We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”
Review of Sardelaki

Sardelaki
Ranked #7 of 250 Restaurants in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rotterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The patron came across as a bit grumpy at first, but he opened up at (how appropriate!) the openers. Very much recommend the fried anchovy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    181
    48
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hopeless service and short-changing”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

To start with the positive: the food was quite OK, and I also found the prices decent. However, maybe the most hopeless service I have ever experienced in a Greek restaurant. While other places there is a dedicated person taking care of your table and things usually work well in the old-fashioned way, in this place the staff uses radio-communication for their "organization". It looks great and cool when you ask about something and they use the mic like in a spy movie to give messages, but when subsequently nothing happens it becomes less impressive. When I was there it even looked like they were over-staffed, however they were all standing together talking with each other in the other part of the restaurant, so no help in that. It took me 20 minutes just to get the menu (and I know, I should have left by then), and same for getting the bill. I guess by that point they knew there would be no tip so I got back just 24 of the 25 euros I was supposed to receive in change...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NeverendingVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A must if you are in the area! Great seafood and amazing value for money”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have lived in Greece and I have visited tens of restaurants in many different cities but this place really tops them all. Amazing seafood, everything we ordered was great!
The atmosphere is nothing to rave about, but it still has the typical Greek charm. We arrived at 9 and it was full, mostly with Greek people (that's always a good sign in a touristy place).
Excellent value for money, unbelievable, actually!
Service was slow, but everyone was really friendly.
Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Desislava G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
1,389 reviews
446 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Fish and starters”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Just in the center glyfada, very nice ,cosy good service. We had three starters, kalamari, and red mullet. All we had was perfect- paid resonable bill. Staff was nice and interested in our demands. I highly recomend sardelaki, and hope to go there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suleyman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Value for money seafood restaurant”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

"Sardelaki" is the cost-friendlier little brother of "Papaioannou", one of the best (and most expensive) sea food restaurants in Athens, which means excellent food quality that won't make your wallet cry.

You'll find it in a semi-central street in the chic neighborhood of Glyfada -- it's not the most scenic view you can think of, but it's lively and the outdoor sitting is cute and reminiscent of a Greek island, with its bushes and flowers and the other taverns and bars around. Opt for the tall tables, they're more fun.

When you're ready to order, one of the young, cute waiters will bring you your menus and another will soon come by with a tray filled with little plates of appetizers. I recommend the garlic sauce with the walnuts, which is incredible, and the french fries: they're hand-cut and fried to perfection.

Whether you go for fish or seafood, you won't be disappointed, as the ingredients are fresh and carefully cooked. The grilled sardines with tomatoes and onions are *sublime* and so are all the little fish they serve (fried or baked). Their frying is extremely light, there's not a drop of oil on the plate.

The servings are more than satisfactory and the unbottled wine is good, too. If you order like a Greek (i.e. 2-3 appetizers, a salad, a couple of main courses and 1/2 kg of wine), the bill should not exceed 20 euros per person. For that kind of quality, the price is excellent.

This is a restaurant I'd take friends form abroad to dine in and experience a good part of Greek cuisine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HristinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardelaki also viewed

 
Glyfada, Athens
Vouliagmeni, East Attica Region
 

Been to Sardelaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing