We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, spacious rooms. Excellent stay!”
Review of Blue Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sky Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2010

A group of 3 of us stayed at the Blue Sky Hotel in July this year. We were really impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. When we arrived, the staff informed us that there was a ferry strike the next day, which was the day we were planning to head to an island. The staff went out of their way to help us make alternative arrangements and called Hellenic Seaways for us to check availability on ferries for that evening or the day after the strike.

We booked a triple room - which was more like a small suite. There was an entrance lobby, bathroom and two bedrooms. The rooms were clean and there were tvs and aircon in each of the rooms (although we didnt' watch any tv, so not sure if there are any satellite channels). There was also a fridge in one of the bedrooms which was very handy for storing bottles of water! A hairdrier was available from reception and there was also a balcony overlooking the garden at the front of the hotel that was nice to relax on after a day in Athens (or a day on the beach).

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area. Glyfada is a suburb of Athens but very close to Athens' beaches and there are some great cafes and bars a few blocks away from the hotel.

The breakfast was a typical Greek breakfast. There was a buffet of breads, hams, cheese, cereals and some fresh fruit (apples and bananas).

I have stayed in a couple of other hotels in the Glyfada/ Voulgiagmeni area but would only return to the Blue Sky Hotel. I thought it was excellent value for money, the staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. It is not a luxury hotel but an excellent 3 star hotel. I was very impressed and cannot recommend it highly enough.

If you do book this hotel, don't forget to print off a google map to show to your taxi driver, as it is tucked away on a residential street, rather than on the main (noisy) road where most of the other hotels are.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AY83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 179 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

This is a clean , basic hotel wth a lovely staff. The rooms are clean and the bathroom might be tiny but it is very fresh. The area is a quiet residential area and it takes about 10 minutes to reach the shoppingarea and nightlife.
As we stayed there in december the nights were cool but the heating in the rooms worked very well.
Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karin stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel in the Athens suburb Glyfada is a perfect place to stay, especially if you have a car and want to visit Athens without experiencing the horrendous traffic . And those without a car will appreciate its tranquil location. A tram, which will take you to the center of Athens in under an hour, is just a few blocks away. And the airport is a little over a half-hour away. The hotel has a friendly and helpful staff, quiet rooms, safe on-street-parking, free computer access, and is near some quite good local restaurants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNSNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in September. Hotel was very clean and the staff (you only see a receptionist) very helpful. Buffet breakfast was adequate and offered a reasonable choice. One minor complaint was the hard bed which we raised with receptionist on the first morning and we were offered immediately an alternative room with new mattresses.
The hotel is in the course of replacing all mattresses.We would certainly return to this hotel if we visited Athens again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreathyPlymouthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed there just for one night before flying back from Athens. We booked a quadruple room and got a room with a small corridor with three doors: one for the bath room and the other two for two double rooms - that was great! So we had more the feeling of having a double room than a quadruple room. The rooms and hotel was clean with a big balcony and some TV stations from abroad. The breakfast was really good (for a greek hotel) with a variety of breads, cheeses and sausages. If you need a hotel in Athens that does not have to be in the center of Athens this would be a really good choice!
Would always book it again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paros_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We had not intended to go to Athens, but the collapse of XL meant that we had to go home via "the big city" , a friend who lives nearby booked us in the Blue Sky for one night. We, however, arrived a day early! Although there were no rooms available (they didn't baulk at 2 dishevelled backpackers wandering through their door), they found us a room in another hotel for the night and sketched the route to it on a map. That hotel was "OK".

Returning to the Blue Sky the next day was like being back on the islands again - nice and quiet, a pleasant outside seating area in the garden where we supped frappe and a lovely (if compact) room. The bathroom was one of the nicest that we've had in over 20 years of coming to Greece. The discovery of a small ironing board in the wardrobe made life complete (one cannot go out in Glyfada looking crumpled!).

Friendly people, very reasonable prices (even at the bar) - we are booked in for 2 nights in September 09 already!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ElenitsaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Booked this hotel mainly because of the great reviews on this site. Unfortunately my experience was somewhat less.
The worsed things were that, we had mould on our curtains and ceiling, the room was not very clean although the cleaning lady did come every day and from 3 out of the 7 days we didn't have hot water. The breakfast, friendly staff and free wifi access were great though.

I know it's one of the cheapest hotels in Glyfada, and that I shouldn't complain that much. But not having hot water to shower, is really frustrating when it's cold outside!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LizyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glyfada
1.1 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 14 in Glyfada
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 14 in Glyfada
405 reviews
9.6 mi away
Centrotel Hotel
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#4 of 14 in Glyfada
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Hotel

Address: | Eleftherias 26 & Zamanou, Glyfada 16674, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range: $51 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing