We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Georges steak house”

George's Steak House
Ranked #34 of 247 Restaurants in Glyfada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Μπιφτεκούπολη
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Georges steak house”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

food very good and portions enormous but they are very happy to let you take away what you have not eaten. One aspect I lkie as indeed in most restaurants they offer yoiu 'desert' which can be yoghurt and honey or seasonal fruit. Atmosphere good - buzzy and big and friendly

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dore99enc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    84
    37
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Didn't have the meatballs..the cutlets are great!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

George’s has been operating out of the same premises for the best part of 50 years. For all that time it has been consistently good, with excellent meat at reasonable prices, and, as a result, always full. There are other ‘psitarias’ in Glydada, but they generally only fill up once George’s is rammed. Honestly this restaurant is a bit of a cult, and the other places will offer a similar experience, but ‘the devil you know….’
The 2 portions of ‘paidakia’ or lamb cutlets (eu12 each) were delicious, tender, juicy, the two portions of grilled kidneys cooked to perfection, the chips, unusual for Greece were hot! The ‘Horiatiki’ salad was much as you’d expect. House red (eu7.60 a litre) actually very acceptable. That along with some bread, fried aubergine and 2 ouzos, meant the bill for the two of us came to eu 70. We did stuff ourselves, and with the more expensive cuts. The service was swift, and friendly. The menu is in English. We took a cab from central Athens (around eu 20) which says a lot. But then we are cult members! Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BasilMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband when in Glyfada go to George's grill as it's been around forever & the beeftekia are a must but whatever you order is tasty & plentifull good selection of appetisers, salads, meat dishes & drinks including wines & when meal is finished give you complimentary watermelon or whatever in season. Service great , prices reasonable will come again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Most people won't make it out to George's since its a bit out of the city and they would not know to look for it, its a locals place for sure. However you would be missing out if you passed on this place. It's better than anywhere we ate in Athens. Here's what you do, eat like a Greek! Order the tomato, cucumber, feta and onion salad and the saganaki to start. Then order the meatballs and french fries with Parmesan cheese. Afterwards they will bring you whatever fresh fruit they have for that day. If this is not the yummiest meal you eat in Greece, I would be surprised. I loved it so much we went twice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tashabirdwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
208 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“typical taverna with good meat”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you are around glyfada and want to dine in typical greek taverna , making good meat , go to georges.
the veal side bone is exellent and the meat balls . service is great and very professional .
like everywhere in greece , restaurant get full at around 22:00

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Steak House also viewed

 
Glyfada, Athens
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to George's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing