We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice when visiting Athens”
Review of Blue Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Sky Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great choice when visiting Athens”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Why stay in the center of Athens when you can enjoy peace and quiet, decent beaches, good restaurants, and convenient transportation in Glyfada? I've been to Athens twice before but did not realize that it has a suburban "south beach" area that is within easy reach of the center. The Blue Sky Hotel is a good option when making a choice about where to establish your base when exploring the Athens area.
I spent 4 nights there in August 2013 and was well pleased with the accommodations.

Blue Sky is a family run hotel in a nice residential neighborhood and far enough away from the main highway to be quiet. Except for an occasional barking dog, my sleep was not interrupted.

Within a 10 mite walk you'll find plenty of restaurants and shopping, as well as a tram line that will take you to the center of Athens (Syntagma Square) or the port of Pireus. There is also an abundance of buses to various destinations, including an airport express (X96) that runs at convenient intervals throughout the day and night.

Kosts the owner, is cordial and helpful, as is the rest of the hotel staff. The included breakfast is adequate, although by the third day it gets rather boring.

I had hoped to reach the beaches of one of the nearby islands during my final week in Greece, but found that in August it is difficult getting to and fro or to find reasonably priced lodgings there. Staying on the mainland turned out to be not a bad alternative. From the Blue Sky Hotel, you can walk to the nearest beaches (some public, some private) in about 20 minutes, or you can choose one of the dozen or more beaches along the tram line.

On future visits to Athens, I will again choose to stay In Glyfada or Voula, the next adjacent town, and the Blue Sky Hotel will probably be my choice for lodging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tttggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    72
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
41
60
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Positive:My husband and I stayed 2 nights in this sweet hotel. So nice and quite it was. Valuable for money. Nice and helpful family staff. The shower didn't have a stand in the bathroom and they fixed it immediately . Good breakfast and good location.
Negaive: We booked for a double room but we got a two bed one!they must consider couples . And the bed was very noisy. I couldn't sleep the first night to morning because of the noise. I think they should care about it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarvinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Romania, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The room is old dusty and dirty
The services are inexistent
The breakfast is at most a one star hotel
The personnel is very unfriendly
The noise in the morning is terrible
The internet is working only at reception

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Panzariu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluesky68, Owner at Blue Sky Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
It is never pleasant to receive a negative review, but this one is especially disappointing because we feel that it is unjust. As always, and as you can see from all of the other reviews, we try our very best to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay for our guests. So, we were very surprised to read this review. Not once during the duration of your stay did you address these issues with us. If you had, we would have gladly done our best to accommodate your needs. We had no idea that you were unsatisfied by mostly everything at the hotel. It definitely did not seem that way. Therefore, I believe that just writing a very negative review after your stay at the hotel is unfair.

Regards,
Kostas & Olympia Arvanitis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our 3rd stay in Glyfada so we really liked the location. Away from the noisy main road. It is located in a residential area and it is quiet. Even though it is not far from the main shopping street (5 mins walk). For one night stop I would not hesitate to stay here again. The breakfast is approved with cereals, fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs etc.
On the balconies facing the entrance part you acually have both the sunrise and sunset.
The balcony was a bit sandy and dirty though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

That's exactly what you should get when you look for an inexpensive hotel. That is value for money. The rooms are big enough, clean, towels changed daily, location is very good, there is a free wifi, what else to ask for? maybe for a slightly better breakfast, as there was no tomato/ cucumber. I would stay again definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmadalena79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is well located and the tram is about a 5 minute walk. The hotel offers a fair selection of breakfast items buffet style. The staff were helpful and nice. Internet availability and access to print boarding passes and were good bonuses to have. It was pleasant to return every evening to our cleaned serviced rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TT-Mississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel simply offers good and clean rooms and extremely nice and helpful staff.
The working wifi, a balcony and a safe to store valuable items are all great additions. The area around the hotel is very nice, quiet and clean and it is within walking distance to both restaurants, shops and the beach.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
1.1 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
332 reviews
1.4 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#6 of 15 in Glyfada
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#4 of 15 in Glyfada
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Hotel

Property: Blue Sky Hotel
Address: | Eleftherias 26 & Zamanou, Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blue Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing