Athens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruudkeulers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel location is out of the Airport (10-15 min drive) if you take a taxi make sure you negotiate the price before, the shuttle time table is in the picture i have attached.
the hotel is nice, big and looks new. internet is good (9eur a day) and will allow only 1 device! how ever got a solution for that from the reception,
the room is big and clean, the TV is an old one and small.
breakfast is very good, big variety.
also there is a small Gym, the big issue with the Gym is that there is no water for drink, you need to get your own, never had this any other place.
there is a gas station by the hotel, you can buy there water and small things to eat.
nothing to do in the hotel area, is an industrial area, you have to take a taxi or bus to the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossa, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Holiday Inn is the only place near Athens Airport apart from the on-site Sofitel which is quite a bit more expensive. Comfort was good, particularly the beds, but there were a couple of niggles. First, they charged 10 euros per day for internet access. This seems ridiculous, when practically every little taverna in the tiny Greek village where I live has free internet access. Then to top it off they wanted to charge another 6 euros for a 'second' device. We had a double room, occupied by myself and my husband. I wonder which of us they assumed had a computer? The room was also very hot and there was no way to turn the air conditioning below about 28 degrees - not exactly sleeping temperature. Would not recommend, except if you have to stay near the airport there isn't much choice at the moment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paiania hotels

Mexico
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there the night before a flight to the UK. The dining room is really a fast food court as the food comes out just a few minutes after you have ordered it! It just has to be par cooked before hand! The rooms are great, which is the redeeming feature. The bar charges are horrendous. I have been to some pricey joints but this one beats the lot. The food service is strange. It's the only place I have been to where the food and the cheque comes to you at the same time! Very strange!! If it wasn't for the food/bar issues, I would have rated this hotel at a 5, but I am sorry that's not to be!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CliveGCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for just one night in November 2012. The room was a decent size, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The shower was large and clean. However, the room itself was so uncomfortably hot that no one was able to sleep much the entire night. We called down to ask if there was any way we could make the room cooler, but were told that it was a hotel setting that could not change.

The only other odd thing was that the room did not have an alarm clock! We did notice that this seemed to be the norm around Greece in general (we stayed in apartments), but I thought every hotel would have an alarm clock. We asked for a wake up call since our flight was very early, and they did call us right on time.

I wish I could recommend this hotel, but based on the fact that it was too hot too sleep, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Angie55,

Thank you for your detailed review regarding your experience. It is a great pleasure to read you liked the comfortable bed and received an on time wake up call. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. I sincerely apologize for the discomfort you have experienced due to the room temperature and room amenities. I will make sure your feedback will be reviewed and be forwarded to the appropriate departments.

We would hope that you would give us another chance to meet your expectations next time and to provide you with a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paiania
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Athens Airport
7.3 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
7.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#1 of 10 in Kifisia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.4 mi away
Studios Kleopatra
Studios Kleopatra
#1 of 1 in Glyki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#4 of 7 in Nea Makri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
Address: 2 km Attica Avenue 40. | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 190 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Paiania
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY INN ATTICA AVENUE, is the new 5 star hotel, built on Attica Avenue, the upcoming business area of Athens. It is only 8 min. from EL. Venizelos International airport (shuttle bus service on specific timetable) and from the National Highways (8min. from the OTE Building on KIFISSIAS AVE), and just 1,5km away from the suburban train. With its 180 standard rooms, 11 executive rooms and 3 suites, fitted with the latest equipment (high speed internet access), it proves to be a valuable tool to the corporate traveler.The hotel is well equipped (wireless connectivity) for hosting business and social gatherings of every description, with six flexible function rooms that can accommodate from 10 to 200 guests. Facilities and services include a fully equipped 24-hour Internet Center, with complimentary use for half hour per day. The RUBY Restaurant and GOLDEN Bar are offering a friendly atmosphere and ultimate relaxation to guests that wish to combine pleasure and work as well as to stop-over guests that wish to avoid staying in a noisy airport. The health center with 24-hour gym,sauna and indoor pool on complimentary use, offers the latest fitness and beauty services such as massage. All hotel amenities of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue are well described in Ram magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens Airport Hotel Paiania
Holiday Inn Peania
Peania Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing